Address & Contact

Our Address

Physician Associate ProgramPO Box 208083100 Church Street SouthSuite A250 New Haven CT

GPS

41.30444864812068, -72.9332017323052

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Yale University Physician Associate Program Physician Assistant Program

New Haven, Connecticut · Masters

Application deadline Sep 1, 2026Passed · Current published deadline; confirm the required CASPA processing status for this cycle.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $126,343 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $126,343 projected full-program tuition · Planning estimate using published 2026–27 PA1/PA2/PA3 tuition rates ($54,147 + $54,147 + $18,049). Future entering-cohort rates may change. Published activity, technology, and health fees total $5,775 ($132,118 tuition plus these listed fees at current rates). Hospitalization coverage and living, travel, and personal expenses are separate.
Class size 40 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE General Test scores are required under the current retained admissions record.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo healthcare-hour minimum is required; about 1,000 hours of hands-on healthcare or community-service experience is recommended.
Overall GPA minimum Not publishedA current overall GPA minimum was not established in the reviewed sources.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative science GPA is 3.00 as calculated by CASPA.
Recommendations 3 lettersThree recommendation letters are required.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to Yale’s degree, credential, and immigration requirements.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalEnglish-proficiency testing applies to applicants who do not qualify for a published exemption; confirm the current test and score rules.
PANCE pass rate 98%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 96% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #48 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A long-established Yale PA program in New Haven integrating rigorous medical science, clinical training, research, and service.

On campus28 months40 students
Mission & approach

The mission of the Yale School of Medicine Physician Associate Program is to educate outstanding clinicians and to foster leaders who will serve their communities and advance quality healthcare.

Yale 100 Church Street South building, home of the physician associate program classroom and academic office
100 Church Street South by Sage Ross (Ragesoss), CC BY-SA 3.0; cropped, resized and compressed.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Yale University Physician Associate Program a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

GRE required (no waiver, competitive >=50th pct), strong academic record, prerequisite coursework, healthcare/patient-care experience, LORs, personal statement, interview. Holistic review.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
FROM THE ADMISSIONS TEAM

2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair

Yale uses “Physician Associate” terminology, and described a strong mentorship structure: students are assigned an adviser at the start and meet regularly with that adviser and their advisee group during the didactic phase. The curriculum features a cadaver lab, systems-based learning and early hospital and patient contact, plus clinical electives and student leadership through the student council, the state PA academy and a student-run free clinic. For nontraditional applicants, the advice was to be able to explain how a non-linear background prepared you for PA training and why you chose that path — and to pursue work you genuinely care about rather than stacking activities that merely look good. Fit runs both ways: the wait after you apply is a good time to ask whether a program actually matches your values.

Shared at the fair on Jul 11, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.

About these fair notes

PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only

How this program interviews

Virtual

Yale conducts its PA program admissions interviews entirely virtually rather than in person; invitations are typically extended about one month before the interview dates, with interviews usually occurring in October and November.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE General Test scores are required under the current retained admissions record.
Patient careNo required minimumNo healthcare-hour minimum is required; about 1,000 hours of hands-on healthcare or community-service experience is recommended.
Overall GPANot publishedA current overall GPA minimum was not established in the reviewed sources.
Science GPA3.00Minimum cumulative science GPA is 3.00 as calculated by CASPA.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendation letters are required.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to Yale’s degree, credential, and immigration requirements.
English proficiencyConditionalEnglish-proficiency testing applies to applicants who do not qualify for a published exemption; confirm the current test and score rules.

Prerequisite coursework

One semester; 3–5 credits where specified; combined A&P is 6–10 credits over two semesters

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Statistics or Calculus: Statistics (or Calculus alternative) OR Calculus (or Statistics alternative)
  • Anatomy and Physiology: Human gross Anatomy + Human or animal/mammalian Physiology OR Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry (or Biochemistry alternative) OR Biochemistry (or Organic Chemistry alternative) OR Combined Organic Chemistry/Biochemistry semester course
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Statistics (or Calculus alternative)1 course(s)

One semester or 3–5 credits. Statistics must cover probability, distributions/variables, confidence intervals, group comparisons, regression, ANOVA and chi-square. Statistics may be from Psychology, Biology, or Mathematics.

3–5credits (or one semester)Not specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Calculus (or Statistics alternative)1 course(s)

One semester or 3–5 credits. Content must include limits/continuity, differentiation, applications of differentiation, and integration.

3–5credits (or one semester)Not specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human gross Anatomy1 course(s)

One semester or 3–5 credits; human gross anatomy only. Cover upper limb, lower limb, head/neck, and thorax/abdomen/pelvis. Lab strongly recommended but not required. Neuroanatomy alone, histology, and animal/mammalian anatomy do not satisfy this separate route.

3–5credits (or one semester)PreferredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human or animal/mammalian Physiology1 course(s)

One semester or 3–5 credits. Cover homeostasis, cell structure, cardiac, respiratory, renal, endocrine, digestion/energy utilization, and reproduction. Animal/mammalian physiology accepted; lab not required. Pathophysiology and cell biology do not satisfy this separate route.

3–5credits (or one semester)Not requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence2 course(s)

Alternative to separate Anatomy and Physiology: two semesters, 6–10 credits total. Course-specific credit split and combined-sequence lab policy are not published; confirm sequence and equivalency with Yale. For the separate Human Anatomy route, a lab is strongly recommended but not required.

6–10 totalcredits total across two semestersNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry (or Biochemistry alternative)1 course(s)

One semester or 3–5 credits. Content should include bonding; alcohols, esters, phenols, aldehydes, ketones; proteins; enzymes; carbohydrates/energy; fats/lipids. Alternatively choose one semester of Biochemistry or one combined Organic Chemistry/Biochemistry semester course.

3–5credits (or one semester)Not specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Biochemistry (or Organic Chemistry alternative)1 course(s)

One semester or 3–5 credits. Content should include enzymology, cellular communication, DNA/RNA structure and synthesis, energy/carbohydrate metabolism, amino acid/protein synthesis, and digestion/hormonal metabolic control. Alternatively choose Organic Chemistry or a combined Organic Chemistry/Biochemistry semester course.

3–5credits (or one semester)Not specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Combined Organic Chemistry/Biochemistry semester course1 course(s)

Explicit alternative to separate Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: one combined semester course, 3–5 credits. Course equivalency is manual review.

3–5credits (or one semester)Not specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology1 course(s)

One semester or 3–5 credits. Content should include microbial morphology/physiology, bacterial metabolism, microbial genetics, and bacterial/viral/fungal/parasitic classification. Lab not required. A single Bacteriology course does not satisfy this prerequisite.

3–5credits (or one semester)Not requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Prerequisite recency
No expiration; courses from any time in the past are considered
Prerequisite grade
No general minimum grade stated; up to one in-progress course must earn B or better by December 31
AP / CLEP
AP not accepted for prerequisite coursework; AP may be accepted for non-prerequisite coursework but does not factor into GPA. CLEP not stated in the reviewed Yale sources.
Online / institution
Online courses from regionally accredited institutions accepted; courses may be taken at multiple accredited institutions, including community/junior colleges; audited courses not accepted
Application completion
Page introduction says prerequisites must be completed before application; detailed guideline allows at most one in-progress course by application, due Dec 31 with B or better. Follow exception carefully and verify cycle-specific rule.
Equivalency
Course topic lists are content standards; manual review required. Do not auto-confirm title-only equivalency.

All course choices and content matches stay in manual review. The published course page specifies content and credit ranges, not a blanket prerequisite grade floor. A maximum of one course may be in progress at application; it must be completed by December 31 with grade B or better. AP credit does not satisfy prerequisite coursework; CLEP is not addressed in the reviewed official pages.

Yale PA Program academic prerequisites Current course categories, content, semester/credit ranges, lab guidance, online/expiration rules · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineSep 1, 2026 · Passed

Current published deadline; confirm the required CASPA processing status for this cycle.

2026–2027
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–27 published annual rates; planning estimate
Resident tuitionApproximately $126,343 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $126,343 projected full-program tuition

$54,147 Year 1 + $54,147 Year 2 + $18,049 final term · Planning estimate using published 2026–27 PA1/PA2/PA3 tuition rates ($54,147 + $54,147 + $18,049). Future entering-cohort rates may change. Published activity, technology, and health fees total $5,775 ($132,118 tuition plus these listed fees at current rates). Hospitalization coverage and living, travel, and personal expenses are separate.

Required program fees$5,775
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$132,118

Basis: $54,147 Year 1 + $54,147 Year 2 + $18,049 final term · current-rate projection · medium confidence

Planning estimate based on published PA1, PA2, and PA3 tuition rates for 2026–27: $54,147 + $54,147 + $18,049 = $126,343 tuition. Published activity, technology, and health fees total $5,775 ($132,118 tuition plus these fees at current rates). Future entering-cohort rates may change. Hospitalization coverage and living, travel, and personal costs are separate.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic instruction

Lectures and small-group learning develop medical knowledge and clinical reasoning.

0216 months

Clinical and capstone training

Clinical clerkships and capstone work develop practice skills and individual scholarly interests.

The campus Physician Associate MMSc route lasts 28 months. Capstone work spans both phases with protected project time; this is distinct from Yale’s online program.

Yale University Physician Associate Program official curriculum Current program page; cohort year not specified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 1975
Next reviewJuly 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.