Address & Contact

Our Address

1725 State Street4031 Health Science Center La Crosse WI

GPS

43.813671906264645, -91.22962948096121

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Wisconsin - La Crosse Physician Assistant Program

La Crosse, Wisconsin · Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Resident $43,745Nonresident $89,250
Tuition + fees $48,087
2026–2027 estimated program charges
Class size 28 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE scores have not been required since the 2023–2024 application cycle. Casper is required; the Snapshot and Duet formats of the test are not.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours minimumBeginning with summer 2026, at least 500 hours of direct patient care are required at application. Shadowing does not count.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative undergraduate GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum undergraduate science GPA is 3.00.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 99%
U.S. News PA rank #35 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month collaborative Wisconsin PA program with university and health-system partners, direct patient-care preparation, and statewide clinical training.

On campus24 months28 students

Mission & approach

Prepare physician assistants for collaborative, evidence-based practice with a focus on patient care, professional service, and Wisconsin communities.

University of Wisconsin–La Crosse Health Science Center, home of the Physician Assistant program
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Academic achievement (3.0 min overall & science GPA, recent <4yr coursework weighted), work experience, >=500 hrs direct patient care, volunteer experience, leadership, personal letter, 3 references, Casper, panel interview. Mayo Clinic/UWL partnership.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusPanel

UWL holds interviews on campus on one of two set dates each cycle and does not offer a phone or internet interview option.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE scores have not been required since the 2023–2024 application cycle. Casper is required; the Snapshot and Duet formats of the test are not.
Patient care500 hours minimumBeginning with summer 2026, at least 500 hours of direct patient care are required at application. Shadowing does not count.
Overall GPA3.00 minimumMinimum cumulative undergraduate GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00 minimumMinimum undergraduate science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 referencesThree references are required as part of the application.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational applicants may apply subject to graduate-school transcript, degree, English-language, and immigration requirements.
English proficiency / TOEFLConditionalThe program lists a TOEFL iBT score of 5.0 on the current scoring scale, IELTS 7.5, PTE 68, or Duolingo 135. Scores must be within two years. Confirm the TOEFL scale with the program before testing.

Prerequisite coursework

Prerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Separate Anatomy and Physiology or a two-semester combined A&P sequence: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Human Anatomy and Physiology two-semester sequence
  • Biochemistry or upper-level Molecular or Cellular Biology: Biochemistry OR Molecular Biology OR Cellular Biology
  • Precalculus, Calculus, or College Algebra plus Trigonometry: Precalculus OR Calculus OR College Algebra + Trigonometry
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy1 course(s)

One semester; 200-level or above.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Human Physiology1 course(s)

One semester; 200-level or above.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Human Anatomy and Physiology two-semester sequence2 course(s)

200-level or above.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; 200-level or above.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
General or Introductory Chemistry two-semester sequence2 course(s)Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; 200-level or above.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Biochemistry1 course(s)

One semester; 300-level or above; must be completed at a four-year institution.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Molecular Biology

300-level or above; accepted alternative to Biochemistry.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Cellular Biology

300-level or above; accepted alternative to Biochemistry.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Precalculus1 course(s)Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Calculus1 course(s)Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
College AlgebraNot publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
TrigonometryNot publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; Biometry/Biostatistics and Research Methods often serve as acceptable substitutes; obtain course review.

Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified
General, Introductory, Developmental or Abnormal Psychology1 course(s)Not publishedPrerequisites are counted by course; credit minimums for individual courses are not published.Not specifiedNot specified

Policies that can change your plan

Laboratory distribution
At least two Biology and two Chemistry courses must include labs; the program does not say which ones.
Course review
Research Methods substitution and nonhuman A&P require program review. Credit minimums are not listed — check with the program.

Course requirements are listed by number of semesters, with no minimum credits per course or minimum grade. At least two required Biology courses (A&P and Microbiology) and at least two required Chemistry courses must include labs; ask the program which individual courses need them. An Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry lab is encouraged. Human A&P is strongly preferred; Mammalian or Vertebrate A&P may be accepted if Human A&P is unavailable. Prerequisites do not expire, but recent academic work (within the last four years) is considered. AP credit is accepted only if your official undergraduate transcript lists the specific courses and credits.

When courses must be complete: May apply while completing prerequisites; all complete before program start.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

CASPA application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-08-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 estimated program charges
Resident tuition$43,745 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$89,250 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$4,342
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$48,087

Tuition-plus-fees combines tuition, differential, and university fees along with additional program and course fees. Living expenses are additional.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Preclinical preparation

Medical sciences, clinical medicine and patient-care skills through the university’s collaborative program.

0212 months

Clinical education

44 weeks of supervised clinical experiences, professional development and specialty training.

24-month collaborative program with Gundersen Medical Foundation, Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences and Mayo Clinic Health System; the 2026–2027 catalog lists 108 credits.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2025

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.90
Science GPA3.87
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The overall figure is the undergraduate cumulative GPA.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20253.903.87Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 99%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedApril 1997
Next reviewJuly 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.