Address & Contact

Our Address

Northeastern University 360 Huntington Avenue, 202 Robinson Hall Boston, MA 2115

GPS

42.33991680474516, -71.08980709099103

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Northeastern University Physician Assistant Program

Boston, Massachusetts · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition $126,000 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $126,800
Fall 2026 entering students; current rates subject to annual increases
Class size 52 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE scores are not required.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo hour minimum is required; 1,000 hours are preferred and more than 1,800 hours is described as strongest preparation.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
PANCE pass rate 90%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 92%
U.S. News PA rank #14 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month Boston PA program with a 52-student cohort, August matriculation, and no required patient-care minimum.

On campus24 months52 students

Mission & approach

To educate and inspire compassionate clinicians from diverse backgrounds to become accomplished leaders and innovators in all aspects of healthcare.

Behrakis Health Sciences Center at Northeastern University, home of the Physician Assistant program
Behrakis Health Sciences Center at Northeastern University, home of the Physician Assistant program.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review: completed prerequisites; overall & science GPA and academic rigor; LORs (≥2 clinical); patient care hours; CASPA essay reflections; alignment with program mission/values; interview

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

VirtualIndividual

Interviews are conducted virtually, usually scheduled in November or December, and include one-on-one sessions with Admissions Committee members made up of program faculty and alumni. About 200 of roughly 2,200 applicants are invited to interview each cycle, and admission decisions are usually finalized by the end of the year.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE scores are not required.
Patient careNo required minimumNo hour minimum is required; 1,000 hours are preferred and more than 1,800 hours is described as strongest preparation.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 letters · at least 2 clinicalThree recommendations are required; at least two must be clinical, and shadowing references do not count.
International applicantsConditional · F-1 eligibleInternational applicants may apply subject to the published degree, credential, English, and F-1 requirements.
English proficiencyTOEFL iBT 100Applicants with a foreign degree need TOEFL iBT 100 within two years, unless a published exemption applies.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy + Physiology OR Anatomy & Physiology I + Anatomy & Physiology II
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Biology lecture courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters of biology lectures plus one biology lab. Any combination basic or upper level; examples include general biology, microbiology, genetics, immunology, infectious disease, pathophysiology, cell biology. Non-science-major courses are not appropriate.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.RequiredB
Chemistry lecture courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters of chemistry lectures plus one chemistry lab. Any combination basic or upper level; examples include general, inorganic, organic chemistry, and biochemistry. Non-science-major courses are not appropriate.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.RequiredB
Anatomy

One A&P route is one semester of Anatomy plus one semester of Physiology, or A&P I and II. An A&P lab is not required. Content must cover all body systems; human, vertebrate, and animal A&P are accepted.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.Not specifiedB
Physiology

One A&P route is one semester of Anatomy plus one semester of Physiology, or A&P I and II. An A&P lab is not required. Content must cover all body systems.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.Not specifiedB
Anatomy & Physiology I

Alternative A&P route, paired with A&P II. A lab is not required. Credit minimum and course count are not published.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.Not specifiedB
Anatomy & Physiology II

Alternative A&P route, paired with A&P I. A lab is not required. Credit minimum and course count are not published.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.Not specifiedB
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

One course within 10 years. Course must include specified probability/inference/regression/testing content; Calculus does not satisfy this requirement.

Not publishedSemester courses; credit amounts for admissions prerequisites are not published.Not specifiedB

Policies that can change your plan

Rules on course age and minimum grade.
All prerequisite components within 10 years and B or higher; B- does not qualify.
Biology and Chemistry course options.
Two lectures plus one lab in each subject category. Subject combinations are allowed, so no specific individual course is mandatory.
A&P lab
A lab is not required; content must cover all body systems.
Cycle
Admissions requirements are reviewed annually. The page states an Aug 1 application deadline and an Aug 31 CASPA verification deadline, but check the exact upcoming cycle.

No specific separate Microbiology, Genetics, Organic Chemistry, or Biochemistry course is mandatory; each may count toward the Biology/Chemistry lecture combinations. An A&P lab is explicitly not required. Statistics has detailed content requirements, and Calculus does not substitute. AP/IB is not accepted. Only the Spring/Summer 2020 exception allows up to two pass/fail prerequisites. One unfinished prerequisite may be completed by June 15 before matriculation; the rest must be complete by the August 1 application deadline.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-08-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.

Program startsAugust 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Fall 2026 entering students; current rates subject to annual increases
Resident tuition$126,000 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$126,000 projected full-program tuition

$21,000 term × 6 documented semesters · Nonresident full-program tuition only, estimated at current rates for students entering in Fall 2026. Rates increase annually, so future rates may change.

Required program fees$800
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$126,800

The program also estimates $10,089.50 for PA equipment and related costs, including $8,000 for clinical travel, parking, and housing. These are not part of the mandatory institutional fees. The program's broader estimate of $136,889.50 is not tuition.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First year

Didactic education

Full-time Boston campus instruction combines medical science, assessment, pharmacology and organ-system medicine.

0212 months

Clinical education

Program-arranged rotations cover diverse medical disciplines, with an elective and required scholarly project. Up to three rotations may be as far as 3,100 miles from Boston.

The program is two full-time years and 103 credits. Travel and short-term housing are students’ responsibility; elective choices require clinical-faculty approval.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 90%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 1972
Next reviewApril 2035
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.