Address & Contact

Our Address

UW-Madison Physician Assistant Program Health Sciences Learning Center, 750 Highland Avenue Room 1278 Madison, WI 53705

GPS

43.07713280659774, -89.43091612461889

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Wisconsin – Madison Physician Assistant Program

Madison, Wisconsin · Master of Physician Assistant Studies

Program website
Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: $43,984 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $89,251 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 66 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE scores are not required. The United States Casper 2 assessment is required each cycle.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 hours minimumAt least 1,000 hours of direct patient-care experience are required at application submission.
Overall GPA minimum 3.20Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.20 across all college coursework.
Science GPA minimum 3.20 cumulative OR 3.20 last-60Meet either a 3.20 cumulative GPA OR a 3.20 GPA on the last 60 credit hours of science coursework. The Toolkit keeps the generic science-GPA comparison field blank because applicants may qualify through either basis. See Requirements.
Recommendations 3 required · up to 5 acceptedAt least one recommendation should be from a healthcare coworker.
International applicants Not acceptedStudent and other temporary visa holders are not considered. Not accepted.
English proficiency / TOEFL RequiredConditional. When required, minimums are TOEFL iBT 92 or paper-based 580. Scores must be no more than two years old; published education-based exemptions apply.
PANCE pass rate 94%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 94% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #26 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month Wisconsin PA program centered on primary care, public service, and preparation for practice across urban and rural communities.

On campus24 months66 students
Mission & approach

Educate physician assistants who improve health across Wisconsin and beyond, with attention to primary care, rural communities, and underserved populations.

University of Wisconsin–Madison Health Sciences Learning Center, home of the Madison Physician Assistant program
University of Wisconsin–Madison Health Sciences Learning Center, where Madison Physician Assistant students learn.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Wisconsin – Madison a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
UW–Madison PA admission requirements Current admission requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Goal >=70% of class are Wisconsin residents (Wisconsin Idea / state workforce mission); priority consideration for rural (HRSA), low-income/HPSA, military-affiliated, high financial need, first-generation, and federally recognized tribe applicants (benchmark >=50%; 2024 class 54%); higher cumulative & science GPA preferred; competitive PCE = extensive direct care, esp. having worked with PAs; Casper required; 3 LORs.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Panel

UW-Madison spreads admissions interview activities across two separate days in December, including a program-overview day and a day with two 20-minute interviews from separate faculty and staff teams, but its admissions pages do not state whether the sessions are on campus or virtual.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE scores are not required. The United States Casper 2 assessment is required each cycle.
Patient care1,000 hours minimumAt least 1,000 hours of direct patient-care experience are required at application submission.
Overall GPA3.20 minimumMinimum cumulative GPA is 3.20 across all college coursework.
Science GPA3.20 cumulative OR last-60 scienceRequires either a 3.20 cumulative science GPA or a 3.20 GPA across the most recent 60 semester hours of science coursework. Applicants may qualify through either route.
Recommendations3 required · up to 5 acceptedAt least one recommendation should be from a healthcare coworker.
International applicantsNot acceptedApplicants educated outside the U.S. must be U.S. permanent residents. Student and other temporary visa holders are not considered.
English proficiency / TOEFLConditionalWhen required, minimums are TOEFL iBT 92 or paper-based 580. Scores must be no more than two years old; published education-based exemptions apply.
Science GPA policy & alternatives

Meet either a 3.20 cumulative GPA OR a 3.20 GPA on the last 60 credit hours of science coursework. The Toolkit keeps the generic science-GPA comparison field blank because applicants may qualify through either basis.

Prerequisite coursework

Published semester courses; individual credit minima not published

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • General Biology two-semester sequence or Organismal Biology, with lab: General Biology two-semester sequence with lab OR Organismal Biology with lab
  • Separate Human Anatomy and Physiology or combined two-semester A&P: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Combined Human A&P two-semester sequence
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology two-semester sequence with lab2 course(s)Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedRequiredCThis requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Organismal Biology with lab

Accepted alternative to the general-biology sequence; Cellular/Molecular Biology alone is insufficient.

Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedRequiredCThis requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology with labNot publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedRequiredC
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Combined Organic/Biochemistry is not equivalent.

Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedNot specifiedC
Human Anatomy

Within three years of matriculation.

Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedNot specifiedC
Human Physiology

Within three years of matriculation.

Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedNot specifiedC
Combined Human A&P two-semester sequence2 course(s)

Both courses must be completed at the same institution; within three years of matriculation.

Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedNot specifiedC
Statistics1 course(s)Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedNot specifiedC
Intro, General, Abnormal or Developmental Psychology1 course(s)Not publishedPublished semester courses; individual credit minima not publishedNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

A&P update
Approved updates can satisfy recency; expired A&P is not automatically ineligible.

Official PA requirements, replacing the Physical Therapy page incorrectly present in the research lead. Individual credit minima are not published. Only Human Anatomy and Physiology have the stated three-year recency rule. Approved Coursera certificates (University of Michigan Anatomy covering all body systems; Duke Physiology) or approved college coursework may update expired A&P; community/technical-college A&P must be 200-level or higher. Anatomy/Physiology updates during application are not counted as outstanding prerequisites. Transcript review is available before submitting the application.

When courses must be complete: At most two outstanding science prerequisites at application; complete before planned matriculation in May.

University of Wisconsin – Madison official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

CASPA application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

UW–Madison PA admission requirements Current admission requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 · two-year published program charges
Resident tuition$43,984 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$89,251 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$0
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$43,984

The published resident and nonresident figures combine tuition and university fees for the full program. Do not add a second fee estimate. Living and personal expenses are additional.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

UW–Madison PA tuition and aid 2026–2027 program charges · Checked 2026-09-15
HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

Detailed curriculum and clinical placement information has not been added to this catalog record.

Review program curriculum
UW–Madison PA admission requirements Current admission requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Class averages describe an admitted cohort. They are not minimums or acceptance probabilities.

UW–Madison PA admission requirements Current admission requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 1977
Next reviewOctober 2035

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

UW–Madison PA admission requirements Current admission requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
UW–Madison PA admission requirements Current admission requirements · Checked 2026-09-15
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.