Address & Contact

Our Address

MSU - Meridian 2214 5th Street Meridian, MS 39301

GPS

32.36431, -88.70365

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Mississippi State University – Meridian Physician Assistant Program

Meridian, Mississippi · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Resident $76,930 (estimate)Nonresident $138,180 (estimate)
Tuition + fees $85,050 / $146,300 nonresident
Projected 7-term tuition and required fees
Class size 30 students
Program length 29 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE scores are required.
Patient-care minimum 80 direct-care hoursAt least 80 hours of direct patient-care experience are required.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00 overall GPA, or 3.00 on the last 60 credit hours.The program accepts a 3.0 overall GPA or a 3.0 GPA in the most recent 60 credits. See Requirements.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedThe program does not publish a separate CASPA science GPA minimum.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: Not available yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 29-month Meridian PA program with a 30-student cohort, January matriculation, and 80 required direct-patient-care hours.

On campus29 months30 students

Mission & approach

The program strives to recruit and accept students dedicated to increasing access to care and addressing health care disparities in Mississippi and similar populations.

Program campus
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review; preference given to Mississippi residents. Academic strength, emotional intelligence, cultural competence, teamwork, professionalism, ethics, resilience, critical thinking, community service, and knowledge of the profession weigh strongly. Standard rubric rewards rigorous coursework, leadership, extracurriculars, and PCE hours.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE scores are required.
Patient care80 direct-care hoursAt least 80 hours of direct patient-care experience are required.
Overall GPA3.00 overall or last 60 credit hours3.00 overall GPA, or 3.00 on the last 60 credit hours. Applicants need either a 3.00 cumulative GPA or a 3.00 GPA across the most recent 60 credits.
Science GPANot publishedThe program does not publish a separate CASPA science GPA minimum.
Recommendations3 letters · one PAThree recommendations are required, including one from a physician assistant.
International applicantsCheck with the program.The program does not state whether international students are accepted. Applicants need a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited U.S. college or university, so confirm with the program before applying.
English proficiencyTOEFL conditionalApplicable applicants need TOEFL iBT 90 with Reading 22, Listening 21, Writing 25, and Speaking 22, or paper 550/computer 213, within two years.
Overall GPA exception pathway

The program accepts a 3.0 overall GPA or a 3.0 GPA in the most recent 60 credits.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent accepted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Human A&P I and Human A&P II
  • Organic chemistry alternative: Organic Chemistry (lab if offered) OR Biochemistry (lab if offered)
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Upper-division science category (6 total credits across courses)
Course notes & alternatives

6 semester hours; examples include Immunology, Virology, Histology, Embryology, Parasitology, Cell Biology, Molecular Biology; human-focused courses preferred; survey courses excluded. This is a category total, not one 6-credit class.

6Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
Microbiology or Bacteriology for science majors (lab if offered)
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester hours; lab required if offered. Credit range is variable.

Not publishedSemester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester hours total across Chemistry I and II; both with labs.

8Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedRequiredC
Human Anatomy with lab

4 semester hours; human anatomy only; comparative anatomy not accepted. Alternative route uses both Human A&P I and II.

4Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedRequiredC
Human Physiology with lab

4 semester hours; human physiology only. Alternative route uses both Human A&P I and II.

4Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedRequiredC
Human A&P I and Human A&P II2 course(s)

Both courses required to satisfy the separate Anatomy and Physiology requirements; 8 semester hours total and labs required.

8Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedRequiredC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours; no lab requirement is stated.

3Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
Genetics (lab if offered)
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester hours; lab required if offered. Credit range is variable.

Not publishedSemester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
Organic Chemistry (lab if offered)

3–4 semester hours; lab required if offered. Alternative to Biochemistry.

Not publishedSemester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
Biochemistry (lab if offered)

3–4 semester hours; lab required if offered. Alternative to Organic Chemistry.

Not publishedSemester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
Behavioral Sciences
Course notes & alternatives

6 semester hours in a listed category; no individual subjects are specified.

6Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
College Algebra
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours.

3Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
General Biology
Course notes & alternatives

6 semester hours; no lab requirement is stated.

6Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC
Humanities
Course notes & alternatives

6 semester hours; a separate category that is reviewed manually.

6Semester hours; quarter-hour equivalent acceptedNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Labs are conditional.
Microbiology/Bacteriology, Genetics, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry require a lab if offered (conditional requirement).
Statistics lab requirement is unclear
One source says a Statistics lab is required, but the program lists Statistics (3 credits) with no lab. Confirm with the program.
Course age
The program recommends completing prerequisites within the past 10 years, but this is not a hard cutoff.
International eligibility is unclear
The program does not state whether international students are accepted. Confirm with the program before applying.

All science courses must be designed for science majors and completed at a regionally accredited U.S. two- or four-year college. AP credit cannot substitute for science courses, and a single course cannot meet more than one prerequisite. Up to two courses may still be outstanding on August 1 of your application year. Completing prerequisites within the past 10 years is recommended, not required.

When courses must be complete: By Aug 1 of application year, no more than two prerequisite courses may be outstanding, including planned/in-progress courses.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

Prior cycle deadline 2026-08-01 has passed; next cycle date is not published. Confirm with program.

Program startsJanuary 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Projected 7-term tuition and required fees
Resident tuition$76,930 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$138,180 projected full-program tuition

$19,740 term × 7 documented semesters · Projected full-program tuition at current published rates

Required program fees$8,120
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$85,050

Estimated direct cost across seven terms at current rates: $85,050 for residents and $146,300 for nonresidents. This combines 2026–2027 tuition and required fees with program, capital, insurance, and supply charges. Future rates may change.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0114 months

Didactic education

68 credits cover medical sciences, patient assessment, clinical medicine, research and transition to clinical practice.

0215 months

Clinical education

Nine clinical rotations include family medicine, pediatrics, women’s health, surgery, internal medicine, behavioral medicine, emergency medicine, an elective and a preceptorship. Family medicine lasts 10 weeks; other rotations last five weeks. Seminars, capstone and summative assessment accompany rotations.

The Meridian curriculum totals 108 credits. The clinical year has nine rotations, but the sample schedule shows ten blocks because family medicine takes two. The clinical coordinator sets rotation scheduling.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

No 5-year average yet - only THREE graduating cohorts (2023-2025); 84% first-time across all three (53/63)

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 26, 2020
Next reviewJuly 2035
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.