University of Bridgeport Physician Assistant Program
Bridgeport, Connecticut · Masters
Tuition + fees $122,735
2026–27 full-time term rate, projected over seven terms
A closer look
A 28-month, 113-credit Connecticut PA program with a 40-student class and 1,000 direct patient-care hours required at submission.
Mission & approach
The mission of the University of Bridgeport Physician Assistant Institute is to prepare future PAs with the knowledge and skills to provide culturally sensitive, patient-centered care and foster life-long learning and professionalism, emphasizing commitments to diversity, global perspective, and integrative approach benefiting all patients. This mission is reflected in our motto: Adiuvare, Mederi, Communiter; TO HELP, TO HEAL, TOGETHER.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Cumulative & science GPA above minimums; rigorous prereq record; resilience; mission alignment; understanding of PA profession; self-awareness; teamwork/interpersonal skills; strong references; high-quality PCE exceeding minimum.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
How this program interviews
In-person interviews for the most qualified candidates are conducted between June and August. The specific interview format is not published on the site.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester creditsReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Anatomy and physiology with labs: Human/mammalian anatomy with lab + Human/mammalian physiology with lab OR Combined Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs
- Organic chemistry or biochemistry: Organic chemistry OR Biochemistry
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
Biology with lab1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne biology course with lab; nonoverlapping upper-level biology with lab may substitute. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
General/inorganic chemistry with labs2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesEight semester credits; nonoverlapping upper-level chemistry courses with labs may substitute. | 8Semester credits | Required | C |
| Human/mammalian anatomy with lab1 course(s) Part of the 8-credit A&P requirement; use separate anatomy plus physiology OR combined A&P I and II. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
| Human/mammalian physiology with lab1 course(s) Part of the 8-credit A&P requirement; use separate physiology plus anatomy OR combined A&P I and II. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
| Combined Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s) Alternative two-course sequence totaling 8 credits, human or mammalian. | 8Semester credits | Required | C |
Microbiology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesLab not required; additional to the other biology requirement. | 3Semester credits | Not required | C |
| Organic chemistry1 course(s) One organic chemistry OR biochemistry course; additional to the general chemistry requirement. | 3Semester credits | Not required | C |
| Biochemistry1 course(s) One biochemistry OR organic chemistry course; additional to general chemistry. | 3Semester credits | Not required | C |
Psychology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesAP score 4 or 5 may satisfy; 15-year recency window. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
Statistics1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesAP score 4 or 5 may satisfy; 15-year recency window. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
Policies that can change your plan
The program decides which courses count as equivalent. One course cannot count toward both of the non-overlapping groups (biology/microbiology and chemistry/organic-biochemistry). Science prerequisites must be within ten years; psychology and statistics may be within fifteen years.
Dates & application steps
CASPA application must be verified by August 1 for January matriculation.
The program starts in January. The exact day and entering year are not published; 2027 is an estimate based on this application cycle.
Any pending prerequisites must be finished by December 20 before the January start. For the class starting January 2027.
Know what the total includes
Projected cost estimate
2026–27 full-time term rate, projected over seven terms$16,030 term × 7 documented semesters · Tuition only; seven-term estimate at current rates; later rates may change.
Tuition only: $112,210, projected from the current full-time rate of $16,030 per term over seven terms. Later rates and variable course fees can change. The university lists $122,735 for tuition and fees combined, so $10,525 of that is fees. Estimated living and other costs and waivable insurance are not included.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Classroom and laboratory instruction integrates basic/behavioral science, medicine and research.
Clinical education
Nine five-week clerkships include seven core experiences, an elective and a special-population selective, with capstone work.
The Bridgeport program spans 28 months. Faculty obtain sites; core assignments may be up to 75 miles away and cross state lines, while selectives may be farther.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 98%
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- PAEA program-provided directory: standardized tests None
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- Program program page
- Current PA admissions and course requirements
- Current seven-term PA curriculum
- Program program page
- Current PA full-time per-term tuition and combined cost
- University of Bridgeport curriculum and clinical training
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
