Address & Contact

Our Address

Florida Gulf Coast University 10501 FGCU Boulevard South Marieb Hall, Room 201 Fort Myers, Florida 33965

GPS

26.463513, -81.777119

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Florida Gulf Coast University Physician Assistant Program

Fort Myers, Florida · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition Resident $55,024Nonresident $138,479
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 26 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredThe GRE is required and must be within 5 years. There is no hard minimum score; competitive scores are about 153 verbal, 153 quantitative and 4.0 writing, with at least the 20th percentile and a 3.0 writing score.
Patient-care minimum 250 hours250 direct hands-on patient-care hours before application.
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0 cumulative GPA.
Science GPA minimum Not published · see policyThe program requires a 3.0 minimum GPA across all biology, chemistry and physics (BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)) courses. See Requirements.
PANCE pass rate 89%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 92%
U.S. News PA rank #159 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

The mission of the MPAS Program at Florida Gulf Coast University is to prepare competent and effective master’s level primary care physician assistants who will collaboratively practice with physicians and other members of the healthcare team to provide high quality patient-centered care.

Marieb Hall at Florida Gulf Coast University, home of the Master of Physician Assistant Studies program
Marieb Hall at Florida Gulf Coast University, home of the Master of Physician Assistant Studies program
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Considers overall/science/prerequisite GPA, GRE scores (higher = greater consideration; target >=20th pct Quant & Verbal, >=3.0 AW), and direct patient care (min 250 hrs). Anatomy & Physiology I & II with lab (8 sem hrs) required. Holistic review; no documented in-state admission preference (Florida residency affects tuition, not selection).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
FROM THE ADMISSIONS TEAM

2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair

The admissions team framed academics and testing as competitive rather than pass/fail: meeting a floor is not the same as being competitive, and applications are evaluated against the rest of the pool. They described the program's mission around primary care, evidence-based practice, interprofessional collaboration and patient-centered care — useful language for applicants assessing fit. The program also maintains a public FAQ with a section specifically on how to strengthen a CASPA application, which is worth reading before you write.

Shared at the fair on Jul 11, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.

About these fair notes

PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only

How this program interviews

Virtual or on campus

Selected applicants are invited to FGCU for an on-campus interview in early spring of the matriculating year; out-of-state applicants may request a virtual option, and both the application and interview are scored on a program rubric.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredThe GRE is required and must be within 5 years. There is no hard minimum score; competitive scores are about 153 verbal, 153 quantitative and 4.0 writing, with at least the 20th percentile and a 3.0 writing score.
Patient care250 direct hours before application250 direct hands-on patient-care hours before application.
Overall GPAMinimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.
Science/BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA minimumMinimum 3.0 GPA in biology, chemistry and physics courses (BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)).
Recommendations3 letters: one PA-C, one MD/DO/NP, and one professor or supervisor with at least a 6-month relationship.
International applicantsAcceptedEligible, subject to FGCU international graduate requirements.
English proficiencyConditionalTOEFL 550 (paper), 213 (computer) or 79 (internet), or IELTS 6.5.
Science GPA policy & alternatives

The program requires a 3.0 minimum GPA across all biology, chemistry and physics (BCP) courses.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester hours

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Biology with lab
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester hours; C or better (C- not accepted). Must be intended for science majors or health-professions preparation; survey courses are not accepted.

4Semester hoursRequiredC
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester hours total; C or better (C- not accepted).

8Semester hoursRequiredC
Organic Chemistry

One 3-semester-hour course, or biochemistry instead. The catalog does not state a lab requirement.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC
Biochemistry

One 3-semester-hour course, or organic chemistry instead. The catalog does not state a lab requirement.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours; C or better (C- not accepted).

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester hours; both courses with labs. Must be completed within seven years before matriculation.

8Semester hoursRequiredC
Microbiology with lab
Course notes & alternatives

The program FAQ lists 4 semester hours, while the 2025–2026 catalog lists 4–5. Must be completed within seven years before you start.

4Semester hoursRequiredC
Genetics
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours; must be completed within seven years before matriculation.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Course recency
The seven-year limit applies only to Human A&P I and II, Microbiology and Genetics, not to the other courses.
Microbiology credits
The program FAQ says 4 semester hours, while the 2025–2026 catalog says 4–5. Four is the FAQ minimum; check with the program to confirm.
Chemistry alternative
Organic chemistry or biochemistry: one 3-credit course satisfies this requirement; both are not required.
GPA and grade
Each prerequisite requires a C or better; a C- is not accepted. A 3.0 combined prerequisite GPA and a 3.0 BCP GPA are also required.
International / TOEFL
International applicants outside the U.S. may apply and must provide TOEFL or IELTS scores at the published thresholds.
GPA metric
The admissions policy sets a 3.0 minimum for the science/BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA.

Prerequisites must be complete by the end of the fall semester before you start. You need 250 direct hands-on patient-care hours before CASPA submission; 20 hours of PA shadowing is strongly encouraged. The GRE is required and must be within five years, with no published minimum score. Three professional recommendations are required. International applicants outside the U.S. are accepted with official TOEFL (79 internet / 213 computer / 550 paper) or IELTS (6.5) scores.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisites and your bachelor's degree must be complete by the end of the fall semester before you start. The program FAQ says CASPA must be verified by January 15 for fall enrollment.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Verified

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$55,024 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$138,479 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

FGCU publishes one all-in cost for tuition and fees: $55,024 for Florida residents and $150,998 for out-of-state students. Rates can change, so confirm for your start year.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Didactic instruction

On-campus study includes physiology, pharmacology, anatomy, clinical medicine, clinical integration and clinical skills.

0212 months

Clinical rotations

Four-week supervised rotations include primary care, internal medicine, pediatrics, behavioral health, women’s health, general surgery and emergency medicine, plus three selective rotations.

Clinical rotations take place in Florida, mostly within 50 miles of campus in southwest Florida; assignments may include Collier, Charlotte, DeSoto, Glades, Hendry, Lee and Sarasota counties. You return to campus after rotations and arrange your own transportation and housing.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 89%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedMarch 9, 2017
Next reviewJanuary 2032
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.