Address & Contact

Our Address

500 Ala Moana Blvd Suite 1-400 Honolulu, HI

GPS

21.30104927235, -157.86278060214

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Hawai’i Pacific University Physician Assistant Program

Honolulu, Hawaii · Master of Medical Science

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition $115,392Same for residents and nonresidents
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 30 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE and MCAT are not required; submitted scores are ignored.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours500 direct hands-on patient-care hours completed in the U.S. before you apply.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00 · see policyApplicants below 3.0 cumulative GPA may qualify when science GPA exceeds 3.3; confirm current-cycle review with admissions. See Requirements.
Science GPA minimum 3.003.0 science GPA.
PANCE pass rate No graduates yetFirst-time pass rateFive-year first-time: No graduates yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Master of Medical Science program with a hybrid didactic phase, focused on preparing PAs for Hawaii communities and underserved populations.

Mission & approach

Educate the next generation of physician assistants by engaging students who are dedicated to advancing health equity and delivering an innovative educational model that reduces barriers for PA learners. We are committed to preparing students to deliver high quality patient-centered care to the Hawaiian island communities and medically underserved populations across the nation.

Waterfront Plaza Building 6 in Honolulu, home of the Hawaii Pacific University Physician Assistant program
Waterfront Plaza Building 6, home of Hawaiʻi Pacific University’s Physician Assistant program.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic MMI; science GPA emphasis; high-acuity PCE; Hawaii resident / HI HS or college grad / disadvantaged-status preference; service to underserved.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

VirtualMMI

HPU invites a select number of candidates to a virtual MMI-format interview based on their application screening scores and ranking.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE and MCAT are not required; submitted scores are ignored.
Patient care500 direct hands-on patient-care hours completed in the US before application.500 direct hands-on patient-care hours completed in the U.S. before you apply.
Overall GPAMinimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.
Science GPA3.0 science GPA.
Recommendations2 letters: one from a health-care supervisor and one collegiate academic evaluator.
International applicantsAcceptedEligible. Applicants are responsible for visa compliance.
English proficiencyConditionalConditional for nonnative speakers: TOEFL 250 CBT or 100 iBT. Exemptions apply for a qualifying English-medium degree or country, or a U.S.-accredited degree.
Overall GPA exception pathway

Applicants below 3.0 cumulative GPA may qualify when science GPA exceeds 3.3; confirm current-cycle review with admissions.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester hours

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and Physiology pathway: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General or Human Biology pathway with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester hours total. Acceptable routes: a year of General/Human Biology with labs, OR one semester of General/Human Biology with lab plus one semester of additional lab biology (cell biology, histology, molecular biology, pharmacology, embryology, genetics, immunology, or neuroscience). The two routes do not combine. Check with the program to match your transcript.

8Semester hoursRequiredC
Human Anatomy with lab

4 semester hours; detailed course description expects full human body anatomy and excludes a neuroanatomy course as substitute. May be part of an approved combined A&P I/II sequence.

4Semester hoursRequiredC
Human Physiology with lab

4 semester hours; course should cover homeostasis, cell structure, cardiac, respiratory, renal, endocrine, digestive, energy, growth, immune, nutrition, and reproductive physiology. May be part of approved combined A&P I/II sequence.

4Semester hoursRequiredC
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Alternative to individual Human Anatomy and Human Physiology courses: the full two-semester A&P I and II sequence, both with labs. A separate credit total for this route is not published — check with the program.

Not publishedSemester hoursRequiredC
Microbiology with lab
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester hours, including lab.

4Semester hoursRequiredC
General Chemistry with lab2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester hours, including lab.

8Semester hoursRequiredC
Organic Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours. Lab is not listed as required.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours. Both Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry are required; if they are a combined course sequence, complete the entire sequence to receive credit for both courses.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours. Introductory or General Psychology preferred; another psychology-specific course with General Psychology as a prerequisite is accepted.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Biology route
8-credit Biology requirement: either a year-long General/Human Biology lab sequence, or a 4-credit Biology with lab plus a 4-credit additional biology with lab (cell biology, histology, molecular biology, pharmacology, embryology, genetics, immunology, or neuroscience). Check with the program for course matching.
A&P route
Separate human Anatomy with lab plus Physiology with lab, or complete two-course combined Human A&P I and II with labs. Neuroanatomy alone is not an accepted substitute for Human Anatomy.
Organic Chemistry / Biochemistry
Both are required, not alternatives. If a combined organic chemistry/biochemistry course is used, complete its entire sequence for credit for both.
Recency
All science prerequisites within 10 years of application; program director may review a graduate-coursework waiver request case by case.
International coursework
International applicants may apply with WES-equivalent bachelor's; all prerequisites must be completed at an accredited U.S. institution or Canadian institution with English as primary language of instruction.
Cycle deadline
The August 1 submission and September 1 verification deadlines for the January 2027 cohort have passed; confirm dates for future cycles.

For the January 2027 cohort, the completed CASPA application was due August 1, 2026, and all documents had to be verified by September 1, 2026. Up to two prerequisite courses may be incomplete at application; outstanding courses must be verified by September 1. 500 hours of U.S. direct hands-on patient care are required before applying. Two recommendations are required: at least one from a clinical supervisor and one from a collegiate academic reference. GRE and MCAT are not required. International degrees must be evaluated by WES, and prerequisites must be completed at a regionally accredited U.S. institution or an English-instruction Canadian institution.

When courses must be complete: For the January 2027 cohort, application submitted by August 1 and CASPA verified by September 1, 2026. Up to two prerequisites may be outstanding at submission; all must be submitted and verified by September 1 to proceed.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

Prior cycle deadline 2026-08-01 has passed; next cycle date is not published. Confirm with program.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$115,392 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$115,392 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Confirm current costs with the program.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01

Hybrid didactic learning

Remote synchronous and asynchronous instruction is combined with periodic one- to two-week hands-on immersions on the downtown Honolulu campus.

02

Clinical training

Supervised practice covers seven required disciplines—emergency, surgical, internal, behavioral, family, women’s and pediatric medicine—plus an elective.

03

Final campus immersion

A comprehensive summative evaluation and preparation for professional practice conclude the sequence.

The full-time MMS-PA program is 24 months. The first cohort matriculated January 2025.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

First-time program results are not yet available; no graduates have been reported.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Provisional
First accreditedJune 21, 2024
Next reviewApril 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.