Address & Contact

Our Address

Saint Catherine University 2004 Randolph Avenue #4027 Saint Paul, MN 55105

GPS

44.92487761118301, -93.18141095421574

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Saint Catherine University Physician Assistant Program

Saint Paul, Minnesota · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $109,487 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $109,487 projected full-program tuition · Resident full-program tuition only; sum of published year amounts; future rates may change; 2026–2027 COA, seven terms across three program years
Class size 32 studentsCurrent published entering-class target
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programThe cycle-specific Fall 2027 admissions page says GRE not required; the current 2026-27 catalog says official GRE results are required. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Patient-care minimum Confirm with programThe Fall 2027 page requires 2,000 broad health/wellness/patient-care hours; the 2026-27 catalog says 1,000 are strongly encouraged. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Overall GPA minimum 3.20Published minimum.
Science GPA minimum No separate science minimum publishedPrerequisite GPA minimum is 3.0.
Recommendations 2 required; at least one healthcare referenceThe other may be a professor or employer.
International applicants ConditionalForeign transcript evaluation and international financial/visa documents are required. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalTOEFL 550 paper or 80 iBT when applicable. Waived for a U.S. bachelor's or graduate degree.
PANCE pass rate 93%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 97% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #135 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

The Master of Physician Assistant Studies (MPAS) program at St. Catherine University provides the building blocks of critical thinking by incorporating medical decision-making, ethical considerations, and principles of team-based practice into every course. Our innovative curriculum begins with 14 months in the classroom engaging in progressive, rich discussion—one that includes a global perspective—and hands-on experiences alongside experts in clinical settings. Next is 14 months of clinical clerkships (2,000 hours at a clinical location) before concluding with a senior seminar. Students who complete the program will be prepared to take the National Certification Examination required for licensure and clinical practice, and will demonstrate: Critical thinking, clinical reasoning, and m

28-month programOfficial sources conflict; confirm with programOfficial sources conflict; confirm with program
Whitby Hall at St. Catherine University, a shared health-programs facility
Whitby Hall, an official shared health-programs facility on St. Catherine University's campus.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Saint Catherine University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review emphasizing academic preparation (rigorous science coursework, prereq GPA), clinical skills/experience (min 2,000 PCE hours, paid or volunteer; shadowing not required), personal attributes & leadership (integrity, maturity, empathy), and a purposeful writing sample. 2 LORs (>=1 from a healthcare provider). St. Kate bachelor-degree holders given priority. Fall 2024: 407 applicants, class 32, avg overall GPA 3.64. (stkate.edu MPAS application instructions)

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

St. Catherine invites selected qualified applicants to a personal interview held in early fall. The program's website does not publish the interview's format (individual, panel, or group) or whether it is held virtually or on campus.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRE / other testsOfficial sources conflict; confirm with programThe cycle-specific Fall 2027 admissions page says GRE not required; the current 2026-27 catalog says official GRE results are required.
Patient careOfficial sources conflict; confirm with programThe Fall 2027 page requires 2,000 broad health/wellness/patient-care hours; the 2026-27 catalog says 1,000 are strongly encouraged.
Overall GPA3.20
Science GPANo separate science minimum publishedPrerequisite GPA minimum is 3.0.
Recommendations2 required; at least one healthcare referenceThe other may be a professor or employer.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsForeign transcript evaluation and international financial/visa documents are required.
English proficiencyConditionalTOEFL 550 paper or 80 iBT when applicable. Waived for a U.S. bachelor's or graduate degree.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits; medical terminology course count only

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Lifespan/developmental or abnormal psychology: Lifespan Developmental Psychology OR Understanding Psychological Disorders (Abnormal Psychology)
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human or Vertebrate Anatomy
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits. Human anatomy is preferred; mammalian/vertebrate or comparative anatomy also considered if taken through listed departments.

4Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human or Vertebrate Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits. Human physiology preferred; mammalian physiology also considered.

4Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry sequence with lab2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester credits with lab; science/health-science-major sequence preferred.

8Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyRequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits; must be within ten calendar years before intended enrollment.

3Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits; must be within ten calendar years before intended enrollment.

3Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Pre-Calculus or higher
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits; course must be at pre-calculus or higher level.

3Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits; course content must include reliability, validity, experimental control/design, statistical inference and comparison of means, correlation and regression.

3Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
General Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits.

3Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Lifespan Developmental Psychology

3–4 semester credits; course must cover birth through late adulthood. Multiple courses may be combined if needed.

3Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Understanding Psychological Disorders (Abnormal Psychology)

3–4 semester credits; alternative to Lifespan Developmental Psychology.

3Semester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

One course required; credit minimum not published.

Not publishedSemester credits; medical terminology course count onlyNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
C
Course age
10
AP / CLEP (combined catalog field)
Yes
Grades/GPA
C or higher per prerequisite; minimum cumulative GPA 3.2. The page describes a cumulative prerequisite GPA but does not publish a separate minimum prerequisite-GPA threshold.
Course age
Biochemistry and Microbiology must be within 10 years; all other prerequisite fields have a 10-year recommendation, not a hard cutoff.
Medical terminology
One course required; the page does not publish credits. Allowed as summer pre-enrollment work outside the 4-credit cap.
Cycle
Fall 2027 application is closed per current admissions page.

Current admissions page says Fall 2027 application is closed. Courses require C or higher; cumulative GPA at least 3.2. Biochemistry and Microbiology have a hard 10-year limit; other prerequisites are strongly recommended (not required) to be within ten years. At application, no more than three courses may be in progress/not yet taken; before fall enrollment, summer may include at most 4 semester/5 quarter credits plus medical terminology, with all other coursework completed by end of winter/spring. Online courses considered; face-to-face labs encouraged. AP accepted only for Pre-Calculus, Statistics, General Psychology. Spring 2020–Summer 2021 P/F exception is limited to at most one-third of prerequisite courses.

St. Catherine University MPAS admissions instructions Fall 2027 application page; currently closed · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Program startsSeptember 2027

Published entering month; confirm the exact orientation date.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 COA, seven terms across three program years
Resident tuitionApproximately $109,487 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $109,487 projected full-program tuition

$46,923 Year 1 + $46,923 Year 2 + $15,641 final term · Nonresident full-program tuition only; sum of published year amounts; future rates may change; 2026–2027 COA, seven terms across three program years

Required program fees$2,310
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$111,797

Basis: $46,923 Year 1 + $46,923 Year 2 + $15,641 final term · current-rate projection · high confidence

Public tuition correct. $2,800 books/materials/equipment allowance belongs under other. Existing comparison114597 includes that allowance. Nonresident same private rate; add missing nonresident display.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0114 months

Didactic instruction

Integrated organ-system coursework, clinical skills and evidence-based medicine.

0214 months

Clinical education

Core rotations, two electives and two senior clerkships lead to a senior seminar, portfolio and certification preparation.

28-month, 110-credit curriculum from fall entry through December graduation. The program aims for more than 2,000 clinical hours.

Saint Catherine University official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPA3.64
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 93%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Probation
First accreditedMarch 6, 2012
Next reviewOctober 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.