Address & Contact

Our Address

LSUHSC PA Program 1501 Kings Highway PO Box 33932 Shreveport, LA 71130

GPS

32.480598, -93.760668

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Shreveport Physician Assistant Program

Shreveport, Louisiana · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Resident $42,907Nonresident $72,869
Tuition + fees $42,907 / $72,869 nonresident
Full-program tuition and fees
Class size 40 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE required within 5 years. No minimum score. Heavily weighted and not superscored.
Patient-care minimum 80 combined care/healthcare hoursA minimum of 80 hours in qualifying patient-care or healthcare experience is required before the deadline; this is not an 80-hour direct-care-only rule.
Overall GPA minimum 3.0 resident / 3.5 nonresidentThe overall GPA threshold is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants. See Requirements.
Science GPA minimum 3.0 resident / 3.5 nonresidentThe science GPA threshold is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants. See Requirements.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 98%
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

To provide a primary-care curriculum to prepare competent, professionally engaged Physician Assistants to provide health care for Louisiana citizens.

Program campus
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Two-stage point system. Stage 1: science GPA, cumulative GPA, last-60-hours GPA, GRE (heavily weighted). Stage 2: healthcare experience (direct patient care weighted more heavily), volunteer/shadowing hours, life experience, certifications, LOR quality, plus adversity points (first-generation, low income, disadvantaged). Strong in-state preference: program strives for ~90% Louisiana residents (out-of-state must meet 3.5 GPA bar). Top ~125 invited to interview (MMI + faculty).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

MMI + Individual

LSU Health Shreveport's interview day includes a Behavioral Aptitude Test, Multiple Mini Interviews, one-on-one interviews with faculty, and a student tour and Q&A, but the page does not state whether these occur on campus or virtually.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE required within 5 years. No minimum score. Heavily weighted and not superscored.
Patient care80 patient-care or healthcare hoursA minimum of 80 hours in qualifying patient-care or healthcare experience is required before the deadline; this is not an 80-hour direct-care-only rule.
Overall GPA3.0 Louisiana / 3.5 out of stateMinimum CASPA cumulative GPA is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants.
Science GPA3.0 Louisiana / 3.5 out of stateMinimum CASPA science GPA is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants.
Recommendations3 letters. Professors, advisors, employers and clinicians are recommended; family, celebrity and political references are not appropriate.
International applicantsConfirm with programThe program requires a bachelor's degree from a U.S. regionally accredited institution, but citizenship and visa eligibility are not clearly published. Check with the program whether noncitizens and visa holders may enroll.
English proficiencyConfirm with programNo PA-specific English/TOEFL rule was verified.
Overall GPA exception pathway

The overall GPA threshold is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants.

Science GPA policy & alternatives

The science GPA threshold is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester hours

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human or comparative Anatomy with lab + General or Human Physiology OR A&P I and A&P II sequence with both labs
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human or comparative Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

One anatomy course, 4 semester hours. The A&P I and II sequence with both labs is an alternate complete A&P route totaling 8 hours.

4Semester hoursRequiredC
General or Human Physiology1 course(s)

One physiology course, 3 semester hours. A standalone physiology lab requirement is not stated, so a lab should not be assumed. An alternative A&P sequence is listed separately.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC
A&P I and A&P II sequence with both labs2 course(s)

Alternative route for anatomy and physiology: both A&P courses and both labs must be completed. If from different schools, CASPA must show that the combined coursework covers required material.

8Semester hoursRequiredC
Sophomore-level or higher Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course, 4 semester hours; course must be at least sophomore-level (200/2000).

4Semester hoursRequiredC
General, Inorganic, or Organic Chemistry with labs
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester hours total across acceptable chemistry coursework. The number of courses and a fixed sequence are not specified. Chemistry labs are required.

8Semester hoursRequiredC
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One 3-hour course with a BIO, PSYCH, MATH, or STAT course prefix or number.

3Semester hoursNot requiredC
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

2 semester hours accepted; 3 recommended. Letter grade C or better.

2Semester hoursNot requiredC
Junior/senior-level Biology electives
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester hours at 300/400 or 3000/4000 level; Biology I/II do not count. Biochemistry can count, Organic Chemistry cannot. Each course may satisfy only one category; excludes seminars, special-topic/research courses and courses from professional programs.

8Semester hoursNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Biology electives
Eight upper-level science hours are required; introductory Biology I/II do not count, and organic chemistry cannot substitute. Do not double-count courses across areas.
Cycle
The August 1, 2026 deadline has passed; confirm next-cycle dates before you plan.

For the 2026–27 cycle, each course needs a C or better. Most coursework should be finished or in progress by the August 1, 2026 deadline, and all courses must be done by matriculation. Science courses must be for science majors, and one course cannot count toward more than one category. There is no age cutoff, but courses within 10 years are recommended.

When courses must be complete: All courses completed by first day of PA classes; majority completed or in progress by application deadline.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The August 1, 2026 verified CASPA deadline for May 2027 entry has passed. The next cycle's date is not published. Confirm with the program.

Past published deadlineAug 1, 2026 · Passed

The published 2026 deadline has passed.

Published date
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Full-program tuition and fees
Resident tuition$42,906.93 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$72,869.04 published full-program tuition

Current published rates; future terms may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$42,906.93

LSU Health Shreveport lists full-program tuition and fees of $42,906.93 for Louisiana residents and $72,869.04 for nonresidents. A separate $93,065 cost-of-living estimate is not included in tuition.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First year

Didactic study

Anatomy, physiology, patient evaluation, diagnostics, clinical medicine, pharmacology, reasoning, and professional practice begin in Summer I.

02Second year

Clinical externships

Clinical placements include primary care, women’s health, pediatrics, emergency medicine, surgery, psychiatry, radiology, wellness, and electives, alongside research and seminars.

03Summer of Year 3

Preceptorship and master’s project

A capstone clinical preceptorship and the completed master’s project integrate prior study and clinical experience.

The full-time Shreveport program requires 100 credits over 27 months. The program arranges sites throughout Louisiana, primarily in the north; selected partner-hospital rotations provide housing.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class 2028

Published class statistics
Mean Undergraduate cumulative GPA3.70
Mean Science GPA3.64
Mean combined patient-care, health-care and shadowing hours1,530

Class averages: undergraduate cumulative GPA 3.70 and CASPA science GPA 3.64; the last-60-credit GPA is 3.74. The 1,530-hour experience average combines patient care, healthcare and shadowing.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class 20283.70Mean Undergraduate cumulative GPA3.64Mean Science GPA1,530Mean combined patient-care, health-care and shadowing hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedApril 1996
Next reviewOctober 2026
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.