Address & Contact

Our Address

University of Pittsburgh 3420 Forbes Ave #2nd, Pittsburgh, PA 15260, USA

GPS

40.438990126197446, -79.96016915694554

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Pittsburgh Physician Assistant Program

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania · Master of Science

Application deadline TBD Summer 2027Exact date not yet published
Tuition Resident: $108,808 published cohort/track amountNonresident: $131,537 published cohort/track amount · Display as an official planning estimate; exclude from tuition rankings until the entering-cohort rate basis is published.
Class size 67 studentsThe current admissions page states that a class of up to 67 students will be selected; guaranteed-admission seats can reduce regular-cycle availability.
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredThe GRE is not required, and the program does not publish another standardized admissions-test requirement.
Patient-care minimum 500 direct hands-on hoursAt least 500 hours of direct, hands-on patient care must be complete by the admissions deadline. Shadowing does not count.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00 · limited graduate-degree exceptionThe program expects a 3.00 overall GPA. Applicants below 3.00 may receive discretionary review only after completing an entire master's or doctoral degree; partial graduate work and certificates do not qualify.
Science GPA minimum 3.00 prerequisite-science GPAA 3.00 GPA is required across the designated prerequisite science courses. This is not published as a CASPA total science-GPA cutoff.
Recommendations 3 specified professional lettersThree letters are required: one patient-care supervisor, one character reference, and one prior instructor or formal trainer. Friends and family may not serve as recommenders.
International applicants Accepted · F-1 supportedInternational applicants may apply. Accepted · F-1 supported.
English proficiency / TOEFL Conditional · TOEFL 100For applicants who do not meet a published exemption, the PA on-campus tier requires TOEFL iBT 100, new TOEFL scale 5.0 with each subscore at least 4.0, IELTS 7.5, or Duolingo 140.
PANCE pass rate 93%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 87% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #26 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

The mission of the Physician Assistant Studies Program is to develop highly qualified Physician Assistants who will serve as collaborative leaders in patient care, professional service and advocacy for all populations.

24-month programNot required500 direct hands-on hours
University of Pittsburgh Fifth and Halket building, current home of on-campus Physician Assistant Studies
University of Pittsburgh Fifth and Halket building, the current home of on-campus Physician Assistant Studies.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Pittsburgh a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Objective: overall GPA, prereq science GPA, prereq completion, PCE duration/level, graduate degree. Preference (non-academic): mission match, service in community orgs/free clinics, serving disadvantaged communities, resource-limited/HPSA upbringing, perseverance, caregiving, first-generation, military/veteran, multilingual. No in-state preference.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

VirtualIndividual + Group

Interviews are virtual, held in September with decisions in October, and combine several individual mini-interviews with one group exercise — each conducted by a faculty or community member alongside a current Pitt PA student. Pitt publishes its actual rubric: the individual interviews score adaptability and stress management, conflict management, technical and professional knowledge, and approach to professional challenges; the group exercise scores active and empathetic listening, critical thinking, leadership and collaboration, inclusivity and cultural humility, and ethics and professionalism. Interview scores are combined with the pre-interview CASPA screening into a composite ranking.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredThe GRE is not required, and the program does not publish another standardized admissions-test requirement.
Patient care500 direct hands-on hoursAt least 500 hours of direct, hands-on patient care must be complete by the admissions deadline. Shadowing does not count.
Overall GPA3.00 · limited graduate-degree exceptionThe program expects a 3.00 overall GPA. Applicants below 3.00 may receive discretionary review only after completing an entire master's or doctoral degree; partial graduate work and certificates do not qualify.
Science GPA3.00 prerequisite-science GPAA 3.00 GPA is required across the designated prerequisite science courses. This is not published as a CASPA total science-GPA cutoff.
Recommendations3 specified professional lettersThree letters are required: one patient-care supervisor, one character reference, and one prior instructor or formal trainer. Friends and family may not serve as recommenders.
International applicantsAccepted · F-1 supportedInternational applicants may apply. Foreign credentials require a course-by-course WES or ECE evaluation with GPA conversion, and the on-campus program can support F-1 enrollment.
English proficiencyConditional · TOEFL 100For applicants who do not meet a published exemption, the PA on-campus tier requires TOEFL iBT 100, new TOEFL scale 5.0 with each subscore at least 4.0, IELTS 7.5, or Duolingo 140.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical Terminology

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy with lab + Physiology OR Anatomy and Physiology combined, term 1 + Anatomy and Physiology combined, term 2
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Science-major Biology with lab2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters of science-major biology with lab. Examples include Biology I and II or equivalent sequences; course content should include human-focused living systems, metabolism, genetics, evolution, and ecology.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyRequiredCSign in to plan
Science-major Chemistry with lab2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters of science-major chemistry with lab (General Chemistry I and II, Principles of Chemistry I and II, or Foundations of Chemistry I and II).

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab required.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyRequiredCSign in to plan
Anatomy with lab

One-semester Anatomy with lab is one route paired with one semester Physiology; the anatomy component must cover human anatomy. Comparative, mammalian, and vertebrate anatomy do not qualify.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyRequiredCSign in to plan
Physiology

One semester paired with Anatomy with lab in one route; physiology must cover human homeostasis, growth, nutrition, reproduction, and immune function. A separate lab is not stated as required in this route.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Anatomy and Physiology combined, term 1

Alternative route: two semesters of combined Anatomy & Physiology, with lab in each semester.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyRequiredCSign in to plan
Anatomy and Physiology combined, term 2

Alternative route: two semesters of combined Anatomy & Physiology, with lab in each semester.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyRequiredCSign in to plan
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; accepted examples include General Statistics, Biostatistics, Research Methods, Quantitative Methods, and Applied Statistics. Course content should include probability, distributions, confidence intervals, group comparisons, regression, ANOVA, and chi-square.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; at least 1 college credit. Transcripted academic credit is required; certificate courses do not qualify.

1Semester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
English Composition/Writing2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters. Writing-intensive courses in any subject may count if graded writing assignments are a significant course component and the course is transcripted for academic credit; certificate courses are not accepted.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; acceptable examples include Introductory, General, Developmental, or Abnormal Psychology.

Not publishedSemester courses; semester-credit minimum published only for Medical TerminologyNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
C
Course age
No expiration
AP / CLEP (combined catalog field)
Limited
Course age
No prerequisite expiration date.
A&P routes
Anatomy with lab + Physiology OR two combined A&P semesters with a lab in each semester.
Credits
Current official admissions/catalog and rubric specify semester counts, but no credit minima except at least 1 college credit in Medical Terminology.

C or higher; minimum overall and prerequisite-science GPAs 3.0. No expiration date. AP and dual-enrollment credit are accepted when documented on a college transcript. Courses and labs must be from accredited institutions, including online. The science prerequisites and course content must meet the current April 2026 rubric; higher-level sciences do not replace the named subject areas.

Pitt PAS On-Campus current admissions requirements Current page; Spring/Summer 2027 application cycle · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineTBD Summer 2027

Exact date not yet published

Program startsFollowing January; exact entering date not yet published

Exact entering date not yet published.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Official current-page program estimate based on 2024-25 rates
Resident tuition$108,808 published cohort/track amount
Nonresident tuition$131,537 published cohort/track amount

Display as an official planning estimate; exclude from tuition rankings until the entering-cohort rate basis is published.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

The program publishes tuition plus institutional/program fee estimates of $108,808 resident and $131,537 nonresident, but the underlying tuition rate table is explicitly based on 2024-25 rates and is not a confirmed 2028-entering-cohort price. Display as an official planning estimate; exclude from tuition rankings until the entering-cohort rate basis is published.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic education

Three terms combine lectures, case-based activities and hands-on skills laboratories, including anatomy, ultrasound and telemedicine.

0212 months

Clinical education

Eight supervised experiences across seven core specialties and electives, with transition-to-practice instruction and summative assessment.

Two-year, six-term on-campus program totaling 82 credits.

University of Pittsburgh official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPA3.61
Recorded science GPA3.60

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 93%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 87%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 10, 2009
Next reviewApril 2028

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.