Address & Contact

Our Address

School of Medicine301 University Boulevard Galveston TX

GPS

29.309342042298745, -94.78024711428833

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Texas – Medical Branch at Galveston Physician Assistant Program

Galveston, Texas · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Resident $41,764 (estimate)Nonresident $90,948 (estimate)
Fees not published
2026–2027 rates projected over 106 required credits
Class size 99 students
Program length 26 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Casper required · confirm other tests
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo direct patient-care or shadowing minimum is published; experience is considered holistically.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
PANCE pass rate 87%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 89%
U.S. News PA rank #35 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 26-month Galveston PA program with July matriculation, required Casper assessment, and no published patient-care minimum.

On campus26 months99 students

Mission & approach

To develop and graduate academically and clinically exceptional physician assistants.

UTMB Physician Assistant Program at UTMB Health Clinics in Galveston
UTMB Health Clinics, home of the University of Texas Medical Branch Physician Assistant Program office. Source: UTMB.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review by PA faculty committee: overall & science GPA, prerequisite coursework, graduate coursework, reference letters, personal statement, Casper, personal qualifications. Goal: 20%+ pool from underrepresented/first-gen/military/economically disadvantaged/medically underserved backgrounds.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusMMI

A modified MMI: four separate six-minute one-on-one interviews, with two minutes to read a scenario before each one. Held in person on the UTMB campus, usually on Fridays, September through December. The program strongly discourages rescheduling.

Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRECasper required · confirm other tests
Patient careNo required minimumNo direct patient-care or shadowing minimum is published; experience is considered holistically.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to the published credential, prerequisite, and institutional requirements.
English proficiencyConfirm with programA PA-specific English-proficiency threshold is not published. Check with the program.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Microbiology or Bacteriology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Biochemistry3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Genetics3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Human Anatomy with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Human Physiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Organic Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Behavioral Sciences3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
Statistics3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
Medical Terminology1Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC

Policies that can change your plan

29 semester credits total. Prerequisites must be completed within ten years of the September 1 application deadline. Science coursework must be designated for science majors. Regionally accredited U.S. coursework, including online or distance learning, is accepted. No examination, AP/IB or Pass/Fail credit counts toward prerequisites. Planned coursework is checked after acceptance. Spring coursework must be completed before matriculation; no number of courses in progress is specified.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite credits complete no later than the end of Spring in the matriculation year.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-09-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.

Program startsJuly 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 rates projected over 106 required credits
Resident tuition$41,764 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$90,948 projected full-program tuition

$858 credit × 106 required credits · Projected full-program tuition at current rates; fees and living costs are separate, and rates may change.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Tuition per credit: resident $50 + $275 + $59 + $10 = $394; nonresident $455 + $393 + $10 = $858. The curriculum is 106 credits (108 with the optional Global Health course). Estimated tuition is $41,764 (resident) / $90,948 (nonresident). Older figures of $40,704 / $89,888 are outdated, and combined totals of $54,905 / $104,090 from prior cost sources do not match current rates. Check with the program for current required fees.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Approximately 12 months

Preclinical education

Primarily in-person medical sciences and clinical preparation, with occasional online or asynchronous sessions.

02Approximately 14 months

Clinical education and completion

Twelve four-week rotations, professional practice and investigative coursework; behavioral health may primarily use telemedicine.

26-month July-entry degree plan: 106 credits, or 108 with the Global Health elective. The program provides clinical sites; students budget for placements away from campus.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Accepted students over the last five years (exact years not specified)

Published class statistics
Average Cumulative GPA3.70
Average Science GPA3.63
Patient Contact Hours—Class Mean1,995

Accepted students averaged 1,056 hours of health care experience across the multiyear profile.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Accepted students over the last five years (exact years not specified)3.70Average Cumulative GPA3.63Average Science GPA1,995Patient Contact Hours—Class Mean

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 87%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 89%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedFebruary 1973
Next reviewOctober 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.