Address & Contact

Our Address

University of Colorado 13001 E. 17th Place Mail Stop F543 Aurora, CO 80045

GPS

39.75053261347649, -104.83671623941483

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Colorado Physician Assistant Program

Aurora, Colorado · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Resident $78,955 (estimate)Nonresident $169,973 (estimate)
Tuition + fees $78,955 / $169,973 nonresident
Current-rate projected full-program tuition and required fees
Class size 44 students
Program length 36 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programCheck with the program for its current GRE requirement. CASPer is required.
Patient-care minimum 2,000 hoursThe program requires 2,000 hours of qualifying patient-care experience.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
PANCE pass rate 79%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 91%
U.S. News PA rank #3 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 36-month PA program at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus with a 44-student cohort and extensive healthcare-experience preparation.

On campus36 months44 students

Mission & approach

The mission of the Child Health Associate/Physician Assistant Program is to provide an innovative learning environment to educate socially conscious physician assistants dedicated to the holistic care of diverse and underserved patient populations across the lifespan with an emphasis on primary care and expanded training in pediatrics.

University of Colorado Physician Assistant Program at the Fitzsimons Building
Fitzsimons Building, home of the University of Colorado Physician Assistant Program offices. Source: CU Anschutz.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Highly competitive, mission-driven holistic review. Preference for: high overall & science GPA; no W/Incomplete in Chem/Bio; all Chem/Bio grades > C+; healthcare exposure via volunteer/work; PA-profession understanding via shadowing & essays; extensive community/volunteer experience; alignment with CHA/PA mission through experience with underserved and/or rural populations in primary/pediatric…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusIndividual + Group

Interview day at CU Anschutz combines a 15-minute individual interview, a 25-minute group interview, and a 25-minute group exercise, each led by different faculty, graduate, preceptor, or outreach panel members.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programCheck with the program for its current GRE requirement. CASPer is required.
Patient care2,000 hoursThe program requires 2,000 hours of qualifying patient-care experience.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required; confirm current evaluator-role guidance in CASPA.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to credential, prerequisite, English-proficiency, and immigration requirements.
English proficiencyConditionalEnglish-proficiency testing may be required based on educational background; confirm the current accepted exams and thresholds with the program.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Chemistry courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses totaling seven credits; one must have a lab.

7Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Anatomy and Physiology courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses; separate Anatomy/Physiology or combined A&P I/II.

6Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Upper-division Biology courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two upper-division courses within five years.

6Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Psychology courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses before matriculation.

6Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

Before matriculation.

3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC

Policies that can change your plan

Five-year rule
Upper-division Biology courses must be within five years of the application deadline.
Timing
Science prerequisites are required before you submit; psychology and statistics are required before you matriculate (start the program).

Chemistry, A&P, and upper-division Biology must be completed and shown in your CASPA-verified application; Psychology and Statistics can finish before matriculation. One Chemistry course needs a lab. AP/IB and pass/fail prerequisites are not accepted.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-09-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.

Program startsJuly 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Current-rate projected full-program tuition and required fees
Resident tuition$78,955 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$169,973 projected full-program tuition

$169,973 documented program schedule · Projected full-program tuition at current published rates

Required program fees$0
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$78,955

At current rates, full-program tuition and required fees are $78,955 for residents and $169,973 for nonresidents. Rates may change before later terms are billed.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First two years

Didactic and integrated clinical education

Organ-system blocks, cases, laboratory work and simulation integrate early clinical experience.

02Third year

Clinical education

Ten one-month rotations, professional modules and a final campus return support clinical readiness and capstone completion.

The Aurora-based Child Health Associate/Physician Assistant (CHA/PA) route requires a rural or underserved rotation outside the Denver metropolitan area; clinical-year sites may be anywhere in Colorado. The program describes its length as 36 months; confirm the exact July–May cohort calendar with the program.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Entering Summer 2026

Published class statistics
Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.72
Mean Science GPA3.65
Median patient-care hours2,112

Summer 2026 admitted students. The 2,112 patient-care hours and 192 healthcare-related hours are medians, not means.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Entering Summer 20263.72Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.65Mean Science GPA2,112Median patient-care hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 79%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 91%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedFebruary 1973
Next reviewOctober 2026
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.