Address & Contact

Our Address

Stephens College 1200 E Broadway Columbia MO 65215

GPS

38.95148592237737, -92.32285745781861

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Stephens College Physician Assistant Program

Columbia, Missouri · Masters

Application deadline Jun 15, 2026Passed · Must be received by this date
Tuition $109,099 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $109,099
Projected Class of 2029 program cost
Class size 30 studentsCurrent estimated class size and ARC-PA maximum class size.
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredNo standardized admission test is required.
Patient-care minimum 750 direct patient-care hoursComplete 750 paid, direct, hands-on patient-care hours by CASPA submission. Volunteer hours do not count toward the minimum.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum overall, last-60-credit, and prerequisite GPAs are each 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
PANCE pass rate 97%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 94%
U.S. News PA rank #135 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Columbia PA program with 30 students, 750 direct patient-care hours, and 3.00 overall and science GPA minimums.

On campus27 months30 students

Mission & approach

Dedicated to transforming students into excellent clinicians who practice with compassion; emphasizes leadership within the profession while working in an inter-professional team.

Sampson Hall at Stephens College, home of the Physician Assistant program and Center for Health Sciences
Sampson Hall, Stephens College’s Center for Health Sciences and home of its Physician Assistant program.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Competitive process; exceed minimum GPAs (cumulative, science, last-60, prerequisite), exceed shadowing and PA-specific shadowing, exceed paid hands-on PCE, volunteer service, 3 excellent LORs, research/publications, advanced science coursework, LORs from MD/DO/PA

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Selection is a two-step process of application review by the Admissions Committee followed by an on-site interview at Sampson Hall; Stephens College undergraduates and alumnae who meet all requirements are automatically offered an onsite interview for two application cycles, and interview dates for the current cycle are August 20-21.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredNo standardized admission test is required.
Patient care750 direct patient-care hoursComplete 750 paid, direct, hands-on patient-care hours by CASPA submission. Volunteer hours do not count toward the minimum.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum overall, last-60-credit, and prerequisite GPAs are each 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required with no fixed role; an MD, DO, or PA letter is competitive, not mandatory.
International applicantsHighly restricted; check with the program for details.Stephens does not issue PA student visas. Applicants need a qualifying U.S. degree and U.S.-accredited prerequisites; a foreign degree or WES equivalency alone is insufficient.
English proficiencyConditional — TOEFL iBT 79.Applicants covered by the English-language rule need TOEFL paper 550, computer 213, iBT 79, or the published ESL certificate alternative.

Prerequisite coursework

Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester credit (equal to one quarter hour).

1Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.Not requiredC
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three semester credits (or 4 quarter hours).

3Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.Not requiredC
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three semester credits (or 4 quarter hours).

3Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.Not requiredC
Chemistry I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses, 6 semester credits (or 8 quarter hours). Laboratory courses highly recommended; at least two labs are required across the listed science prerequisites, but the program does not specify which courses must supply them.

6Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.PreferredC
Organic Chemistry I1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be upper-level and for science majors. Lab recommended; program requires at least two labs across listed science courses but does not assign them to specific courses.

3Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.PreferredC
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be 200 level or higher and for science majors. Lab recommended; program requires at least two labs across listed science courses but does not assign them to specific courses.

3Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.PreferredC
Human Anatomy1 course(s)

Must be 200 level or higher and for science majors. A&P coursework must be within seven years prior to matriculation. Lab recommended; two labs are required across the science courses, but no specific course labs are identified.

3Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.PreferredC
Human Physiology1 course(s)

Must be 200 level or higher and for science majors. A&P coursework must be within seven years prior to matriculation. Lab recommended; two labs are required across the science courses, but no specific course labs are identified.

3Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.PreferredC
Genetics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be 200 level or higher and for science majors. Lab recommended; program requires at least two labs across listed science courses but does not assign them to specific courses.

3Credits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.PreferredC
Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II2 course(s)

Alternative route to separate Anatomy and Physiology. Credit hours for this alternative are not published. Must be completed within seven years before matriculation. At least two labs are required across the listed science prerequisites; which courses is not specified.

Not publishedCredits are semester credits, with quarter-hour equivalents shown where the program lists them.PreferredC

Policies that can change your plan

Course age
Only Human Anatomy, Human Physiology and the A&P I/II alternative must be within seven years before matriculation. No other course age limit is stated.
Timing
The 2026-2027 cycle closed June 15, 2026; the application page describes a January 2027 start. No more than one prerequisite may remain outstanding at application; the program does not clearly publish a final prerequisite-course deadline.
Science course level
All science courses are for science majors; Microbiology, Anatomy, Physiology, and Genetics require 200 level or higher; Organic Chemistry I must be upper-level.
Labs
Accompanying labs are highly recommended, and at least two labs are required among the listed science courses; which courses is not specified.

Use the 2026–27 prerequisite list. Some older materials mention a Biochemistry alternative to Organic Chemistry I, but the current list does not include it. Science courses must be for science majors. At least two labs are required across the science prerequisites, but the program doesn't say which courses.

When courses must be complete: No more than one prerequisite course may be outstanding at application. Anatomy and Physiology coursework must be within seven years before you start the program. The program doesn't state a final completion date for all prerequisites.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJun 15, 2026 · Passed

The June 15, 2026 CASPA submission deadline for January 2027 entry has passed; the next cycle date is not yet published.

2026–2027
Program startsJanuary 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Projected Class of 2029 program cost
Resident tuition$109,099 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$109,099 projected full-program tuition

$101,449 program + $2,595 program + $4,205 program + $850 program · Billed charges plus books, supplies, and first-year medical equipment.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$109,099

Projected program cost totals $109,099: $101,449 tuition, $2,595 billed fees, $4,205 books and supplies, and $850 first-year medical equipment. Billed charges alone total $104,044. Another $4,840 in program-related estimates may apply depending on your circumstances. Living costs, everyday transportation, clinical-rotation housing and transportation, health insurance if required, and loan fees are separate.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Year 1: three terms

Didactic instruction

Spring, summer and fall coursework covers anatomy, physiology, medicine, skills, pharmacology and evidence-based practice; 64 credits.

02Year 2–spring of year 3

Clinical training

Clinical medicine and leadership courses precede eight six-week rotations across core specialties and an elective.

03Final 3 weeks

Graduation seminar

A final seminar completes the clinical phase and prepares students for graduation.

The current curriculum is 27 months and 122 credits. Clinical rotations are scheduled according to availability. Semester and week labels are listed, but a month breakdown is not published — check with the program.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.80
Science GPA3.75
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

Statistics for the class listed above.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20273.803.75Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 12, 2016
Next reviewJanuary 2031
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.