Address & Contact

Our Address

MGH Institute of Health Professions 36 1st Avenue Charlestown Navy Yard Boston, MA 2129

GPS

42.3750101630073, -71.05424238418536

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Mass General Brigham University of Health Professions Physician Assistant Program

Boston, Massachusetts · Masters

Application deadline Date not publishedSeptember 1, 2026 verified deadline has passed; confirm the next cycle. Applications are reviewed as submitted.
Tuition Resident: Confirm with programNonresident: Confirm with program · Published prior-cohort tuition only; $14,827 listed fees and other assessed charges are separate.
Class size 50 studentsCurrent PAEA Program Directory cohort size; verified September 22, 2026.
Program length 25 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredThe current official MPAS requirements do not require the GRE.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 hoursHands-on hours are required at application. Volunteer exceptions are case by case; observation does not count.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum overall GPA is 3.0.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedCurrent MPAS page does not state a separate science GPA minimum; PAEA lists 3.0 science and 2.7 prerequisite GPA.
Recommendations 3 requiredThree recommendations must be submitted through CASPA.
International applicants ConditionalA recognized international-equivalent bachelor degree requires course-by-course evaluation; MPAS is listed among programs accepting F-1 students. Accepted with conditions and F-1 eligible.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalTOEFL or IELTS. When no qualifying English-taught degree or country waiver applies, the published minimum is TOEFL iBT 89 or IELTS 6.5 within two years.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 89% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #119 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

Prepare PA graduates to provide highly competent medical care as members and leaders of interprofessional teams, cultivating compassion, equity, and justice; emphasis on health equity, social determinants of health, and local underserved and global service.

Catherine Filene Shouse Building at MGH Institute of Health Professions, home of Physician Assistant Studies
Catherine Filene Shouse Building at MGH Institute of Health Professions, home of Physician Assistant Studies
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Mass General Brigham University of Health Professions a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Minimum overall GPA 3.0; B- or higher in prerequisites. A B or higher in organic chemistry or biochemistry receives additional consideration. Applications are reviewed as submitted.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredThe current official MPAS requirements do not require the GRE.
Patient care1,000 paid direct-patient-care hours requiredHands-on hours are required at application. Volunteer exceptions are case by case; observation does not count.
Overall GPA3.0 minimumMinimum overall GPA is 3.0.
Science GPAConfirm with programCurrent MPAS page does not state a separate science GPA minimum; PAEA lists 3.0 science and 2.7 prerequisite GPA.
Recommendations3 requiredThree recommendations must be submitted through CASPA.
International applicantsAccepted with conditions and F-1 eligibleA recognized international-equivalent bachelor degree requires course-by-course evaluation; MPAS is listed among programs accepting F-1 students.
English proficiencyConditional TOEFL or IELTSWhen no qualifying English-taught degree or country waiver applies, the published minimum is TOEFL iBT 89 or IELTS 6.5 within two years.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology with labs: Anatomy lecture and lab + Physiology lecture and lab OR Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Anatomy lecture and lab1 course(s)

Separate anatomy/physiology route.

4Semester creditsRequiredB-Sign in to plan
Physiology lecture and lab1 course(s)

Separate anatomy/physiology route.

4Semester creditsRequiredB-Sign in to plan
Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Two 4-credit courses with lecture and lab.

8Semester creditsRequiredB-Sign in to plan
Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Listed acceptable subjects include general biology, cell/molecular biology, evolution, and biochemistry; equivalency reviewed.

4Semester creditsRequiredB-Sign in to plan
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Medical microbiology or infectious-disease course examples may be accepted.

4Semester creditsRequiredB-Sign in to plan
Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Acceptable examples include general chemistry, organic I/II, biochemistry, or chemical structures/reactions. Confirm course pairing.

8Semester creditsRequiredB-Sign in to plan
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

General, developmental, abnormal, social, behavioral neuroscience and other examples listed.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedB-Sign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Statistics, biostatistics or approved research-methods examples.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedB-Sign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Listed acceptable biology/chemistry subject examples need program course-equivalency review. Chemistry does not mean general chemistry only; combined and separate A&P routes both accepted. Organic chemistry or biochemistry grade B or higher receives additional consideration.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDate not published

September 1, 2026 verified deadline has passed; confirm the next cycle. Applications are reviewed as submitted.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Fall 2026 entering-cohort published tuition; Fall 2027 cohort unpriced
Resident tuitionConfirm with program
Nonresident tuitionConfirm with program

Published prior-cohort tuition only; $14,827 listed fees and other assessed charges are separate.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

$129,000 full-program tuition was published for Fall 2026 entrants. Listed fees are $7,425 general, $4,950 technology, and $2,452 PA-specific ($14,827 listed); $143,827 is a partial tuition-plus-listed-fees subtotal. Other clinical, health, and matriculation charges make the full billed total unconfirmed. Fall 2027 tuition is not published.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Integrated first year

Team-based, system-based medical and patient-care instruction combines independent study, hands-on learning and early clinical experiences.

0213 months

Clinical clerkships

Five-week clerkships cover seven core medical disciplines and two electives. Assignments draw on Mass General Brigham affiliates and other clinical partners; ordering depends on site availability and student needs.

The Boston onsite MPAS is full-time and 25 months. The program arranges clerkships and preceptors; students are not required to arrange their own placements.

Mass General Brigham University of Health Professions official curriculum Current program page; publication year not stated · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2025; entering class size and average HCE

Published class statistics
Overall/cumulative GPA — not recorded for this profileNot recorded
Science-related GPA — not recorded for this profileNot recorded
Mean health-care experience (HCE) hours6,777

The Class of 2025 is the published graduating-cohort label; the size of 50 describes its entering class. Average health-care experience is 6,777 hours, a measure distinct from direct patient care. The separately reported eight-year health-care-experience average is 6,267 hours. Overall and science GPA means were not verified on the reviewed current page.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 2025; entering class size and average HCENot recordedOverall/cumulative GPA — not recorded for this profileNot recordedScience-related GPA — not recorded for this profile6,777Mean health-care experience (HCE) hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Mass General Brigham University of Health Professions official source-qualified class profile Class of 2025; entering class size and average HCE · Checked 2026-09-26
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 89%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedSeptember 6, 2014
Next reviewJuly 2029

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.