Address & Contact

Our Address

6311 Garners Ferry Road Building 101, 3rd Floor, PA Suite Columbia, SC 29209

GPS

33.98074620647318, -80.96289325977091

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of South Carolina SOM Physician Assistant Program

Columbia, South Carolina · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $52,815 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $91,896 projected full-program tuition · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change
Class size 30 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE scores no more than five years old are due by July 15; a completed U.S. master's degree or higher qualifies for the published waiver.
Patient-care minimum 500 HCE hoursAt least 500 healthcare-exposure hours are required and may include paid work, volunteering, and shadowing; this is not a direct-PCE-only minimum.
Overall GPA minimum No hard minimumNo hard cumulative GPA cutoff is published; 3.20 is preferred.
Science GPA minimum Prerequisite GPA 3.20No hard CASPA science-GPA cutoff is published; 3.20 science is preferred and a 3.20 prerequisite GPA is required.
Recommendations 3 lettersThree recommendations are required; the current directory record does not mandate evaluator roles.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalWhen English is not the primary language, the published options are TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5, PTE 53, or Duolingo 120.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 98% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month, 114-credit PA program in Columbia with a 30-student cohort and a 500-hour combined healthcare-exposure requirement.

On campus27 months30 students
Mission & approach

To educate and train competent, compassionate, and collaborative PAs to deliver patient centered care as part of an interprofessional team.

l
l
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of South Carolina SOM a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Scored on GRE (300+ preferred), patient-care hours, LORs, personal statement. Preference: SC residents, USC alumni, US veterans, cumulative GPA >=3.2, science GPA >=3.2, GRE >=300, 2000+ HCE hours.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

How this program interviews

On-campus

In-person interviews on the School of Medicine campus are required for all applicants and are held at the invitation of the Admissions Committee, with early decision interview days offered in June and July and additional interviews in August. Candidates must complete a graduate school questionnaire before interviewing, and decisions are typically released within about two weeks afterward.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE scores no more than five years old are due by July 15; a completed U.S. master's degree or higher qualifies for the published waiver.
Patient care500 HCE hoursAt least 500 healthcare-exposure hours are required and may include paid work, volunteering, and shadowing; this is not a direct-PCE-only minimum.
Overall GPANo hard minimumNo hard cumulative GPA cutoff is published; 3.20 is preferred.
Science GPAPrerequisite GPA 3.20No hard CASPA science-GPA cutoff is published; 3.20 science is preferred and a 3.20 prerequisite GPA is required.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required; the current directory record does not mandate evaluator roles.
International applicantsNot acceptedOnly U.S. citizens and permanent residents are eligible; a U.S.-accredited bachelor's degree is required and WES coursework is not accepted.
English proficiencyConditionalWhen English is not the primary language, the published options are TOEFL 80, IELTS 6.5, PTE 53, or Duolingo 120.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human Anatomy and/or Human Physiology with labs
Course notes & alternatives

Six lecture credits plus two laboratory credits; comparative, animal and mammalian coursework not accepted.

8Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Genetics3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
General Chemistry with labs
Course notes & alternatives

Six lecture credits plus two laboratory credits.

8Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Introductory or higher-level Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan
Statistics3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

Certificate or CEU route accepted; may be Pass/Fail.

1Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Published policy conflict
Pass/Fail acceptance conflicts with the letter-grade statement on the same official page; program confirmation required.
Cycle-specific recency
Published Anatomy/Physiology cutoff is Fall 2019; verify cutoff for the intended application cycle.

Anatomy/Physiology completed before Fall 2019 is not accepted under the currently published cycle; other prerequisites do not expire. AP/IB and community-college courses accepted. Minimum prerequisite GPA 3.2. The page contains conflicting Pass/Fail statements: its dedicated policy accepts Pass/Satisfactory, while the prerequisite section calls for letter grades except terminology. Confirm with admissions before relying on a Pass/Fail science course.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite coursework complete and CASPA-verified at application; no pending prerequisites.

University of South Carolina SOM official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Program startsJanuary 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

June 2026 rates projected over seven semesters
Resident tuitionApproximately $52,815 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $91,896 projected full-program tuition

$13,128 term × 7 documented semesters · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change

Required program fees$12,495
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$65,310

Basis: $7,545 term × 7 documented semesters · current-rate projection · medium confidence

Tuition $52,815 resident / $91,896 nonresident. Fees resident ($800+$300+$685) × 7=$12,495; NR ($1,100+$300+$685) × 7=$14,595. Combined $65,310/$106,491. NR can later qualify for resident rates; timing unknown, no blended ranking. Fix SSOT NR fee scalar copied from resident.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic education

Primarily in-person systems-based medical instruction includes cadaver anatomy, simulation, clinical skills and interprofessional learning.

02Final 12 months

Clinical education

Core specialties, orthopedics, urgent/primary care and two electives lead to a longitudinal capstone portfolio and campus summative experience.

27-month, seven-semester Columbia curriculum with 114 credit hours. The program arranges all clinical sites and preceptors.

University of South Carolina SOM official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class 2028

Published class statistics
Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.78
Mean Science GPA3.77
Mean health-care exposure hours3,070

Class 2028 accepted offers. Prerequisite GPA is separately 3.80. Healthcare exposure averages 3,070 hours; the source does not identify that measure as patient-care hours alone. Population: selected/admitted/matriculated students as qualified in note; University of South Carolina SOM

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class 20283.78Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.77Mean Science GPA3,070Mean health-care exposure hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 8, 2016
Next reviewJuly 2031

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.