Address & Contact

Our Address

515 N Main St, Wingate, NC 28174, United States

GPS

34.988700534584126, -80.44827600305504

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Wingate University Physician Assistant Program

Wingate, North Carolina · Master of Physician Assistant Studies

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Verified
Tuition Resident: $104,188 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $104,188 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 60 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredTake the GRE within five years of anticipated enrollment. No minimum is published; scores at or above the 50th percentile in each section are considered competitive.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours minimumAt least 500 hours of direct patient-contact clinical experience are required. Compensated clinical work is strongly valued.
Overall GPA minimum Not publishedThe program does not publish a general cumulative GPA cutoff in the accepted current sources. A 3.2 rule applies to named prerequisite courses, not the CASPA cumulative GPA.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedThe program does not publish a general CASPA science-GPA cutoff in the accepted current sources.
Recommendations 2 required · 3+ preferredOne required letter must be from an MD, DO, PA, or NP; the other from a professor or academic advisor. Family friends and personal medical providers are not accepted.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants are considered subject to the program’s degree, coursework, and documentation requirements. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL RequiredConditional. TOEFL iBT is required when English is not the applicant’s first language or Advanced English proficiency is not reported in CASPA.
PANCE pass rate 95%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 97% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month PA program with Wingate and Hendersonville campuses and an emphasis on direct patient care, service, and team-based practice.

On campus27 months60 students
Mission & approach

Prepare knowledgeable, compassionate physician assistants through patient-centered education, service, and clinical training.

Wingate University Levine College of Health Sciences, home of the Physician Assistant program
Levine College of Health Sciences at Wingate University, home of the Physician Assistant Studies program.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Wingate University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
Wingate PA admissions Current admissions requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

GRE (competitive ~50th percentile), cumulative GPA (~3.2 min), min 500 direct PCE hours, 3 LOR; rolling holistic review with interview. Two-campus program (Wingate + Hendersonville).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Multiple/varies

The interview runs two to three hours and combines a one-to-one meeting with faculty, a class observation, a Q&A with current PA students, and multiple mini interviews. Roughly 14–20 students are interviewed per session, September through February, and the admissions office follows up with your status within three weeks. The program states a preference for Wingate graduates and Wingate PA Advantage participants.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredTake the GRE within five years of anticipated enrollment. No minimum is published; scores at or above the 50th percentile in each section are considered competitive.
Patient care500 hours minimumAt least 500 hours of direct patient-contact clinical experience are required. Compensated clinical work is strongly valued.
Overall GPANot publishedThe program does not publish a general cumulative GPA cutoff in the accepted current sources. A 3.2 rule applies to named prerequisite courses, not the CASPA cumulative GPA.
Science GPANot publishedThe program does not publish a general CASPA science-GPA cutoff in the accepted current sources.
Recommendations2 required · 3+ preferredOne required letter must be from an MD, DO, PA, or NP; the other from a professor or academic advisor. Family friends and personal medical providers are not accepted.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational applicants are considered subject to the program’s degree, coursework, and documentation requirements. Confirm individual eligibility before applying.
English proficiency / TOEFLConditionalTOEFL iBT is required when English is not the applicant’s first language or Advanced English proficiency is not reported in CASPA. The visible CASPA description does not state a numeric minimum.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Human A&P: separate Anatomy and Physiology with labs, or combined A&P I and II (8 credits total): Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human Anatomy with lab

Separate Anatomy + Physiology: 8 total credits minimum, including 2 lab credits if labs separate.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab

Separate Anatomy + Physiology: 8 total credits minimum.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Complete matched sequence; cannot mix combined and separate tracks.

8Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Genetics3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Combined Organic/Biochemistry does not fulfill this requirement.

3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan
General Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

No minimum credit hours; credit course or U.S. continuing education with completion documentation accepted.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

A&P tracks
Human-only; comparative, mammalian and invertebrate courses not accepted. Do not combine separate Anatomy with A&P II.

Official shared admissions policy explicitly covers Wingate and Hendersonville campuses (Two Campuses, One Program). Nine prerequisite courses; six science courses require cumulative GPA 3.2. All prerequisites within seven years of matriculation (2020 or later for 2026–2027 cycle). Online courses and virtual labs accepted; sciences from accredited U.S. institutions. AP/transcripted advanced high-school college credit accepted for General Psychology and Statistics. Instructor recency waiver available for qualifying main instructors at accredited institutions within five years; documentation required.

When courses must be complete: Pending courses must be registered for and completed by January 15, 2027 for the 2026–2027 cycle. Application may be held pending until final grades arrive.

Wingate University official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

CASPA application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Submit through CASPA. Confirm whether the program requires received, complete, or verified status by the deadline.

2026–2027
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
Wingate PA admissions Current admissions requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 seven-semester estimate
Resident tuition$104,188 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$104,188 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$10,915
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$115,103

Published full-program tuition estimate. Required fees are shown separately; living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

Wingate PA tuition and fees 2026–2027 published estimate · Checked 2026-09-15
HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Didactic year

Didactic instruction

56 credits of organ-system instruction, lectures, small groups, laboratories and hands-on learning.

02Clinical year

Clinical training

60 credits include ten supervised clinical practice experiences arranged by the program.

The shared 27-month program uses live, in-person hybrid synchronous teaching between main and distant campuses. Each campus receives the same content, assessments and sequencing; clinical electives require program coordination.

Wingate University official curriculum Current program page; cohort year not specified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Wingate PA admissions Current admissions requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 95%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 6, 2008
Next reviewOctober 2034

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

Wingate PA admissions Current admissions requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
Wingate PA admissions Current admissions requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.