Address & Contact

Our Address

1720 2nd Avenue South Birmingham, Alabama 35294

GPS

33.509808307362, -86.80682079245504

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Alabama at Birmingham Physician Assistant Program

Birmingham, Alabama · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $74,290 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $183,540 projected full-program tuition · Projected full-program tuition only at current rates; future rates may change
Class size 60 studentsRecent entering cohort; ARC-PA maximum is 80 and is not the current entering-class count.
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE scores are required; the program publishes no numeric minimum.
Patient-care minimum No numeric minimumDirect or indirect healthcare-setting experience is preferred and scored, but the program publishes no required hour minimum.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum overall science GPA is 3.00; prerequisite GPA must also be at least 3.00.
Recommendations 3 lettersThree recommendations are required; the current admissions page does not mandate evaluator roles.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply under UAB's graduate rules, but program prerequisites must be completed at a U.S.-accredited institution.
English proficiency / TOEFL TOEFL 80 or equivalentUnless exempt, university minima include TOEFL 80, TOEFL Essentials 8.5, IELTS 6.5, PTE Academic 56, IELA 176, or Duolingo 120.
PANCE pass rate 96%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 95% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #21 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Birmingham PA program with a recent 60-student cohort and healthcare-setting experience preferred but no numeric hour minimum.

On campus27 months60 students
Mission & approach

The Mission of the PA program is to attract and train culturally diverse individuals with the knowledge, skills, and judgment needed to provide competent and compassionate healthcare to all. The program faculty and students are champions of diversity and inclusivity, and our commitment to these values are at the core of who we are.

University of Alabama at Birmingham Physician Assistant Program at the School of Health Professions Building
UAB School of Health Professions Building, home of the Physician Assistant Program. Source: UAB.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Alabama at Birmingham a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Rubric-scored at CASPA/supplemental review and interview: academics (GPAs, grades, GRE percentiles, prereq completion), clinical experience (HCE preferred not required — hours/duration/scope; leadership, PA shadow), personal statement, 3 LORs, supplemental/mission. Min 3.0 cum/sci/prereq GPA (C+ each); GRE required. Favored: AL residents, UAB alumni, veterans, first-gen, underserved/rural-committed. Avg 3.7/3.6 GPA, ~3,225 PCE hrs.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

How this program interviews

Interviews are held in November with decisions finalized in December. The program assesses candidates against program-specific rubrics at both application review and interview, though the rubrics themselves are not published. Notably, applicants who are not admitted can request interview feedback until April 1 each year.

Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE scores are required; the program publishes no numeric minimum.
Patient careNo numeric minimumDirect or indirect healthcare-setting experience is preferred and scored, but the program publishes no required hour minimum.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum overall science GPA is 3.00; prerequisite GPA must also be at least 3.00.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required; the current admissions page does not mandate evaluator roles.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply under UAB's graduate rules, but program prerequisites must be completed at a U.S.-accredited institution.
English proficiencyTOEFL 80 or equivalentUnless exempt, university minima include TOEFL 80, TOEFL Essentials 8.5, IELTS 6.5, PTE Academic 56, IELA 176, or Duolingo 120.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Developmental or Abnormal Psychology: Developmental Psychology OR Abnormal Psychology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Biology for science majors2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

6-8 credits; two-course block.

6Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

3-4 credits; lab preferred.

3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human Anatomy
Course notes & alternatives

3-4 credits.

3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

3-4 credits.

3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
General Chemistry2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

8-9 credits; labs preferred.

8Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

3-4 credits.

3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
General Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Developmental Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Abnormal Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

2-3 credits.

2Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Psychology pair
General Psychology plus Developmental or Abnormal Psychology.

Psychology requires General plus Developmental or Abnormal, six credits total. Prerequisites must be completed at a regionally accredited U.S. institution. Labs are preferred in Microbiology and General Chemistry, not published as required.

University of Alabama at Birmingham official PA admissions requirements Current published PA program page · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Program startsAugust 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–27 full-program tuition and required fees at current published rates
Resident tuitionApproximately $74,290 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $183,540 projected full-program tuition

$1,596 credit × 115 required credits · Projected full-program tuition only at current rates; future rates may change

Required program fees$3,496
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$77,786

Basis: $646 credit × 115 required credits · current-rate projection · medium confidence

Current university graduate Health Professions rates verified. 115-credit program scope and fee subtotal reused from supplied verified detail/canonical; fees include $1549 parking. Extra equipment/compliance $1372–1647 remains separate. Arithmetic: 646 × 115 =74290; 1596 ×115 =183540; +3496 fees. Living costs and ordinary transportation are excluded.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic education

UAB-campus medical science, clinical and surgical coursework build readiness for practice.

023 semesters

Clinical education

Eleven four-week rotations comprise seven core and four elective experiences, with senior seminars and research presentation.

The Birmingham curriculum integrates general medicine and surgical training. Rotation sequence follows the program’s required course progression.

University of Alabama at Birmingham official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; entering-cohort schedule should be confirmed · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Enrolled cohort 2025–2027

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.70
Science GPA3.60
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The source labels the enrolled cohort 2025–2027; the first year is not treated as a graduation year.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Enrolled cohort 2025–20273.703.60Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Enrolled cohort 2025–2027
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 95%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 1975
Next reviewApril 2034

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.