Address & Contact

Our Address

Tufts University 200 Harrison AvePosner Hall 202D Boston MA

GPS

42.35025051849901, -71.06513146172024

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Tufts University Physician Assistant Program

Boston, Massachusetts · Masters

Application deadline Aug 1, 2026Passed · Verified
Tuition Resident: $20,846 published per-term tuitionNonresident: $20,846 published per-term tuition · Published per-semester rate only; full-program tuition is unconfirmed because the program page gives a conflicting approximate total.
Class size 50 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 25 monthsFull program
GRE requirement GRE or MCAT optionalGRE and MCAT scores are optional.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 direct-care hoursAt least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are required when applying.
Overall GPA minimum No minimum · 3.40 idealNo hard cumulative-GPA minimum is published; 3.40 is described as ideal.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Published minimum.
Recommendations 3 letters · direct-care supervisorThree recommendations are required, including one from a direct patient-care supervisor; shadowing references do not count.
International applicants ConditionalInternational citizens may apply; WES evaluation required for qualifying foreign coursework (English-speaking Canadian exception). Accepted conditionally.
English proficiency / TOEFL TOEFL conditionalConditional TOEFL. TOEFL iBT 100 if English is not first language or applicant holds non-U.S. degree; waived after two years at a U.S. university.
PANCE pass rate 98%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 97% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #21 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 25-month Boston PA program with a 50-student class and 1,000 required direct patient-care hours at application.

On campus25 months50 students
Mission & approach

The mission of the Tufts University School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program is to educate a diverse body of students who will learn to participate in all aspects of the health care continuum, including disease prevention and management, health promotion and maintenance, and end of life care. As patient advocates, they will be integral members of the health care team, improving access to care for all populations and across all communities they serve.

Tufts University School of Medicine PA Program entrance at 136 Harrison Avenue in Boston
Tufts University School of Medicine PA Program entrance at 136 Harrison Avenue in Boston
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Tufts University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic, rolling review. Additional consideration for: demonstrated commitment to Tufts PA mission/values; Tufts University graduates; science & prerequisite GPA >=3.4; >=1,750 patient-care hours. Welcomes DACA applicants. ~200 interviewed per cycle.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

How this program interviews

VirtualIndividual

Selected candidates attend a virtual interview day consisting of a two-hour program overview with student Q&A followed by two separate 25-minute one-on-one interviews, one with a principal faculty member and another with a clinical preceptor, alumni, or admissions staff member. The program interviews roughly 200 applicants per cycle on a rolling basis.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREGRE or MCAT optionalGRE and MCAT scores are optional.
Patient care1,000 direct-care hoursAt least 1,000 direct patient-care hours are required when applying.
Overall GPANo minimum · 3.40 idealNo hard cumulative-GPA minimum is published; 3.40 is described as ideal.
Science and prerequisite GPA3.00 eachScience GPA and separately calculated prerequisite GPA each require 3.00; overall 3.40 is ideal, not a hard cutoff.
Recommendations3 letters · direct-care supervisorThree recommendations are required, including one from a direct patient-care supervisor; shadowing references do not count.
International applicantsAccepted conditionallyInternational citizens may apply; WES evaluation required for qualifying foreign coursework (English-speaking Canadian exception). Foreign medical school graduates excluded.
English proficiencyConditional TOEFLTOEFL iBT 100 if English is not first language or applicant holds non-U.S. degree; waived after two years at a U.S. university.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester courses; credit equivalencies require review

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters covering all body systems; individual course credits not published.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Separate science-major route; individual credits not published.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Physiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Separate science-major route; individual credits not published.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Biology I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two distinct biology courses, each with lab. Upper-level options accepted; ecology/evolution excluded. Credits are planning placeholders, not published minimums.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewRequiredCSign in to plan
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters, each with lab; organic chemistry accepted as an alternative course. Credits are planning placeholders.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

May replace a chemistry semester; preserve the two-course/two-lab total. Credits are planning placeholders.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; credits are planning placeholder.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewRequiredCSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; credits are planning placeholder.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit equivalencies require reviewNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineAug 1, 2026 · Passed

CASPA application must be verified by August 1 for January 2027 matriculation.

2026–2027
Program startsJanuary 2027

Entering-cohort start month.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published January 2027 entry rate per semester; full-program total unconfirmed
Resident tuition$20,846 published per-term tuition
Nonresident tuition$20,846 published per-term tuition

Published per-semester rate only; full-program tuition is unconfirmed because the program page gives a conflicting approximate total.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Tufts publishes $20,846 per semester and approximately $123,862 for six semesters, but six current-rate terms equal $125,076. The full-program amount is not reconciled; future rates and fees may change.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First year

Didactic education

Boston Chinatown campus instruction builds medical science, diagnosis and therapeutic skills.

02Clinical year

Clinical education

Four- to five-week core, selective and elective experiences are assigned across Massachusetts and greater New England.

03Final month

Completion and board preparation

Capstone presentation, review and professional-preparation activities finish training.

The entry-level PA route spans 25 continuous months from January. Most sites are within 60 miles of Boston, but farther assignments may occur.

Tufts University official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; entering-cohort schedule should be confirmed · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.85
Science GPANot recorded
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The class year is preserved exactly as published. The additional published GPA is a prerequisite GPA, not an overall science average. Published prerequisite GPA: 3.83.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20273.85Not recordedNot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Class of 2027
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 8, 2012
Next reviewApril 2036

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.