Address & Contact

Our Address

Platteville, Wisconsin

GPS

42.7344, -90.4782

Telephone
Email

-

← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

UW–Madison PA Program – Platteville Distant Campus Physician Assistant Program

Platteville, Wisconsin · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Tuition + fees $48,227Nonresident $94,317
2026–2027 Platteville schedule, 96 credits
Class size 14 studentsThis is the maximum class size approved by the accreditor (ARC-PA) for the Platteville campus, not a guaranteed entering-cohort count. A separate 72-student estimate covers the whole program and does not apply to this campus.
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not required; Casper requiredGRE is not required. The Casper test (U.S. version, Casper 2) is required each application cycle.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 hoursComplete 1,000 direct patient-care hours at application; paid, volunteer, and qualifying clinical-research experience may count.
Overall GPA minimum 3.20Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.20.
Science GPA minimum 3.20Minimum science GPA is 3.20, satisfied by the overall cumulative science GPA or the most recent 60 semester hours of science coursework.
PANCE pass rate 92%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: Not available yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month Platteville campus option with an ARC-PA approved maximum of 14 students, 1,000 direct patient-care hours, and Casper required.

On campus24 months14 students

Mission & approach

The Physician Assistant Program will educate primary health care professionals committed to the delivery of comprehensive, preventative and therapeutic health care in a culturally and ethnically sensitive manner, with an emphasis on primary health care for diverse populations and regions in need.

Program campus
Program campus
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Goal >=70% of class are Wisconsin residents (Wisconsin Idea / state workforce mission); priority consideration for rural (HRSA), low-income/HPSA, military-affiliated, high financial need, first-generation, and federally recognized tribe applicants (benchmark >=50%; 2024 class 54%); higher cumulative & science GPA preferred; competitive PCE = extensive direct care, esp. having worked with PAs;…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Panel

UW-Madison spreads admissions interview activities across two separate days in December, including a program-overview day and a day with two 20-minute interviews from separate faculty and staff teams, but its admissions pages do not state whether the sessions are on campus or virtual.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot required; Casper requiredGRE is not required. The Casper test (U.S. version, Casper 2) is required each application cycle.
Patient care1,000 hoursComplete 1,000 direct patient-care hours at application; paid, volunteer, and qualifying clinical-research experience may count.
Overall GPA3.20Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.20.
Science GPA3.20Minimum science GPA is 3.20, satisfied by the overall cumulative science GPA or the most recent 60 semester hours of science coursework.
Recommendations3–5 lettersThree recommendations are required and up to five are accepted; at least one should be from someone who worked with the applicant in a healthcare setting.
International applicantsPermanent residents onlyApplicants with foreign university attendance must be U.S. permanent residents; temporary and student visa holders are not considered.
English proficiencyTOEFL 92 iBT / 580 PBTWhen native language or undergraduate instruction was not English, TOEFL 92 iBT or 580 PBT is required unless an exemption applies; scores must be no older than two years.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • General Biology two-semester sequence or Organismal Biology, with lab: General Biology two-semester sequence with lab OR Organismal Biology with lab
  • Separate Human Anatomy and Physiology or combined two-semester A&P: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Combined Human A&P two-semester sequence
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General Biology two-semester sequence with lab2 course(s)Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.RequiredC
Organismal Biology with lab

Accepted alternative to the general-biology sequence; Cellular/Molecular Biology alone is insufficient.

Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.RequiredC
Microbiology with labNot publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.RequiredC
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Combined Organic/Biochemistry is not equivalent.

Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.Not specifiedC
Human Anatomy

Within three years of matriculation.

Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.Not specifiedC
Human Physiology

Within three years of matriculation.

Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.Not specifiedC
Combined Human A&P two-semester sequence2 course(s)

Both courses must be completed at the same institution; within three years of matriculation.

Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.Not specifiedC
Statistics1 course(s)Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.Not specifiedC
Intro, General, Abnormal or Developmental Psychology1 course(s)Not publishedSemester courses are listed, but minimum credits for each course are not published — check with the program.Not specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

A&P update
Approved updates can satisfy the recency rule; expired A&P is not automatically ineligible.

Individual credit minimums are not published. Only Human Anatomy and Physiology have a stated recency rule: three years. Approved Coursera certificates (University of Michigan Anatomy covering all body systems; Duke Physiology) or approved college coursework may update expired A&P. Community or technical-college A&P must be 200-level or higher. A&P updates in progress during your application are not counted as outstanding prerequisites. Transcript review is available before you submit your application. The Platteville distant-campus option is part of the UW–Madison PA program and its common admission process; Platteville applicants must meet all other admissions requirements.

When courses must be complete: At most two outstanding science prerequisites at application; complete before planned matriculation in May.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-08-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.

Program startsMay 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 Platteville schedule, 96 credits
Resident tuition$48,227.28 published full-program tuition + fees
Nonresident tuition$94,317.08 published full-program tuition + fees

Full-program tuition and fees combined; tuition alone is not broken out.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$48,227.28

Tuition and fees combined: $48,227.28 for residents, $94,317.08 for nonresidents, and $67,477.04 for Minnesota reciprocity. The Madison campus base rates of $44,787.20 and $90,877 also include fees, so none of these are tuition only. Annual materials, living and insurance costs are separate.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

011 year

Didactic education

Platteville-based study uses synchronous video lectures, livestreaming and local learning facilities.

021 year

Clinical education

Nine rotations combine six-week core/elective experiences with shorter required disciplines.

The full-time Platteville option is 24 months. Clinical experiences typically occur within 100 miles in southwestern Wisconsin; orientation and assessment returns to Madison are required.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Most recently admitted class (program-wide; class year not given)

Published class statistics
Mean overall GPA3.70
Mean science GPA3.70
Mean direct patient-care hoursNot recorded

The program reports average cumulative and science GPAs of 3.7 for the most recently admitted class. These figures cover the whole program; no class year or Platteville breakdown is given.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Most recently admitted class (program-wide; class year not given)3.70Mean overall GPA3.70Mean science GPANot recordedMean direct patient-care hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

No 5-year average yet - only TWO graduating cohorts (2025-2026); 91% first-time across them (20/22)

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedNot listed — see ARC-PA
Next reviewOctober 2035
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.