Address & Contact

Our Address

118 College Drive #5095 Hattiesburg, MS

GPS

30.36408, -89.15536

Telephone
Email

-

← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Southern Mississippi Physician Assistant Program (School of Health Professions)

Long Beach, Mississippi · Master of Science in Medicine

Application deadline Date needs confirmationThe current cycle is closed, and the next exact deadline hasn't been published.
Tuition $92,800 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $92,800
Published estimated full-program tuition and required fees
Class size 30 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 29 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not publishedThe PA admissions page does not say whether the GRE, PA-CAT, MCAT, or CASPer is required — check with the program.
Patient-care minimum 500 direct-care hours500 paid or volunteer direct-patient-care hours are required at application.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum overall undergraduate GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum No separate minimumThe program publishes a 3.00 prerequisite GPA but no separate science-GPA cutoff.
PANCE pass rate No graduates yetFirst-time pass rateFive-year first-time: No graduates yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

Educates PAs for collaborative, evidence-based care, with particular attention to rural and medically underserved communities.

West Academic Building on the University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Park campus, planned home of the Physician Assistant program
West Academic Building on the University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Park campus, planned home of the Physician Assistant program
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic modified-rolling review w/ MMI. Min 3.0 overall & prereq GPA, 500 DPC hrs, 16 shadow hrs. Preference points: MS residents, USM students/alumni (guaranteed interview), military/veterans, disadvantaged/rural/HPSA & first-gen backgrounds, service/mission commitment, healthcare certs, master's degree, improved re-applicants. No test required.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programThe PA admissions page does not say whether the GRE, PA-CAT, MCAT, or CASPer is required — check with the program.
Patient care500 direct-care hours500 paid or volunteer direct-patient-care hours are required at application.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum overall undergraduate GPA is 3.00.
Science GPANo separate minimumThe program publishes a 3.00 prerequisite GPA but no separate science-GPA cutoff.
Recommendations2 references · clinician requiredTwo references are required, including at least one PA, MD, DO, or NP; family and friends are excluded.
International applicantsConditionalApplicants must be U.S. citizens, permanent residents, or hold a current valid education visa; prerequisites must be from a U.S. institution.
English proficiencyConditionalInternational graduate applicants covered by the university rule must demonstrate English proficiency through TOEFL, IELTS, PTE, or iTEP.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Human anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Human-based only. Alternative to standalone Human Anatomy with lab plus Human Physiology with lab. Each route fulfills the same A&P prerequisite.

8Semester creditsRequiredC
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

An alternative standalone route, paired with Human Physiology with lab. Minimum credits for this course are not stated. Must be human-based.

Not publishedSemester creditsRequiredC
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

An alternative standalone route, paired with Human Anatomy with lab. Minimum credits for this course are not stated. Must be human-based.

Not publishedSemester creditsRequiredC
Biology prerequisite (one approved option)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course: General Biology, Genetics, Cell/Molecular Biology, Histology, Immunology, Virology, Epidemiology, Biochemistry, or Nutrition with BIO prefix. Three semester credits. Course equivalency may require syllabus review.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Both courses required; total 8 semester credits.

8Semester creditsRequiredC
Organic Chemistry I with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Microbiology or Infectious Disease1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One 3-credit semester course; lab is not required. Syllabus may be requested to confirm course substitution.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC
Statistics (general, behavioral, or biostatistics)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Business Statistics is not accepted. Online Statistics is allowed. Course equivalency may require syllabus review.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
C or better; C- or below not accepted.
Science rigor
Science (except statistics) should be intended for science/health majors; required labs must match lecture rigor.
Recency
No age limit on prerequisites is published on the admissions page — check with the program.
Outstanding courses
No more than two outstanding at application.
Alternatives
Check whether your biology, microbiology, statistics, and A&P alternatives match the current page and course equivalencies.

These requirements apply to the closed 2026 cycle; USM says updates will be posted before the April 2027 cycle. No age limit on prerequisites is published. Older program documents list a different set of courses; the current admissions page applies. You may have no more than two prerequisites outstanding at application and no more than two courses graded pass/fail/credit.

When courses must be complete: No more than two outstanding prerequisites at application. The 2026 cycle is closed. A definite completion date for outstanding courses is not listed — check with the program.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Next admissions cycle opensDate needs confirmation

The current cycle is closed, and the next exact deadline hasn't been published.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published estimated full-program tuition and required fees
Resident tuition$92,800 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$92,800 projected full-program tuition

$90,000 program + $2,800 program · Initial estimate; university may revise amounts

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$92,800

Estimated direct program charges are $92,800: $90,000 tuition plus $2,800 in required fees. The program separately estimates $12,360 in other required education expenses. Living, transportation, and clinical relocation costs are not included.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0117 months

Planned didactic education

In-person medical sciences, patient assessment, clinical skills and research at the Gulf Park campus.

0212 months

Planned clinical education

Five-week supervised rotations in seven core disciplines and an approved elective; campus callback seminars and a research capstone.

The published curriculum is 29 months and 108 credits at Gulf Park in Long Beach. The first cohort is scheduled to start in January 2027, so this describes planned training.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

No graduates yet; first graduation expected 2029.

First-time program results are not yet available; no graduates have been reported.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Provisional
First accreditedJuly 18, 2026
Next reviewTo be determined
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.