Address & Contact

Our Address

Barry University-Miami 11300 NE 2nd Avenue Miami Shores, Florida 33161

GPS

25.87908, -80.19616

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Barry University-Miami Physician Assistant Program

Miami Shores, Florida · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026Verified by deadline
Tuition Resident: $91,000 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $91,000 published full-program tuition · Confirm current entering cohort
Class size 76 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE not required; PA-CAT required. CASPer is highly recommended for the current published cycle and announced as required in future application cycles. We are no longer requiring the GRE. All applicants are required to take the PA-CAT. CASPER is highly recommended at this time, and will be required in future application cycles.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumpublished; prior healthcare experience highly recommended. Evidence of prior experience in health care is highly recommended.
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0. overall GPA and science GPA equal to or higher than 3.0
Science GPA minimum 3.003.0. overall GPA and science GPA equal to or higher than 3.0
Recommendations 3 letters; clinical and academic referencesSubmitted three letters of recommendation (from clinical work supervisors or clinical coworkers, and academicians).
International applicants ConditionalAccepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programTOEFL required for applicable foreign-born non-U.S./non-Canadian citizens; threshold not published. Submit test scores for the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL).
PANCE pass rate 91%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 90% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #135 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

The Barry University Physician Assistant Program educates students in the practice of collaborative medicine and encourages life-long learning and professional development. It fosters a technology rich environment and clinical training experiences among diverse patient populations. The Program enables students to develop competencies required to meet the health care needs of contemporary society.

adrian-hall-new
adrian-hall-new
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Barry University-Miami a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic, highly competitive (~2,500 apps/yr); competitive overall & science GPA ~3.4-3.5 and 1,000+ direct patient-care hours. Favors higher GPA, PA-CAT, patient-care/work experience; credits military/service, leadership, mission congruence, diversity, disadvantaged status, multilingual fluency (serving underserved). Interview by invitation. (barry.edu PA FAQs)

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE not required; PA-CAT required. CASPer is highly recommended for the current published cycle and announced as required in future application cycles. We are no longer requiring the GRE. All applicants are required to take the PA-CAT. CASPER is highly recommended at this time, and will be required in future application cycles.
Patient careNo required minimum published; prior healthcare experience highly recommendedEvidence of prior experience in health care is highly recommended.
Overall GPA3.0overall GPA and science GPA equal to or higher than 3.0
Science GPA3.0overall GPA and science GPA equal to or higher than 3.0
Recommendations3 letters; clinical and academic referencesSubmitted three letters of recommendation (from clinical work supervisors or clinical coworkers, and academicians).
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsConditional. Foreign-born non-U.S. or non-Canadian citizens must ... have attended a college or university in the United States for a minimum of one year prior to application.
English proficiencyConfirm with programTOEFL required for applicable foreign-born non-U.S./non-Canadian citizens; threshold not published. Submit test scores for the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL).

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Organic chemistry or biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
  • Human A&P route: Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General/Inorganic Chemistry2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Six semester credits in two courses; lab not specified by current program page.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)

One 3-credit course; current program page gives an OR choice and does not specify lab. Biochemistry is the alternative route, not an additional required course.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II2 course(s)

Two lab courses; alternative route is Anatomy with lab plus Physiology with lab. Mixing routes not accepted.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One 4-semester-hour course with lab.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Additional Biological Science1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; acceptable examples: General Biology, Zoology, Human Genetics, Histology, or Cell/Molecular Biology.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Behavioral or Social Sciences2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses; only Psychology, Sociology, or Human Growth and Development are accepted.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Biochemistry1 course(s)

Alternative to one 3-credit Organic Chemistry course; lab not specified.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Separate Human Anatomy plus separate Human Physiology with lab is the alternative to two combined A&P courses; do not mix routes.

Not publishedSemester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Separate Human Physiology plus separate Human Anatomy with lab is the alternative to two combined A&P courses; do not mix routes.

Not publishedSemester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Course age
Prerequisite courses older than 10 years are not accepted.
Anatomy and Physiology route
Use either the two-course combined A&P sequence or separate Anatomy and Physiology courses with labs; the routes cannot be mixed.
Medical Terminology
Required after provisional acceptance and before matriculation, not as a pre-application prerequisite.

Medical Terminology is required only after provisional acceptance before matriculation. PA-CAT required; GRE not required. 3.0 overall and science GPA. Healthcare experience highly recommended, no numeric minimum published. Miami Shores identity is distinct from Barry St. Petersburg; use Miami campus data for other fields.

Barry University PA admissions requirements Current shared program requirements; Miami Shores campus · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDec 1, 2026

Verified by deadline

2026–2027
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$91,000 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$91,000 published full-program tuition

Confirm current entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

CORRECTED 2026-08-04: was $103,000. Barry publishes $39,000/year with the final semester at 1/3 of a year: $39,000 + $39,000 + $13,000 = $91,000 over 7 semesters (28 months). Barry states "Tuition and fees apply to all students regardless of campus" and "Tuition for in-state and out-of-state residents is the same."

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Year 1

Didactic study

Classroom and laboratory instruction includes 45 hours of Medical Spanish.

02Year 2

Clinical education

Clinical training includes diverse and underserved communities; the program secures sites and preceptors.

03Final fall semester

Advanced didactic study

An advanced didactic semester follows the clinical year.

The Miami Shores campus follows Barry’s shared 28-month, 124-credit program. In-person attendance is mandatory; interactive videoconferencing connects the two Florida campuses.

Barry University-Miami official curriculum Current published program structure checked September 26, 2026 · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 91%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 90%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedNeeds verification
Next reviewNeeds verification

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.