Address & Contact

Our Address

Salus University 8360 Old York Road Elkins Park, PA 19027

GPS

40.085973415872, -75.128060342598

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Salus at Drexel University Physician Assistant Program

Elkins Park, Pennsylvania · Master of Medical Science

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026Applications must be received by December 1, 2026 for August 2027 entry and are reviewed once verified. One listing gives the required CASPA status as Blue/Submit-only, so confirm the required status and allow time for processing. Selection is rolling until the class is full.
Tuition $114,192Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $122,192
2026–27 rates for the 117-credit, nine-quarter program (Drexel's totals assume no annual increase); full program
Class size 50 studentsThe ARC-PA maximum class size is 50, and 50 is the estimate for August 2027 entry. The Class of 2027 profile also lists 50 full-time students. Class of 2025 attrition data list 51 entering students, which does not mean a higher maximum was approved.
Program length 25 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredThe GRE is optional, and no standardized tests are required. CASPer and PA-CAT are not required. English-proficiency testing is a separate, conditional requirement.
Patient-care minimum 300 hours requiredAt least 300 hours of paid or volunteer hands-on direct patient care, accrued by application and documented in CASPA. More experience receives priority consideration. Related clerical healthcare work is not automatically direct care; the program reviews duties and its examples are not exhaustive.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00A minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA and 3.0 science GPA are required, and 3.2 or higher in both is strongly recommended. A Biology/Chemistry/Physics GPA of 3.5 receives priority consideration but is not a universal minimum. Each prerequisite requires a C (2.0) or better. There is no separate prerequisite GPA minimum.
Science GPA minimum 3.00A 3.2 science GPA is strongly recommended. A BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA of 3.5 is a priority factor, not the general minimum.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 100%
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A full-time, 25-month Master of Medical Science program at Drexel’s Elkins Park campus. The curriculum totals 109 semester credits, with 12 didactic months and 13 clinical months. This is the Salus program in the College of Medicine, distinct from Drexel’s other PA program.

Early patient contact during the didactic yearCadaver dissection, radiologic anatomy and case-based learningTwo clinical electives and two family-medicine/primary-care experiencesAffiliated undergraduate pathways with separate eligibility rules

Mission & approach

Prepare collaborative clinicians to serve communities worldwide with sound clinical judgment, compassion and integrity.

Drexel University's Salus at Drexel Elkins Park campus
Official Elkins Park campus view for the Salus at Drexel PA program.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Selection weighs academic preparation, motivation, activities, work history, achievements, essays, recommendations and communication. Priority includes eligible affiliated applicants, three or more science courses per semester, Biology/Chemistry/Physics GPA 3.5 or higher, more direct patient care, prior healthcare professionals and PA shadowing across disciplines. These priorities do not…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Campus; online may be available on requestFormat not specified by the program

An invitation may include discussion with admissions, a campus tour and meetings with faculty and students. The program allows online interviews on request, while another listing says traditional on-site interviews. Follow your invitation and confirm availability.

Source checked Sep 13, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

Overall GPA3.0 minimumA minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA and 3.0 science GPA are required, and 3.2 or higher in both is strongly recommended. A Biology/Chemistry/Physics GPA of 3.5 receives priority consideration but is not a universal minimum. Each prerequisite requires a C (2.0) or better. There is no separate prerequisite GPA minimum.
Science GPA3.0 minimumA 3.2 science GPA is strongly recommended. A BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA of 3.5 is a priority factor, not the general minimum.
Patient-care experience300 hours requiredAt least 300 hours of paid or volunteer hands-on direct patient care, accrued by application and documented in CASPA. More experience receives priority consideration. Related clerical healthcare work is not automatically direct care; the program reviews duties and its examples are not exhaustive.
GRENot requiredThe GRE is optional, and no standardized tests are required. CASPer and PA-CAT are not required. English-proficiency testing is a separate, conditional requirement.
Recommendations3 requiredThree recommendations are required. One must come from a person in authority, such as a professor or work supervisor, who knows your professionalism, work ethic and suitability for graduate healthcare study. A PA letter is recommended, not required. No other restrictions on who writes the letters are listed.
PA shadowing20 hours requiredYou need at least 20 hours of PA shadowing. Shadowing PAs in a variety of medical specialties is highly recommended.
DegreeBachelor’s before enrollmentComplete a bachelor’s from an accredited undergraduate institution. The separate Western New England 3+2 affiliation follows its own degree sequence.
PrerequisitesC or betterComplete all prerequisites within ten years of anticipated entry and before enrollment. Having no more than two outstanding at interview is recommended, not a hard maximum. Each requires a C (2.0) or better. The six anatomy/physiology, biology and chemistry courses normally require four semester credits each with labs, though three-credit courses may receive individual review. Both paired A&P I/II and separate Anatomy/Physiology routes are accepted. Microbiology and Organic Chemistry labs are recommended, not required. There is no separate prerequisite GPA minimum.
CASPA deadlineDecember 1, 2026Applications must be received by December 1, 2026 for August 2027 entry and are reviewed once verified. One listing gives the required CASPA status as Blue/Submit-only, so confirm the required status and allow time for processing. Selection is rolling until the class is full.
Supplemental applicationNot requiredThere is no supplemental application and no separate program application fee. CASPA service fees are separate, and the seat deposit is not an application fee.
English proficiencyConditionalNon-native English speakers need an approved exam taken within two years before entry. For TOEFL iBT taken before January 21, 2026: total 94, speaking 26, writing 24, listening 22, reading 22. For TOEFL taken on or after January 21, 2026: total 4.5, speaking 5, writing 5, listening 5, reading 4.5. TOEFL Essentials, IELTS and Duolingo are alternatives with comparable minimums, but their exact cutoffs are not given. Evidence of a degree or diploma taught entirely in English, or an approved English-learning program, may support an exception. This is subject to committee review and is not an automatic waiver.
International applicantsAcceptedThe published record accepts international applicants.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits. You may take paired A&P or separate Anatomy and Physiology, and either Statistics or Biostatistics.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Anatomy and Physiology I OR Anatomy
Course notes & alternatives

Paired with A&P II or Physiology. Laboratory required; three-credit courses may be reviewed individually. The combined sequence is not an extra requirement beyond the separate route.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Anatomy and Physiology II OR Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

Paired with A&P I or Anatomy. Laboratory required; three-credit courses may be reviewed individually.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Biology I
Course notes & alternatives

Laboratory required; three-credit courses may be reviewed individually.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Biology II
Course notes & alternatives

Laboratory required; three-credit courses may be reviewed individually.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Chemistry I
Course notes & alternatives

Laboratory required; three-credit courses may be reviewed individually.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Chemistry II
Course notes & alternatives

Laboratory required; three-credit courses may be reviewed individually.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

Laboratory recommended, not required.

3Semester creditsPreferredC
Organic Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Laboratory recommended, not required. Biochemistry is recommended separately, not listed as an Organic Chemistry substitute.

3Semester creditsPreferredC
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

The program does not specify a particular psychology subfield for this required course.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Statistics OR Biostatistics
Course notes & alternatives

Either named course satisfies the listed subject requirement.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
English Composition
Course notes & alternatives

Three semester credits in composition.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Coursework policies
Pass grades from spring/summer 2020 can satisfy prerequisites; other Pass grades need case-by-case review. A Fail or Incomplete does not satisfy a prerequisite. Pass/no-pass courses do not count toward the GPA. No blanket AP/CLEP or online-course policy is stated, so confirm your specific credits.
Recommended preparation
Medical Terminology is strongly recommended. Genetics, immunology, embryology, histology, biochemistry, physics, cell biology, public speaking, ethics and developmental or abnormal psychology are recommended, not additional required courses.
Patient-care examples
Examples include CNA, medical assistant, EMT/paramedic, nurse/midwife, ER scribe, phlebotomy, radiologic or ultrasound technology, respiratory therapy, athletic training, patient transport, hands-on clinical research and patient-contact hospital volunteering. Home-health duties need verification. Clerical work, pharmacy-assistant work, veterinary work and dental-assistant work generally do not count as direct care. The list is not exhaustive; admissions reviews the actual role.
International applicants
International applicants are considered. Foreign and French-Canadian transcripts need a course-by-course evaluation from a NACES-member agency (National Association of Credential Evaluation Services) documenting postsecondary work. Recommended agencies are WES (World Education Services), The Evaluation Company and IEE. Submit the evaluation through CASPA. DACA applicants are also considered. English requirements and exemptions are conditional.
Deposit
$1,000 nonrefundable matriculation fee: $500 within 14 days of the acceptance letter and $500 by April 15. Offers after April 15 give their own payment instructions. Payments are applied toward first-term fees, so the deposit is not an extra cost on top of tuition.
Deferral
A written request, required deposits and a matriculation supplement are needed. The admissions page says the deferral request is due by May 1; the selection-process page says May 15. Plan for May 1 and confirm with the program. Deferral is limited to one admission cycle, with written intent to resume due by April 1 of the deferred year.
Transfer and advanced standing
No advanced placement for prior external academic work or experience. All program courses are required. A returning student who withdrew or was dismissed may receive placement under an individual readmission/remediation plan.
Clinical sites and travel
The program coordinates clinical sites and preceptors. Students may suggest sites for program evaluation but may not solicit their own placements. Reliable transportation is needed; up to 60 miles each way is considered commutable. For a required core placement beyond 60 miles, the program offers housing with reasonable utilities. Students pay travel, meals, parking, excess utilities and housing for self-requested locations or alternatives to offered housing.
Employment and format
Full-time study; employment is strongly discouraged but not absolutely prohibited. Students cannot replace program faculty or clinical/clerical staff. There is no part-time, distance, or on-campus housing option.
Health, screening and technical standards
Health insurance, medical and immunization documentation, background/child-abuse clearances, fingerprinting and drug screening are required. Students pay compliance costs; adverse findings can prevent clinical placement or completion. Reasonable accommodations are considered through the university and program. A suitable maintained laptop is also required.
Graduation
Program policy requires passing all pass/fail assessments, C or better in graded courses and a cumulative program GPA of at least 3.0, plus all required didactic and clinical work. These are program progression rules, separate from admission GPA.
Academic partnerships
Western New England has a 3+2 pathway with up to four reserved seats. It requires 100 undergraduate semester hours and a 3.7 GPA, with the bachelor's awarded after the first Salus year. The 4+2 partners offer guaranteed interviews, not guaranteed admission: Caldwell, Cedar Crest, Chestnut Hill, Immaculata, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Keystone and Messiah list a 3.5 GPA, and Rosemont lists 3.7. Additional agreement, admissions and successful-interview conditions apply. August 1 is required for WNE, Keystone and Rosemont and strongly recommended for the other partners. Confirm the details of your individual agreement.
Post-baccalaureate route
Successful completion of the university’s Health Sciences certificate—25 credits, GPA 3.0 or higher and no more than two C grades—plus a complete CASPA application and all PA minimums provides an interview opportunity in the general applicant pool, not guaranteed admission.
Attrition and graduation
For the classes of 2023, 2024 and 2025: entering 50/50/51, graduating 49/46/49, attrition 2.0%/8.0%/3.9%, and graduation 98.0%/92.0%/96.1%. The approved maximum entering class is 50 each year. Other pages cite 3.3% overall and 3.0%, without matching class counts, so use each class's figures rather than a headline number. The school counts dismissal, withdrawal or deceleration as attrition.
PANCE by graduating class
Graduating classes 2021–2025: first-time candidates passed 49/49, 47/47, 49/49, 46/46 and 49/49 (240/240 combined, 100%). First-time and ultimate pass rates were 100% each year. National first-time rates for those years were 93%, 92%, 92%, 92% and 91%. These results come from the NCCPA report of January 30, 2026, which does not include a 2026 graduating class.
Financial aid
The school provides financial-aid and external-scholarship information. Award eligibility, amounts and availability need to be confirmed with the university or sponsor; no scholarship is assumed in the cost estimates.
Class of 2027 profile
The profile (updated August 21, 2025) reports 50 full-time students, all with bachelor's degrees, ages 19–25 with a mean of 22 years 1 month. This describes a past entering class, not admission age requirements.

Complete all prerequisites within ten years of anticipated entry and before enrollment. Having no more than two outstanding at interview is recommended, not a hard maximum. Each requires a C (2.0) or better. The six anatomy/physiology, biology and chemistry courses normally require four semester credits each with labs, though three-credit courses may receive individual review. Both paired A&P I/II and separate Anatomy/Physiology routes are accepted. Microbiology and Organic Chemistry labs are recommended, not required. There is no separate prerequisite GPA minimum.

When courses must be complete: Complete the bachelor’s and all prerequisites before enrollment. Prerequisites must be within ten years of entry; at most two pending at interview is a recommendation. Accrue and report the 300 direct-care hours by application. The 20 PA-shadowing hours are a separate requirement.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

CASPA deadlineDec 1, 2026

Applications must be received by December 1, 2026 for August 2027 entry and are reviewed once verified. One listing gives the required CASPA status as Blue/Submit-only, so confirm the required status and allow time for processing. Selection is rolling until the class is full.

Published date
Next entering classAugust 2027

The exact start day is not published.

Recurring interview windowBeginning in July

The program gives July as the general start of interviews and uses rolling selection. The exact interview day for the current cycle is not given.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–27 rates for the 117-credit, nine-quarter program (Drexel's totals assume no annual increase); full program
Resident tuition$114,192 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$114,192 published full-program tuition

Tuition only, from the school’s published rates for this cohort. Rates can change.

Required program fees$8,000
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$122,192

2026–27 rates for the 117-credit, nine-quarter program (Drexel's totals assume no annual increase): full-program tuition is $114,192 ($976 per quarter credit x 117 credits ($59,536 + $44,896 + $9,760)). Rates can change for later cohorts, so confirm with the program. Required fees for the same cohort total $8,000: program fee $570 x 9 quarters ($5,130) + general fee $280 x 9 quarters ($2,520) + first-year program fee $300 + immunization fee $50. Tuition plus required fees = $122,192. Not included: Drexel student health insurance (waivable with other coverage), clinical-site compliance fees, housing and transportation.

See additional expenses & assumptions
Tuition, year 1 (61 quarter credits x $976)$59,536
Tuition, year 2 (46 quarter credits x $976)$44,896
Tuition, year 3 (10 quarter credits x $976)$9,760
Total tuition (117 credits)$114,192
Program fee ($570 x 9 quarters)$5,130
General fee ($280 x 9 quarters)$2,520
First-year program fee$300
Immunization fee (first quarter)$50
Total direct costs (tuition and required fees)$122,192

Required fees for the same cohort total $8,000: program fee $570 x 9 quarters ($5,130) + general fee $280 x 9 quarters ($2,520) + first-year program fee $300 + immunization fee $50. Tuition plus required fees = $122,192. Not included: Drexel student health insurance (waivable with other coverage), clinical-site compliance fees, housing and transportation.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic —61 credits

Basic science, physiology/pathophysiology, clinical medicine, pharmacology, examination, advanced skills, evidence-based problem solving and early patient contact.

0213 months

Clinical —48 credits

Supervised rotations plus capstone work and transition to practice. The current catalog totals 45 rotation credits and 3 credits of capstone/transition work.

The 109-credit catalog names Emergency Medicine, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Prenatal Care/Women's Health, Pediatrics, Behavioral/Mental Health, Family Medicine/Primary Care 1 and 2, and two electives. Rotation order varies by student. The sample plan spans seven terms, including a final fall segment, which does not mean seven equal tuition-bearing semesters. Early experience includes faculty-supervised history, examination and documentation at a community hospital, followed by observational clinical exposure during spring and summer.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.81
Science GPA3.77
Prerequisite GPA3.82
Patient-care hoursNot recorded
Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
20223.693.63Not recorded
20233.683.62Not recorded
20243.693.61Not recorded
20253.703.66Not recorded
20263.803.77Not recorded
20273.813.77Not recorded

Class of 2027 averages: overall GPA 3.81, science GPA 3.77, prerequisite GPA 3.82 and BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA 3.76, with 74 science credits and an applicant-to-enrollee ratio of 18:1. A separate August 21, 2025 profile lists 1,638 applicants, 50 full-time students and a single average GPA of 3.82 without saying which type of GPA it is; those counts do not match the 18:1 ratio. No acceptance rate is listed. Another listing gives an average science GPA of 3.85 for an unstated class, which does not replace the Class of 2027 figures.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

NCCPA report printed January 30, 2026: first-time candidates passed 49/49 in 2021,47/47 in 2022,49/49 in 2023,46/46 in 2024 and 49/49 in 2025. Each published first-time and ultimate rate is 100%. National first-time rates are 93%,92%,92%,92%,91%, respectively. The calculated pooled 2021–2025 result is 240/240=100%; the filename 2026 is not a 2026 graduating-class result.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

Graduation & attrition

2025 graduating cohort

Published attrition3.9%
Entering students51
Graduates49

For the classes of 2023, 2024 and 2025: entering 50/50/51, graduating 49/46/49, attrition 2.0%/8.0%/3.9%, and graduation 98.0%/92.0%/96.1%. The approved maximum entering class is 50 each year. Other pages cite 3.3% overall and 3.0%, without matching class counts, so use each class's figures rather than a headline number. The school counts dismissal, withdrawal or deceleration as attrition.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 8, 2007
Next reviewApril 2034
  1. March 2007Initial accreditation

    ARC-PA first accredited the Salus program in March 2007.

  2. March 2024Accreditation-Continued

    The history records Continued status and a maximum entering class size of 50, with the next review in 2034.

  3. March 2025Sponsor-change review

    ARC-PA reviewed the change-of-sponsor application and requested further information about the program name and Elkins Park cohort. Current program materials identify Drexel as sponsor.

Accreditation-Continued under Drexel University sponsorship. ARC-PA lists the next review as March 2034. ARC-PA also reviewed the change of sponsor from Salus University to Drexel University in March 2025 and asked for more information.

CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.