Xavier University of Louisiana Physician Assistant Program
New Orleans, Louisiana · Masters
Tuition + fees $106,538
Published program total for tuition plus fees
Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
A closer look
A New Orleans PA program centered on primary care, community service, and preparation to serve diverse and underserved populations.
Mission & approach
To educate physician assistants to become ethical, competent, and compassionate physician assistants who are dedicated to providing superior quality healthcare that contributes to the promotion of a more just and humane society by improving the healthcare of the diverse communities we serve.

Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
CASPA application, academic performance (GPA & GRE V/Q min 290, AW min 3; competitive V150/Q150/AW3.0), LORs, healthcare experience, personal statement, in-person interview if invited. HBCU; Ochsner partnership.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
Xavier's PA program page confirms interviews begin in late summer through early fall and are conducted in person, with all invited applicants required to complete the CASPER Test beforehand, but the page does not describe whether the interview follows an MMI, panel, or individual format.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester credits unless notedReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Biology: General Biology I and II with labs (8 credits), or General Biology I with lab + upper-level Biology (7–8 credits): General Biology I with lab + General Biology II with lab OR General Biology I with lab + Upper-level Biology alternative
- Organic Chemistry II or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry II OR Biochemistry
- Math: Pre-Calculus or Calculus (3 credits), or Trigonometry + Algebra (6 credits total): Pre-Calculus OR Calculus OR College Trigonometry + College Algebra
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| General Biology I with lab The Biology I plus Biology II route totals 8 credits, and the Biology I plus upper-level Biology route totals 7–8 credits. The credits for each individual course are not stated. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | C |
| General Biology II with lab Biology I plus Biology II totals 8 credits. The credits for each individual course are not stated. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | C |
| Upper-level Biology alternative Biology I plus upper-level Biology totals 7–8 credits. The credit and lab requirement for the upper-level course is not stated separately. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s) | 8Semester credits unless noted | Required | C |
Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesCombined sequence accepted; seven-credit combined course may be considered individually following syllabus approval. | 8Semester credits unless noted | Required | C |
| Organic Chemistry I with lab | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | C |
| Organic Chemistry II 3 or 4 credits; minimum three semester hours or equivalent quarter hours. | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| Biochemistry 3 or 4 credits; minimum three semester hours or equivalent quarter hours. | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
Microbiology with labCourse notes & alternativesMolecular Biology, Cell Biology or Bacteriology alone do not satisfy. | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | C |
| Genetics | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| English Composition | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| General Psychology | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| Statistics | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| Pre-Calculus | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| Calculus | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| College Trigonometry The Trigonometry + Algebra route requires 6 credits combined. The credits for each individual course are not stated. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| College Algebra The Trigonometry + Algebra route requires 6 credits combined. The credits for each individual course are not stated. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
| Sociology | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
Medical TerminologyCourse notes & alternatives1–3 credits. Accredited college credit is required; test-out and experiential or certification substitutions are not accepted. | 1Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Variable course credits
- Credit ranges are shown in the notes. Confirm equivalency and how courses are counted with the school.
No prerequisite expiration. Science prerequisites must be for science majors. Online lectures from accredited institutions accepted; online labs not accepted. Upper-level Biology electives (3–8 credits) strongly recommended; Medical Ethics recommended, neither added as mandatory.
When courses must be complete: All prerequisites and undergraduate degree completed and verified by CASPA by August 1 deadline.
Dates & application steps
The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-08-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Published program total for tuition plus feesPublished nonresident full-program tuition
Xavier's published program total of $106,538 covers tuition plus institutional and program fees. Textbooks and other program costs are extra.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic instruction
Consecutive foundational and clinical-science instruction prepares students for supervised practice.
Clinical training
Clinical education takes place within Ochsner Health settings.
The program is a 28-month sequence in New Orleans. Clinical training takes place within Ochsner Health settings. The number of rotations is not published.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 92%
No 5-year average yet - only FOUR graduating cohorts (2022-2025); 89% first-time across them (128/144)
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet
Five-year first-time results are not yet available.
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- Program contact page
- Xavier University of Louisiana curriculum
- Xavier University of Louisiana program page
- Xavier University of Louisiana PA coursework requirements
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
