Address & Contact

Our Address

West Virginia University 1 Medical Center Drive Suite 1419 Morgantown, West Virginia 26506

GPS

39.65337840789627, -79.95717947652406

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

West Virginia University Physician Assistant Program

Morgantown, West Virginia · Masters

Program website
Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: $88,200 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $141,309 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 25 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredThis is the program’s current published GRE policy for the 2026–2027 admissions cycle.
Patient-care minimum 80 hours in a clinical setting; qualifying examples include shadowing and scribe work as well as hands-on roles
Overall GPA minimum 3.203.2 cumulative undergraduate
Science GPA minimum Not publishedUnknown — science GPA is considered, but only a prerequisite GPA minimum was located The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Recommendations 3 lettersOne course professor, one clinical-experience supervisor, and a third from either category are required.
International applicants ConditionalAccepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL Not publishedConfirm with program. A current program-specific English-test rule or threshold was not established in the reviewed source. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 92%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: Not available yet
U.S. News PA rank #159 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A West Virginia PA program emphasizing clinical readiness, interprofessional care, and service to Appalachian and rural communities.

On campus28 months25 students
Mission & approach

To improving health and quality of life for individuals within and beyond the state of West Virginia. The Division is dedicated to providing physician assistants to address health care needs by offering a high quality education program that strives for excellence in education and clinical practice. The Division, through a commitment to evidence-based practice, contributes to scholarship in the field. The program provides a model for addressing health disparity through an understanding of health and health policy, as well as awareness of demographic risk factors for health and quality of life as applied both locally and globally.

West Virginia University Health Sciences Center in Morgantown, home of the Physician Assistant Studies program
West Virginia University Health Sciences Center in Morgantown, home of the Physician Assistant Studies program
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is West Virginia University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Point-based admission rubric weighting cumulative/prereq/science GPA, GRE (V,Q,AW), West Virginia residency (explicit preference; first tiebreaker), interview score, and strength of CASPA statement + WVU mission-question responses; HCE ranked in tiers (shadowing lowest -> scribe -> limited-judgment (MA) -> EMT/RT/dietitian -> paramedic/RN highest); tiebreakers: WV residency -> mission-question score -> prereq GPA.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Virtual or on campus

WVU typically conducts interviews in person on campus in August, though the admissions committee may hold some interviews via Zoom at its discretion.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredThis is the program’s current published GRE policy for the 2026–2027 admissions cycle.
Patient care80 hours in a clinical setting; qualifying examples include shadowing and scribe work as well as hands-on roles
Overall GPA3.2 cumulative undergraduate
Science GPAConfirm with programUnknown — science GPA is considered, but only a prerequisite GPA minimum was located
Recommendations3 lettersOne course professor, one clinical-experience supervisor, and a third from either category are required.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsBachelor’s degree must be from an accredited U.S. institution
English proficiencyConfirm with programA current program-specific English-test rule or threshold was not established in the reviewed source.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry with lab: Organic Chemistry with lab OR Biochemistry with lab
  • Separate Human Anatomy and Physiology or combined two-semester A&P sequence: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology OR Combined Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Biology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCThis requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Chemistry with labs8Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Organic Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCThis requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Biochemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Human Anatomy with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Human Physiology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Combined Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Two semesters required to replace separate Anatomy and Physiology; specific combined credit allocation not stated.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredC
Microbiology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Statistics3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Medical Terminology1Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Published total 33 semester credits. Prerequisite GPA minimum 3.2 (application-requirements page), not the accepted-student average in the legacy lead. All prerequisites within ten years of matriculation at accredited U.S. institutions. AP not accepted. Mammalian anatomy lab acceptable, human anatomy lab preferred.

When courses must be complete: No more than two prerequisites outstanding/planned or in progress at application; all successfully completed before matriculation.

West Virginia University official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$88,200 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$141,309 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$6,164
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$94,364

Published full-program tuition and required fees. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

Detailed curriculum and clinical placement information has not been added to this catalog record.

Review program curriculum
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Class averages describe an admitted cohort. They are not minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

No 5-year average yet - only FOUR graduating cohorts (2022-2025); 89% first-time across them (85/96)

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 28, 2019
Next reviewJuly 2034

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.