Address & Contact

Our Address

205 Charles T. Wethington Building Lexington, Kentucky 40536

GPS

38.185699045550564, -83.4320598635037

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Kentucky – Morehead Physician Assistant Program

Morehead, Kentucky · Masters

Application deadline Jul 15, 2026Passed · The July 15, 2026 deadline for January 2027 entry has passed. The next cycle opens in late April 2027 and closes July 15, 2027.
Tuition Resident $62,050 (estimate)Nonresident $116,706 (estimate)
Tuition + fees $62,050 / $116,706 nonresident
Projected full-program tuition and required fees at 2026–27 rates
Class size 16 studentsThis is the Morehead entering cohort. PAEA's 56 is the combined Lexington and Morehead count.
Program length 29 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE, PA-CAT, MCAT, and CASPer are not required.
Patient-care minimum Required · no numeric minimumHands-on patient contact is required, but the program doesn't publish a minimum number of hours.
Overall GPA minimum 2.75 institutional undergraduate GPAMinimum institutional undergraduate GPA is 2.75. A qualifying enrolled graduate-degree GPA may be considered case by case after at least 20 graduate credits.
Science GPA minimum No separate minimumNo standalone science-GPA minimum is published. Prerequisites require grades of C or better.
PANCE pass rate 73%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 86%
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 29-month Morehead distant-campus PA program with 16 students, required direct hands-on healthcare experience without a numeric minimum, and a 2.75 institutional undergraduate GPA minimum.

On campus29 months16 students

Mission & approach

To improve the health and well-being of the people in the Commonwealth of Kentucky by graduating competent and compassionate physician assistants who will become transformative leaders in their practices and communities.

University of Kentucky Morehead Center for Health Education and Research
University of Kentucky Morehead Center for Health Education and Research
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic admissions: the program states that academic success as well as personal attributes and experiences are considered. Reviewed factors include institutional undergraduate GPA (2.75 minimum), science GPA, and prerequisite performance. Patient-contact experience is required but the program sets no minimum hour count. No standardized admissions exam is required (no GRE, PA-CAT or MCAT); BLS certification is required by matriculation. The program states it values academic excellence, leadership, lifelong learning, ethical and professional behavior, and respect for varied perspectives and experiences. The Morehead campus exists specifically to prepare practitioners for rural and medically underserved Kentucky communities. Not rolling — a fixed annual deadline applies.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Virtual

Interviews for the UK PA program are conducted online through Zoom, generally during the first or second week of August, by UKPAS faculty, guest PAs, physicians, community leaders, and UK administrators. Accepted applicants are later invited to an in-person "Blue Carpet" event to visit campus before paying their seat fee.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE, PA-CAT, MCAT, and CASPer are not required.
Patient careRequired · no numeric minimumHands-on patient contact is required, but the program doesn't publish a minimum number of hours.
Overall GPA2.75 institutional undergraduate GPAMinimum institutional undergraduate GPA is 2.75. A qualifying enrolled graduate-degree GPA may be considered case by case after at least 20 graduate credits.
Science GPANo separate minimumNo standalone science-GPA minimum is published. Prerequisites require grades of C or better.
Recommendations3 role-specific lettersThree letters are required: one physician or PA, one postsecondary academic advisor or professor, and one postsecondary medical or academic professional.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply with WES evaluation and must complete every prerequisite and the full admissions process.
English proficiencyRequired; TOEFL 104 total with at least 26 in each section.The program currently requires a TOEFL iBT score of 104 total, with at least 26 in each section, for applicants covered by its English-language rule. This uses the older TOEFL score scale, so recheck it as the revised scoring rolls out.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II
  • Social science route: Sociology OR Anthropology
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Each semester course must be at least 3 credits, and it must meet the University of Kentucky's transfer-equivalency course requirement.

6Semester creditsRequiredC
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits.

3Semester creditsRequiredC
Human Anatomy1 course(s)

At least 3 semester credits. Pair it only with a standalone Human Physiology course, not A&P II. A lab is not specified in the program's table.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Human Physiology1 course(s)

At least 3 semester credits. Pair it only with a standalone Human Anatomy course, not A&P I. A lab is not specified in the program's table.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Anatomy & Physiology I and II2 course(s)

Alternative to standalone Anatomy plus Physiology. Each A&P course is 4 semester credits. The program's table does not specify a lab requirement.

8Semester creditsNot specifiedC
General Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits.

3Semester creditsRequiredC
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits.

3Semester creditsRequiredC
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits; no lab requirement stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits; separate from the required developmental psychology course.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Developmental Psychology, child through adult lifespan1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits. Abnormal psychology or another psychology course is not accepted; must cover full lifespan.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Sociology1 course(s)

One of the Sociology or Anthropology options. Check with the program to confirm how this course counts.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Anthropology1 course(s)

An alternative to Sociology. Check with the program to confirm how this course counts.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 1 semester credit.

1Semester creditsNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
C or higher. Letter grades are required, with an exception for Spring 2020 (COVID).
Course age
No expiration.
Completion timing
Applicants may apply with up to two prerequisite courses still outstanding, as long as they finish them by August of the application year. The 2027-28 cycle opens in late April 2027 and closes July 15, 2027.

Morehead is the University of Kentucky PA program's rural campus and uses the same central admissions checklist as Lexington. Course equivalency is determined through the UK transfer database or syllabus review. Prerequisites do not expire.

When courses must be complete: You may apply with up to two prerequisite courses outstanding if you complete them by August of the year you apply. The 2027-28 application opens in late April 2027 and closes July 15, 2027.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJul 15, 2026 · Passed

The July 15, 2026 deadline for January 2027 entry has passed. The next cycle opens in late April 2027 and closes July 15, 2027.

2026–2027
Program startsJanuary 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Projected full-program tuition and required fees at 2026–27 rates
Resident tuition$62,049.50 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$116,706 projected full-program tuition

$78,906 program + $15,253 program + $15,677 program + $4,360 program + $2,510 program · Based on current university rates and the 95-credit curriculum; future terms may change.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$62,049.50

Projected full-program tuition and required fees are $62,049.50 for residents and $116,706 for nonresidents. The estimate uses the current 95-credit curriculum, a 3-credit Summer II clinical continuation from the program's prior cost sheet, and 2026–27 Health Professional rates. It includes the published distance charge, two background/drug screens, medical equipment, and clinical technology. It excludes books, parking, clinical travel and living costs, professional expenses that may not apply to everyone, PANCE/licensure estimates, and the seat deposit (which is credited toward tuition). Future rates may change.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Approximately first year and a half

Didactic education

A lockstep course sequence uses synchronous lectures across Lexington and Morehead with local in-person laboratories.

02Final year

Clinical education

Faculty-coordinated supervised practice follows the didactic sequence.

The UK program spans 29 months with a spring start. Students complete the curriculum at their accepted campus; clinical sites undergo formal program review.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Combined Lexington/Morehead cohort beginning January 2026

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.80
Science GPA3.74
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The date is when the cohort began, not its graduation year. These figures cover one combined Lexington and Morehead cohort, not each campus separately.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Combined Lexington/Morehead cohort beginning January 20263.803.74Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 73%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 86%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedNot listed — see ARC-PA
Next reviewJanuary 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.