Address & Contact

Our Address

Penn State University PO Box 850 Mail Code H152 Hershey, PA 17033

GPS

40.28606143028289, -76.65009372713791

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Penn State University Physician Assistant Program

Hershey, Pennsylvania · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition Resident $90,384Nonresident $93,284
Tuition + fees $96,424 / $103,852 nonresident
Published full-program tuition
Class size 30 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Required · alternatives acceptedGRE is required; MCAT, PCAT, or DAT may be accepted in lieu under the published policy.
Patient-care minimum 500 hoursAt least 500 hours of paid or volunteer healthcare experience must be completed before matriculation.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum CASPA cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum CASPA science GPA is 3.00.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 99%
U.S. News PA rank #75 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A Hershey PA program embedded in an academic medical center, integrating biomedical science, clinical training, and interprofessional care.

On campus24 months30 students

Mission & approach

Prepare graduates to be academically, clinically, professionally, and culturally competent PAs devoted to serving patients in their communities; emphasizes humanism in medicine, critical thinking, primary care, and underserved communities.

Penn State College of Medicine Crescent Building in Hershey, home of the Physician Assistant program
Penn State College of Medicine Crescent Building in Hershey, Pennsylvania, home of the Physician Assistant program. Photo: Penn State College of Medicine.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review; academic metrics alone do not determine selection. Interview PREFERENCE given to: residence in rural/federally designated underserved community, educationally/economically disadvantaged background, first-generation college student, veteran/active-duty military, Pennsylvania residency, Penn State graduates, Penn State Health employees, holders of an advanced degree. Reviews cGPA,…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

VirtualPanel + Individual

For the 2026-2027 cycle Penn State holds its interview day virtually and includes a one-on-one interview with the program director along with a faculty, staff, and alumni panel, a program presentation, and a session with current students.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequired · alternatives acceptedGRE is required; MCAT, PCAT, or DAT may be accepted in lieu under the published policy.
Patient care500 hoursAt least 500 hours of paid or volunteer healthcare experience must be completed before matriculation.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum CASPA cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum CASPA science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required.
International applicantsNot acceptedInternational applicants are not eligible; U.S. citizenship, permanent residency, or official DACA status is required.
English proficiencyConfirm with programThe PA program does not list its own English-proficiency rule. Check with the program.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Biochemistry or Organic Chemistry: Biochemistry OR Organic Chemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General BiologyNot publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
Anatomy
Course notes & alternatives

One semester of Anatomy plus one semester of Physiology, or two semesters of combined A&P.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

One semester of Physiology plus one of Anatomy, or two semesters of combined A&P.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

Courses must be within seven years, unless you have worked continuously full-time in healthcare (waiver).

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
General or Principles of ChemistryNot publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
Organic Chemistry

Alternative to Biochemistry.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
Biochemistry

Alternative to Organic Chemistry.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
General PsychologyNot publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
Statistics or BiostatisticsNot publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
English Composition or writing-intensive coursework2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters or two writing-intensive courses.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Recency waiver
The seven-year limit for A&P and Microbiology may be waived for continuous full-time healthcare employment.

A grade of C or higher is required. Anatomy, Physiology, and Microbiology must be within seven years, unless you have worked continuously full-time in healthcare since the coursework. Exact credits and labs are not published. Medical Terminology is not a prerequisite.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDec 1, 2026

Check with the program on whether CASPA must have processed your application by this date.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program tuition
Resident tuition$90,384 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$93,284 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$96,424

The program lists total tuition and fees of $96,424 for in-state students and $103,852 for out-of-state students. Living and other expenses are extra.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Didactic year

Didactic education

Biomedical and clinical foundations develop patient assessment, clinical reasoning and procedural skills.

02Clinical year

Clinical education

Supervised five-week rotation blocks accompany callback assessments and capstone work. Faculty assign sites; elective and selective requests depend on availability.

The Hershey program publishes 24 months and 101 credits. Students may suggest potential sites but may not arrange or solicit placements.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.85
Science GPA3.80
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

Statistics for the class listed above.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20273.853.80Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 99%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 6, 2013
Next reviewOctober 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.