Address & Contact

Our Address

Louisiana State University Health Science Center 411 South Prieur LSUHSC-NO New Orleans, LA 70112

GPS

29.959613548054012, -90.07711316915558

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Louisiana State University – New Orleans Physician Assistant Program

New Orleans, Louisiana · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cyclePrior cycle deadline 2026-08-01 has passed; next cycle date is not published. Confirm with program.
Tuition Resident: $50,451 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $102,881 published full-program tuition · Confirm current entering cohort
Class size 35 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 29 monthsFull program
GRE requirement GRE or PA-CAT requiredwithin 5 years. Out-of-state applicants must reach PA-CAT 520 or GRE 300 with analytical writing 3.5; these are competitive recommendations for Louisiana residents.
Patient-care minimum 80 health-care experience hours; out-of-state applicants also need 40 PA-shadowing hours.The 2026 guide publishes the 80-hour minimum and out-of-state shadowing condition.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00 · see policyThe overall GPA threshold depends on Louisiana residency. See Requirements.
Science GPA minimum Not published · see policyThe science GPA threshold is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants. See Requirements.
Recommendations 3 references; a variety is recommended and one must be from a PA; family references are strongly discouraged.The official admissions guide requires three references and describes source requirements.
International applicants Not publishedConditionally eligible if institutional and program requirements are met; the guide applies TOEFL rules to international applicants but does not clearly state visa sponsorship. Confirm with program. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalTOEFL is required for international applicants; no formal minimum is stated, though recent admitted students were near or above iBT 100; an English-medium university does not automatically waive testing. The guide publishes the trigger, lack of a hard minimum, recent-admit context, and no automatic English-medium waiver.
PANCE pass rate 94%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 92% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #75 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

Prepare well-educated primary-care physician assistants; program has a focus on primary care.

Louisiana State University Health Human Development Center in New Orleans
LSU Health New Orleans Human Development Center at 411 South Prieur Street, the PA program location.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Louisiana State University – New Orleans a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Strong Louisiana-resident preference (residents given preference; out-of-state face higher bar: 3.5/3.5 GPA, 40 hrs PA shadowing, GRE >=300 + 3.5 AW or PA-CAT >=520). Scored on cumulative/science/prerequisite GPAs, GRE or PA-CAT, direct healthcare hours, shadowing, personal statement, and reference quality; MMI interview. Focus on primary care.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Not assessedMMI

LSU New Orleans uses a multiple mini-interview (MMI).

Source checked Jul 14, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREGRE or PA-CAT requiredwithin 5 years. Out-of-state applicants must reach PA-CAT 520 or GRE 300 with analytical writing 3.5; these are competitive recommendations for Louisiana residents.
Patient care80 health-care experience hours; out-of-state applicants also need 40 PA-shadowing hours.The 2026 guide publishes the 80-hour minimum and out-of-state shadowing condition.
Overall GPALouisiana residents: 3.0; out-of-state applicants: 3.5.The 2026 guide publishes residency-specific overall GPA minimums.
Science GPALouisiana residents: 3.0; out-of-state applicants: 3.5.The 2026 guide publishes residency-specific science GPA minimums.
Recommendations3 references; a variety is recommended and one must be from a PA; family references are strongly discouraged.The official admissions guide requires three references and describes source requirements.
International applicantsConfirm with programConditionally eligible if institutional and program requirements are met; the guide applies TOEFL rules to international applicants but does not clearly state visa sponsorship. The admissions guide includes international-applicant requirements. Policy clarification: TOEFL language implies consideration, but visa eligibility is not explicit.
English proficiencyConditionalTOEFL is required for international applicants; no formal minimum is stated, though recent admitted students were near or above iBT 100; an English-medium university does not automatically waive testing. The guide publishes the trigger, lack of a hard minimum, recent-admit context, and no automatic English-medium waiver.
Overall GPA exception pathway

The overall GPA threshold depends on Louisiana residency.

Science GPA policy & alternatives

The science GPA threshold is 3.0 for Louisiana residents and 3.5 for out-of-state applicants.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy with lab + Physiology with lab OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs
  • Organic chemistry or biochemistry: Organic Chemistry with lab OR Biochemistry with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two-course sequence; 8 credits total. Prerequisites are mutually exclusive and may not fulfill multiple requirements.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology or Bacteriology with lab
Course notes & alternatives

Alternative course titles accepted; 4 credits.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Anatomy with lab

Human or comparative anatomy. May be replaced by the complete A&P I/II sequence that satisfies both anatomy and physiology requirements.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Physiology with lab

General, human, or comparative. A 3000/4000-level physiology with lab also qualifies; LSU A&M BIOL 2160 is accepted.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Alternative route satisfying both anatomy and physiology requirements; must be taken in sequence and all 8 credits completed.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Biological science electives2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Electives should have a biological-science prefix, be 300/3000+ level, and relate to medicine or the human body. Professional courses do not qualify.

8Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Genetics
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; no lab requirement specified.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab

Alternative: Biochemistry with lab. 4 credits.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry with lab

Alternative to Organic Chemistry with lab. 4 credits.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
College Algebra or higher
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics with ANOVA and/or multiple regression
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; must include analysis of variance and/or multiple regression.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Behavioral Sciences: Sociology or Psychology courses
Course notes & alternatives

6 credits total in Sociology or Psychology courses. The source does not specify an exact course split; do not assume one course in each subject.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.

Policies that can change your plan

Manual review elective course acceptance
See the prerequisite summary and course notes; confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Manual review behavioral course split
See the prerequisite summary and course notes; confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.

Requirements come from the 2026 admissions guideline. Prerequisite courses cannot fulfill multiple requirements. All science courses must be for science majors. Regionally accredited coursework; online courses accepted. Only Louisiana residents may have some courses in progress at application; all must be complete by Dec. 31 before matriculation. The behavioral-science course split and biological-science elective choices require manual review.

When courses must be complete: Confirm the current course-completion deadline with the program.

PA Admissions Guideline 2026 2026 admissions guideline; current posted guide · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

Prior cycle deadline 2026-08-01 has passed; next cycle date is not published. Confirm with program.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$50,451 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$102,881 published full-program tuition

Confirm current entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

$50,451 TOTAL TUITION to completion (tuition only). COHORT YEAR: 2025-2026 rates (as used in the program's own COA table); LSUHSC has n. Verified 2026-08-04 by two independent agents. CONFIRMED to the penny, and I reproduced the derivation independently. (1) TOTAL, not a rate. (2) Tuition-only: the program's own COA PDF publishes only a COMBINED 'Full Time University Tuition and Fees' column ($53,446.20 resident), but the LSUHSC Registrar breaks tuition out separately, so basis_problem=false. Tuition-only per term is $ Source: https://www.lsuhsc.edu/tuition/php/alliedhealth.php (registrar rate table) + https://alliedhealth.lsuhsc.edu/pa/expenses.aspx + ht

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0117 months

Didactic education

Medical sciences, clinical medicine, diagnosis, ethics, culture, prevention, interprofessional learning, and research prepare students for practice and a master’s project.

0212 months

Clinical education

Experiences include emergency, inpatient and outpatient internal medicine, family medicine, women’s health, pediatrics, behavioral medicine, and surgery across Louisiana.

The New Orleans program lasts 29 months. Clinical settings include urban medical centers, rural hospitals and clinics, and private practices; rotation sequencing varies by student.

Louisiana State University – New Orleans official curriculum Current published campus/route curriculum checked September 26, 2026 · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Graduating Class of 2028

Published class statistics
Mean overall GPA3.76
Mean overall science GPA3.70
Mean health-care experience hours2,661

The current admissions-guidelines PDF, page 8, identifies the matriculated Class of 2028. Average health-care experience is 2,661 hours; it is not a direct patient-care measure. The earlier 3.66 figure has no verified cohort period, and 3.5 is not the matching current science average.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Graduating Class of 20283.76Mean overall GPA3.70Mean overall science GPA2,661Mean health-care experience hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 8, 2012
Next reviewApril 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.