Address & Contact

Our Address

179 Longwood Avenue Boston, MA 02115

GPS

42.33759, -71.10199

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

MCPHS University (Boston) Physician Assistant Program

Boston, Massachusetts · Masters

Application deadline Next deadline not yet publishedThe published September 1, 2026 CASPA deadline has passed; a later cycle date has not been confirmed.
Tuition Resident: $174,118 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $174,118 published full-program tuition · Current published rates; future terms may change
Class size 100 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 36 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programGRE and other standardized tests are not listed as requirements on the current Boston PA admission page. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Patient-care minimum 250 patient-care hours after high school.The Boston PA page requires 250 patient-care hours obtained after high school.
Overall GPA minimum 3.0 CASPA-verified overall GPA.The Boston PA page publishes a 3.0 overall CASPA GPA minimum.
Science GPA minimum 3.0 CASPA-verified science GPA.The Boston PA page publishes a 3.0 overall science CASPA GPA minimum.
Recommendations 3 letters requested; 2 are sufficient for CASPA verification; a health-care professional is strongly encouraged.The Boston PA page publishes the requested count, verification minimum, and preferred evaluator.
International applicants Accepted with conditionsInternational-equivalent bachelor's degrees are accepted with WES course-by-course evaluation; prerequisites must be from U.S. or Canadian institutions. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programConditional · confirm threshold. Applicants with a non-U.S. degree or whose primary language is not English may need English-proficiency documentation; a PA-specific threshold was not established on the reviewed page.
PANCE pass rate 82%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 87% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

To educate a diverse community of PA students to become providers who exhibit compassion and competence through an innovative, evidence-based curriculum, enabling them to deliver culturally-competent, patient-centered care.

MCPHS Richard E. Griffin Academic Center, home of the Boston Physician Assistant Program
MCPHS Richard E. Griffin Academic Center, home of the Boston Physician Assistant Program. Source: Capstone Education Vietnam.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is MCPHS University (Boston) a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Min 3.0 overall/science/prerequisite GPA; 250+ patient care hours; three LORs; baccalaureate degree; prerequisite coursework (grade C or better); faculty interview by invitation

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
FROM THE ADMISSIONS TEAM

2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair

The admissions team gave a usefully concrete definition of patient-care experience: a role where you are directly responsible for a patient's care - procedures, triage and evaluation, bedside care, phlebotomy, EKGs, vitals, treatment-related duties - with common examples including EMT, nursing assistant, patient-care technician, medical assistant and home health aide. Pharmacy technician work is the sharpest illustration of why a job title is not the fact: it counts here only where you administered medication, gave vaccines or drew blood. Patient-care hours are counted as of the moment you submit, not as of when you are reviewed, so timing your submission matters, and once CASPA verifies your application the program cannot update your hours or other details. Shadowing is rated similarly to patient-care experience, and volunteering is not required but can help. There is no preference for in-state or out-of-state applicants. Boston is the university's non-accelerated program; Manchester and Worcester run the accelerated one.

Shared at the fair on Aug 22, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.

About these fair notes

PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 and August 22 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only

YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programGRE and other standardized tests are not listed as requirements on the current Boston PA admission page. The complete current Boston PA checklist does not require a standardized test. Policy clarification: Absence is not treated as an explicit GRE waiver.
Patient care250 patient-care hours after high school.The Boston PA page requires 250 patient-care hours obtained after high school.
Overall GPA3.0 CASPA-verified overall GPA.The Boston PA page publishes a 3.0 overall CASPA GPA minimum.
Science GPA3.0 CASPA-verified science GPA.The Boston PA page publishes a 3.0 overall science CASPA GPA minimum.
Recommendations3 letters requested; 2 are sufficient for CASPA verification; a health-care professional is strongly encouraged.The Boston PA page publishes the requested count, verification minimum, and preferred evaluator.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational-equivalent bachelor's degrees are accepted with WES course-by-course evaluation; prerequisites must be from U.S. or Canadian institutions. The Boston PA page publishes degree equivalency, WES evaluation, and prerequisite-location rules.
English proficiencyConditional · confirm thresholdApplicants with a non-U.S. degree or whose primary language is not English may need English-proficiency documentation; a PA-specific threshold was not established on the reviewed page.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy (one semester equivalent) + Physiology (one semester equivalent) OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology I and General Biology II with lab2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses: General Biology I (3 credits) and General Biology II (4 credits, lab required). Lab is specified for Biology II, not Biology I.

7Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Anatomy (one semester equivalent)1 course(s)

Part of the 6-semester-credit Anatomy & Physiology I and II requirement. Lab requirement is not specified.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Physiology (one semester equivalent)1 course(s)

Part of the 6-semester-credit Anatomy & Physiology I and II requirement. Lab requirement is not specified.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence2 course(s)

Alternative route: A&P I and II, or one semester-equivalent Anatomy plus one semester-equivalent Physiology. Labs are not specified.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; 4 semester credits.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Three-semester Chemistry sequence3 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three Chemistry semesters totaling at least 10 credits, including at least one lab and one upper-level Chemistry course of at least three credits. Manual review is required because General Chemistry alone is insufficient.

10Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; 3 semester credits.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; 3 semester credits. Accepted alternatives: basic statistics, biostatistics, psychological statistics, or economic statistics.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Chemistry
At least one lab across the three-course chemistry set; do not imply each chemistry course needs a lab.
A&P
Six semester credits total; individual anatomy/physiology credits and lab requirements are not specified.

C or better. Math and science courses must be within 10 years before anticipated matriculation. At most two prerequisites may be outstanding at application; more makes applicant ineligible for review. MCPHS does not specify a prerequisite cycle year on this page.

When courses must be complete: At most two prerequisite courses may be outstanding at application. Final completion deadline not published on current admissions page.

MCPHS Boston MPAS Admission Requirements Current page; cycle year not stated · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNext deadline not yet published

The published September 1, 2026 CASPA deadline has passed; a later cycle date has not been confirmed.

Past published deadlineSep 1, 2026 · Passed

The published 2026 deadline has passed.

Published date
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program tuition and listed billed fees
Resident tuition$174,118 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$174,118 published full-program tuition

Current published rates; future terms may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$174,118

MCPHS Boston’s published program total is $174,118: $165,810 tuition plus $8,308 in listed billed equipment, clinical-year, orientation, graduation, service, PAExcel and Canopy fees. The separate $3,551 “other costs related to the program” and living expenses are excluded.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Years 1 and 2

Didactic education

Medical and scientific coursework includes anatomy, pharmacology, clinical medicine, patient assessment, simulation, and clinical management.

02Year 3

Clinical rotations

Nine rotations include seven core specialties and two electives, with 45 weeks of clinical experiences beginning after the second year.

The Boston MPAS route is a three-year, 111-credit program. Its clinical year includes 45 weeks of rotations; it is distinct from the 24-month accelerated Manchester/Worcester route.

MCPHS University (Boston) official curriculum Current published campus/route curriculum checked September 26, 2026 · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 82%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 87%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedApril 2000
Next reviewJuly 2032

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.