Address & Contact

Our Address

Emory & Henry College 601 Radio Hill Road Marion , VA 24354

GPS

36.85347996519, -81.509037287886

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Emory & Henry College Physician Assistant Program

Marion, Virginia · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Submitted by deadline
Tuition Resident: $95,900 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $95,900 published full-program tuition · Confirm current entering cohort
Class size 40 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE required; score must be no more than 5 years old. The admission page requires official GRE scores taken within five years.
Patient-care minimum 500 direct hands-on patient-care hours by matriculation; applicants may apply with 250 and finish the balance by April 1.Applicants may apply with 250 hours but must document 500 direct hands-on hours by matriculation.
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0 cumulative GPA. A minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 is required.
Science GPA minimum 3.003.0 science/BCP GPA. A minimum science/BCP GPA of 3.0 is required.
Recommendations 3 letters: one from a PA-C, NP, DO, or MD and two professional references; no friends or family.Three letters are required, including one clinical provider and two professional references.
International applicants Conditionally eligible with degree equivalency and institutional international-admission requirements. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalConditional for nonnative speakers or applicants without a face-to-face English-language undergraduate institution: TOEFL iBT 90 with R21/L21/S25/W23. The page publishes TOEFL iBT 90 with section minimums 21 reading, 21 listening, 25 speaking, and 23 writing.
PANCE pass rate 88%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 88% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #183 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

To continue Emory & Henry University’s legacy of excellence and service with an emphasis on changing lives. Our mission is: To provide graduate-level education in an interdisciplinary environment that prepares our students for careers as PAs, to foster professionalism among our students and graduates, and to foster critical thinking and life-long learning.

SHS_PA PROGRAM
SHS_PA PROGRAM
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Emory & Henry College a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic, points-based (up to 2 preference categories added to score). Preference points: E&H alumni; military/national service; long-term (>10yr) SW Virginia residents; disadvantaged backgrounds; residents of SW VA / NE TN / W NC / SE WV / E KY; first-gen; >10yr HCE. Regional Appalachia/rural & service mission.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Selected applicants are invited to an on-site interview only after their application, references, and official GRE scores are fully verified; interview days include a Q&A session with faculty and staff and a facilities tour.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE required; score must be no more than 5 years old. The admission page requires official GRE scores taken within five years.
Patient care500 direct hands-on patient-care hours by matriculation; applicants may apply with 250 and finish the balance by April 1.Applicants may apply with 250 hours but must document 500 direct hands-on hours by matriculation.
Overall GPA3.0 cumulative GPA.A minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 is required.
Science GPA3.0 science/BCP GPA.A minimum science/BCP GPA of 3.0 is required.
Recommendations3 letters: one from a PA-C, NP, DO, or MD and two professional references; no friends or family.Three letters are required, including one clinical provider and two professional references.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsConditionally eligible with degree equivalency and institutional international-admission requirements. The admissions material recognizes applicants with equivalent foreign education and directs them through institutional requirements.
English proficiencyConditionalfor nonnative speakers or applicants without a face-to-face English-language undergraduate institution: TOEFL iBT 90 with R21/L21/S25/W23. The page publishes TOEFL iBT 90 with section minimums 21 reading, 21 listening, 25 speaking, and 23 writing.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Advanced chemistry route: Biochemistry OR Organic chemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Anatomy and physiology sequence2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two four-credit semesters with labs: A&P I/II or human anatomy plus human physiology. Confirm the lab on each component.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
General biology2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two four-credit courses with labs, additional to A&P.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology3–5Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Chemistry4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry

Choose this OR organic chemistry; additional to the chemistry requirement.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic chemistry

Choose this OR biochemistry; additional to the chemistry requirement.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Genetics
Course notes & alternatives

Lab optional.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Statistics or biostatistics3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical terminology1Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Grades
C or higher and prerequisite GPA at least 3.00.
Course age
Within 10 years is preferred, not a stated absolute expiration.
Exam credit
No AP, CLEP or experience substitution.
Quarter credits
The official conversion wording is inconsistent. Confirm quarter-credit equivalencies with the program.

Review the notes and alternative routes before choosing classes. Completed records do not establish accepted equivalency.

When courses must be complete: At most three outstanding prerequisites at application, with at least one human anatomy course completed. Enroll in remaining courses and verify completion before May matriculation.

Emory & Henry College prerequisite requirements Current prerequisite course list and policies · Checked 2026-09-22
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Submitted by deadline

2026–2027
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$95,900 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$95,900 published full-program tuition

Confirm current entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Confirm current costs with the program.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0113 months

Didactic phase

The organ-system curriculum uses team-based active learning, simulation and cadaver laboratory instruction, with clinical experiences beginning in the second semester.

0214 months

Clinical phase

The cohort proceeds through full-time clinical training in a defined sequence.

The MPAS program is 27 months and 113 semester credits, located on the School of Health Sciences campus in Marion, Virginia.

Emory & Henry College official curriculum and clinical training Current published program description; cohort-specific schedule should be confirmed · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 88%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 88%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedMarch 9, 2017
Next reviewOctober 2031

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.