MCPHS University – Worcester Campus Physician Assistant Program
Worcester, Massachusetts · Masters
A closer look
Accelerated MPAS program at MCPHS Worcester that teaches the body one system at a time and prepares students for the PANCE and PA practice.
Mission & approach
The program educates and inspires the future generation of Physician Assistants to become compassionate clinicians who demonstrate professionalism; practice collaborative, evidence-based medicine and advocate for patients and their communities.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
CASPA; bachelor's; min 3.0 overall GPA (3.2 sci & prereq recommended); 250-500 PCE hrs strongly recommended; PA shadow/leadership/research/volunteer recommended; 2 LORs required (3 requested); essay + supplemental; faculty interview by invite. No GRE/PA-CAT/MCAT. 11 articulation partners reserve interview slots. Avg 3.56/3.5/3.70 GPA.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions information2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair
The admissions team gave a usefully concrete definition of patient-care experience: a role where you are directly responsible for a patient's care - procedures, triage and evaluation, bedside care, phlebotomy, EKGs, vitals, treatment-related duties - with common examples including EMT, nursing assistant, patient-care technician, medical assistant and home health aide. Pharmacy technician work is the sharpest illustration of why a job title is not the fact: it counts here only where you administered medication, gave vaccines or drew blood. Patient-care hours are counted as of the moment you submit, not as of when you are reviewed, so timing your submission matters, and once CASPA verifies your application the program cannot update your hours or other details. Shadowing is rated similarly to patient-care experience, and volunteering is not required but can help. There is no preference for in-state or out-of-state applicants. This is the university's accelerated program at the Worcester campus, sharing a cycle timeline with Manchester; Boston is the non-accelerated option.
Shared at the fair on Aug 22, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.
About these fair notes
PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 and August 22 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only
How this program interviews
A faculty interview by invitation only is part of the completed application; invitations go out first-come, first-served in fall and spring, and the admissions committee decides afterwards.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester creditsReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labCourse notes & alternativesTwo-course sequence, 8 credits total; labs required. | 8Semester credits | Required | C |
Microbiology with labCourse notes & alternatives4 credits. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
General Chemistry I with labCourse notes & alternatives4 credits. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
Organic Chemistry I with labCourse notes & alternatives4 credits. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
BiochemistryCourse notes & alternatives3 credits; lab requirement not specified. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
PsychologyCourse notes & alternatives3 credits; lab requirement not specified. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
StatisticsCourse notes & alternatives3 credits. Accepted subjects include basic statistics, biostatistics, psychological statistics, and economic statistics. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
Policies that can change your plan
The accelerated MPAS is a single program with the same curriculum at the Manchester and Worcester campuses, so the same prerequisites apply to both. 250–500 patient-care hours and a 3.2 science GPA are recommended, not required.
Dates & application steps
Completed
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Confirm current cohortConfirm rates for your entering cohort
$129,960 is $64,980 per academic year for two years. MCPHS publishes one 2026–27 rate for both the Worcester and Manchester campuses.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Systems-based medicine, anatomy, patient assessment, pharmacology, health systems, procedures, and special populations are taught through lectures and in-person labs.
Clinical education
Nine five-week rotations and professional development coursework provide supervised experience across clinical specialties.
Worcester is the satellite campus of MCPHS’s shared 24-month, 105-credit accelerated MPAS program; Manchester is the main campus. Worcester students attend lectures and labs in person at their designated campus, with live lectures shared between campuses.
The admitted class
Incoming students (cohort year not specified)
Published class statisticsMean prerequisite GPA: 3.7, for incoming students at both the Worcester and Manchester campuses. The cohort year is not specified, and figures are not split by campus.
Compare published cohorts
| Class | Published GPA | Published science-related GPA | Published experience hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Incoming students (cohort year not specified) | 3.56Average Overall GPA | 3.50Average Science GPA | Not recordedPatient-care hours: not published. |
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 90%
Accreditation history
Accredited-ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- PA School Finder deadline record
- MCPHS University – Worcester Campus program page
- MCPHS University – Worcester Campus program overview
- MCPHS University – Worcester Campus program page
- MCPHS University – Worcester Campus curriculum
- MCPHS University – Worcester Campus program page
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
