Address & Contact

Our Address

Marywood University 2300 Adams Avenue Scranton, PA 18509

GPS

41.4336071, -75.6342257

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Marywood University Physician Assistant Program

Scranton, Pennsylvania · Masters

Application deadline Confirm with admissionsOfficial Marywood PA pages disagree: the admissions page states January 31, 2027, while the degree page states January 15, 2027. Confirm the deadline and CASPA processing status directly with admissions.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $111,961 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $111,961 projected full-program tuition · Projected full-program tuition only from 103 credits at $1,087 each; estimated PA and university fees are separate.
Class size 66 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE required; no hard minimum, while 291 combined or higher earns application points; cycle language should be reconfirmed. The PA page requires GRE and describes the 291 scoring benchmark.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours500 direct patient-contact hours by matriculation. The PA page requires 500 direct patient-contact hours by matriculation.
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0 overall GPA. The PA page publishes a 3.0 overall GPA minimum.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedNo separate science GPA minimum; 3.0 prerequisite GPA is required. The page publishes a prerequisite GPA rather than a distinct science GPA floor. Policy clarification: Prerequisite GPA must remain distinct from science GPA. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Recommendations 3 evaluations: one PA-C involved in actual care with the applicant and two academic, supervisory, or medical evaluators; no friends or family.The page publishes the count, PA-C relationship, permitted sources, and exclusions.
International applicants ConditionalInternational PA applicants are eligible through CASPA and Marywood's international admission process. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL Conditional; confirm with programEnglish proficiency applies to some international applicants; accepted tests, scores, exemptions and score age require PA-program confirmation. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 98%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 92% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #159 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

The PA Program prepares students with biomedical and clinical knowledge to diagnose, treat, and empower patients across the lifespan; with awareness of regional and global healthcare needs, it prepares students to embrace diversity, advocate for patients, and provide compassionate care for all, especially the underserved.

Marywood University Pascucci Family Health Sciences Pavilion, home to Physician Assistant learning facilities
The Pascucci Family Health Sciences Pavilion at Marywood University, including dedicated Physician Assistant lab and lecture spaces.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Marywood University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Exceed minimum overall & prerequisite GPA; three strong LORs; exceed 500 PCE hours; bonus points for higher GPAs and combined GRE 291+; bonus for extracurricular/service/leadership; successful interview required

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

VirtualIndividual + Group

Virtual interview days open with a 30-minute program presentation, then about 90 minutes of rotating stations — individual interviews with the admissions committee, a timed writing sample, and a Q&A with current students — followed by a 30-minute wrap-up. Morning and afternoon sessions are offered. The program publishes bonus points for a GRE of 291 or higher, more than 500 direct patient care hours, and demonstrated extracurricular, service or leadership involvement.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE required; no hard minimum, while 291 combined or higher earns application points; cycle language should be reconfirmed. The PA page requires GRE and describes the 291 scoring benchmark.
Patient care500 direct patient-contact hours by matriculation.The PA page requires 500 direct patient-contact hours by matriculation.
Overall GPA3.0 overall GPA.The PA page publishes a 3.0 overall GPA minimum.
Science GPAConfirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; 3.0 prerequisite GPA is required. The page publishes a prerequisite GPA rather than a distinct science GPA floor. Policy clarification: Prerequisite GPA must remain distinct from science GPA.
Recommendations3 evaluations: one PA-C involved in actual care with the applicant and two academic, supervisory, or medical evaluators; no friends or family.The page publishes the count, PA-C relationship, permitted sources, and exclusions.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational PA applicants are eligible through CASPA and Marywood's international admission process. Marywood explicitly directs international PA applicants through CASPA.
English proficiencyConfirm with programEnglish proficiency is required under international admission, but a current PA-applicable threshold was not verified. Marywood's international page requires English proficiency but the reviewed material did not resolve a PA-specific threshold. Policy clarification: Confirm accepted tests, minimum scores, exemptions, and score age.

Prerequisite coursework

Course/semester sequence; individual credits unpublished

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy with lab + Physiology with lab OR Combined A&P I and II with labs
  • Immunology substitution: Immunology with lab OR 300/400-level science substitution
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology I with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major level; individual credit minimum not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Biology II with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major level; individual credit minimum not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Chemistry I with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major level; individual credit minimum not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Chemistry II with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major level; individual credit minimum not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Separate anatomy/physiology route; individual credits not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan
Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Separate anatomy/physiology route; individual credits not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan
Combined A&P I and II with labs2 course(s)

Two semesters with lab components substitute for separate anatomy and physiology.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry I with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major level; individual credits not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Organic Chemistry II with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major level; individual credits not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major level; individual credits not stated.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan
Immunology with lab1 course(s)

Preferred requirement; if unavailable, upper-level science substitution is committee-discretionary.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
300/400-level science substitution1 course(s)

Substitutes for immunology only when unavailable, at admissions committee discretion.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Accredited-institution course; within seven years.

Not publishedCourse/semester sequence; individual credits unpublishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

No published per-course credit minima in the current admissions list. Immunology substitution is discretionary. No double-counting of A&P route options.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm with admissions

Official Marywood PA pages disagree: the admissions page states January 31, 2027, while the degree page states January 15, 2027. Confirm the deadline and CASPA processing status directly with admissions.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Projected cost estimate

Current program-page rate; entering cohort not explicitly named
Resident tuitionApproximately $111,961 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $111,961 projected full-program tuition

$1,087 credit × 103 required credits · Projected full-program tuition only from 103 credits at $1,087 each; estimated PA and university fees are separate.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Projected tuition + required feesCurrent-rate estimate; living and other expenses excluded
Confirm with program

Basis: $1,087 credit × 103 required credits · current-rate projection · high confidence

$111,961 is projected full-program tuition from the current published $1,087-per-credit rate. Estimated PA program fees are $3,600, but university fees are additional; a complete direct-charge total is not established.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic year

Classroom and laboratory medical-science study typically occupies weekdays with approximately 40 coursework hours per week.

0212 months

Clinical year

Ten five-week rotations build supervised clinical experience. End-of-rotation campus visits include examinations, PANCE review and professional development.

This summary covers the 24-month graduate PA phase in Scranton. Sites may be local, regional or national. The same page also presents the integrated undergraduate/graduate route using years 4 and 5; those labels do not make the graduate phase five years long.

Marywood University official curriculum Current program page; publication year not stated · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.61
Science GPANot recorded
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The class year is preserved exactly as published. The additional published GPA is a prerequisite GPA, not an overall science average. Published prerequisite GPA: 3.55.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20273.61Not recordedNot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedApril 1998
Next reviewJanuary 2036

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.