Address & Contact

Our Address

University of Nebraska Medical Center-Omaha 984300 Nebraska Medical Center Omaha, Nebraska 68198

GPS

41.241511022907865, -95.98864905312668

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Nebraska Medical Center (Omaha) Physician Assistant Program

Omaha, Nebraska · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: $55,475 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $140,745 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 66 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE and PA-CAT are not required or used.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo direct patient-care minimum is required; 2,000 hours describes the most competitive applicants.
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0 cumulative GPA minimum.
Science GPA minimum 3.003.0 CASPA BCP science GPA minimum.
Recommendations 3 lettersThree references are required; no mandatory evaluator role is published.
International applicants Confirm with programCurrent international-applicant eligibility must be confirmed with the program. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
English proficiency / TOEFL RequiredConditional. Conditional college English proficiency exam; PA minimums are TOEFL paper 600, TOEFL iBT 100 with 20 per section, or IELTS 7.5 with 7.5 per subtest.
PANCE pass rate 98%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 98% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #14 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

An Omaha PA program within Nebraska’s academic health center, preparing clinicians for collaborative practice across urban and rural communities.

On campus28 months66 students
Mission & approach

To lead the world in transforming lives to create a healthy future for all individuals and communities through premier educational programs, innovative research and extraordinary patient care.

Bennett Hall exterior at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha
Bennett Hall, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Nebraska Medical Center (Omaha) a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic; NOT rolling (>85% selected after all interviews). Min 3.0 cum, prereq & science (BCP) GPA at submission. Requires 20 hrs PA career exploration. DPC no minimum but most competitive ~2,000 hrs; higher-responsibility roles (RN/RD) weighted more. No GRE. Accepted avg (F2024): 3.75 overall / 3.63 sci.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Interviews are held on the Omaha and Kearney campuses, and the campus where you interview does not determine where you are placed. The program explicitly does not use rolling admissions — more than 85% of selections are made after all interviews are finished, so a later interview date is not a disadvantage here.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE and PA-CAT are not required or used.
Patient careNo required minimumNo direct patient-care minimum is required; 2,000 hours describes the most competitive applicants.
Overall GPA3.0 cumulative GPA minimum.
Science GPA3.0 CASPA BCP science GPA minimum.
Recommendations3 lettersThree references are required; no mandatory evaluator role is published.
International applicantsConfirm with programCurrent international-applicant eligibility must be confirmed with the program.
English proficiencyConditionalcollege English proficiency exam; PA minimums are TOEFL paper 600, TOEFL iBT 100 with 20 per section, or IELTS 7.5 with 7.5 per subtest.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Combined Anatomy and Physiology sequence
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required; semester-credit minimum not published. Introductory/survey courses or courses intended for non-science majors do not satisfy prerequisites.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceRequiredCSign in to plan
General or Inorganic Chemistry with lab2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required one-year sequence; exact credits/course list not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required; one-year sequence is recommended, not explicitly required. Exact credits/course count are not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceRequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required; lab recommended but not required. Credits not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequencePreferredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Required in the separate anatomy/physiology route; credits not published. May be satisfied as part of a two-course combined anatomy and physiology series.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Required in the separate anatomy/physiology route; credits not published. May be satisfied as part of a two-course combined anatomy and physiology series.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceRequiredCSign in to plan
Combined Anatomy and Physiology sequence2 course(s)

Alternative: two courses combining anatomy and physiology fulfill the anatomy and physiology requirements. The admissions page does not explicitly state whether both combined courses require labs or give credits; confirm equivalency with program.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required; credits not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceRequiredCSign in to plan
General Psychology or another Psychology elective1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required; credits not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceNot requiredCSign in to plan
Abnormal Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required in addition to General Psychology and Developmental/Lifespan Psychology; credits not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceNot requiredCSign in to plan
Developmental/Lifespan Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required in addition to General Psychology and Abnormal Psychology; credits not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceNot requiredCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology (college/university course)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required; certificate courses do not satisfy this requirement. Credits not published.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceNot requiredCSign in to plan
English Composition (or other English elective) and writing-intensive course2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two required components: one English Composition or other English elective, plus a separate writing-intensive course. Credits and whether one course may satisfy both are not specified; verify with program.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceNot requiredCSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Required; credits not published. Algebra is strongly recommended, not required.

Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Semester credit minima not published
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
No recency limit published
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Complete by july 15 of entry year
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Grade below c not accepted
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
No pass fail ap clep except covid policy
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
A and p combined route lab unspecified
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
English has two components
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Campuses share admissions and coursework
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.

Exact semester-credit minima and recency limits are not published. Algebra is strongly recommended, not required. No AP/CLEP or Pass/Fail prerequisite credit; see the program for its COVID-era exception. At least 20 hours of PA career exploration is separately required and is not prerequisite coursework. Admissions are shared across Omaha and Kearney; the official page anticipates 50 Omaha seats and 16 Kearney seats annually, and an interview at either campus does not require attendance there.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite coursework complete and official transcripts submitted by July 15 of intended entry year; prerequisites may be planned or in progress during application.

UNMC Physician Assistant Program Admission Requirements current page reviewed 2026-09-24 · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$55,475 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$140,745 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$9,105
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$64,580

Published full-program tuition and required fees. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0113 months

Didactic education

Basic and preclinical sciences and professional study are delivered synchronously across Omaha and Kearney, with local laboratories.

0215 months

Clinical education

Ten months of required clerkships and five months of electives develop supervised clinical practice.

The shared UNMC MPAS route spans 28 continuous months and 123 credits. Students attend their assigned campus and travel for regionally assigned rotations and required campus returns.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Entering2025

Published class statistics
Average Overall GPA3.77
Average Science GPA3.64
Experience hours — not recorded for this profileNot recorded

Population: entering class; UNMC PA program combined class,66students; no Omaha split

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Entering20223.78Average Overall GPA3.64Average Science GPANot recordedExperience hours — not recorded for this profile
Entering20253.77Average Overall GPA3.64Average Science GPANot recordedExperience hours — not recorded for this profile

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedNeeds verification
Next reviewNeeds verification

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.