Address & Contact

Our Address

Marquette University 1700 W. Wells Street Milwaukee, WI 53233

GPS

43.034741726241, -87.938388558528

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Marquette University Physician Assistant Program

Milwaukee, Wisconsin · Masters

Application deadline Next deadline not yet publishedThe August 1, 2026 graduate-entry deadline has passed; the next exact cycle date is not published.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $129,688 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $129,688 projected full-program tuition · Current published cohort; next cohort pricing not yet posted
Class size 75 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not RequiredGRE is optional. The graduate PA application page labels GRE as optional.
Patient-care minimum 200 U.S.-based patient-contact hours at application; shadowing does not count.The page publishes the 200-hour application-time requirement, U.S. location, and shadowing exclusion.
Overall GPA minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.The page publishes a 3.0 cumulative GPA minimum.
Science GPA minimum Confirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; science GPA is reviewed without a published floor. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Recommendations 3 letters; academic, health-care, and character perspectives are suggested; no family references.The page publishes the count, suggested perspectives, and family exclusion.
International applicants Accepted with conditionsInternational applicants are conditionally eligible with credential evaluation, U.S. prerequisite credits, and U.S. patient-contact hours. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalWhen the degree language is not English: before Jan. 21, 2026 TOEFL 80 with 20 each; thereafter 16.5 total with R4/W4/S4/L4.5. English-country citizenship/education exemptions apply. The graduate page publishes the trigger, legacy/new thresholds, section minimums, and exemptions.
PANCE pass rate 99%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 99% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

Our mission is to develop physician assistants in the Jesuit tradition who realize their full potential as excellent clinicians and national leaders. We pursue this for ad majorem Dei gloriam, the greater glory of God, and the benefit of the human community.

Marquette University Physician Assistant Studies building
Marquette University's Physician Assistant Studies building in Milwaukee.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Marquette University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic competitive review. Min 3.0 cum GPA, 200 hrs patient-contact HCE (shadowing excluded), 3 LORs, interview. GRE optional. Preference: first-gen, economically/educationally disadvantaged, military, ESL, medically underserved/rural. Jesuit mission fit. ~75/class (~25 Marquette applicants).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE is optional. The graduate PA application page labels GRE as optional.
Patient care200 U.S.-based patient-contact hours at application; shadowing does not count.The page publishes the 200-hour application-time requirement, U.S. location, and shadowing exclusion.
Overall GPA3.0 cumulative GPA.The page publishes a 3.0 cumulative GPA minimum.
Science GPAConfirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; science GPA is reviewed without a published floor. The page uses science GPA in review but does not publish a separate minimum. Policy clarification: A review factor must not be converted to a cutoff.
Recommendations3 letters; academic, health-care, and character perspectives are suggested; no family references.The page publishes the count, suggested perspectives, and family exclusion.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational applicants are conditionally eligible with credential evaluation, U.S. prerequisite credits, and U.S. patient-contact hours. The PA page publishes international credential, U.S.-coursework, and U.S.-experience conditions.
English proficiencyConditionalWhen the degree language is not English: before Jan. 21, 2026 TOEFL 80 with 20 each; thereafter 16.5 total with R4/W4/S4/L4.5. English-country citizenship/education exemptions apply. The graduate page publishes the trigger, legacy/new thresholds, section minimums, and exemptions.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Biological Sciences (exclude Microbiology and Physiology)2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses/semesters, 6 semester credits total. If A&P I and II are used, the sequence can count as one biological-science course plus satisfy the physiology requirement; this overlap needs manual review.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Inorganic/General Chemistry with lab
Course notes & alternatives

One or two semesters totaling at least 4 credits. AP credit can count, but chemistry lab is still required.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab is recommended, not required.

3Semester creditsPreferredCSign in to plan
Physiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester, at least 3 semester credits. If both A&P I and II are used, the combination can fulfill physiology and may count as one biological-science course; do not overcount the pair.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Biochemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester, at least 3 credits. Organic Chemistry cannot substitute. Upper-division Biochemistry preferred.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Social/behavioral science1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One Social/Behavioral Science course is required. Psychology is recommended; Sociology is also accepted. Manual review is needed because a Psychology-specific planner key would falsely exclude other accepted courses.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course. Biostatistics or statistics in social science accepted; AP accepted. Research Methods is not accepted.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 1 semester credit; college transcript credit required, CEU/CME certificates not accepted. Online course may satisfy.

1Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

A&P overlap
Marquette permits A&P I/II to contribute one biological-science course and fulfill physiology. Do not count both courses as two separate biological science requirements plus physiology; manual review needed if planner cannot represent overlap.
International applicants
In addition to the checklist, applicants with international education must complete at least 9 credits social/behavioral science and 12 upper-division science at a four-year U.S. institution; no online coursework for these credits.
Course age
Last 5 years is highly recommended, not a hard cutoff.

Graduate/external applicant pathway. Grade C or better; C-/CD do not qualify. Recent coursework within 5 years is recommended, not required. One science prereq may be in progress at application; all due by Dec. 31 before matriculation. Current page says CASPA deadline Aug. 1 each year; confirm cycle year.

When courses must be complete: One science course may be pending at application; all prerequisites completed by Dec. 31 before matriculation.

Marquette PA Graduate Application Information Current page; CASPA due Aug. 1 annually, next cycle unspecified · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNext deadline not yet published

The August 1, 2026 graduate-entry deadline has passed; the next exact cycle date is not published.

Past published deadlineAug 1, 2026 · Passed

The published 2026 deadline has passed.

Published date
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published Class of 2028 projected seven-semester tuition
Resident tuitionApproximately $129,688 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $129,688 projected full-program tuition

$25,500 program + $104,188 program · Current published cohort; next cohort pricing not yet posted

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$129,688

Basis: $25,500 program + $104,188 program · current-rate projection · high confidence

Marquette’s current page estimates $129,688 in full-program tuition for the May 2026 entering Class of 2028. Future annual tuition rates may change, and no Class of 2029 total is posted. Additional estimated program costs of $10,449 include equipment and other variable expenses and are not folded into this tuition comparison.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Summer–fall–spring–summer

Didactic phase

Four listed terms provide 69 credits in anatomy, pharmacology, examination, clinical medicine, decision making, experiential learning and interprofessional education.

02Fall–spring–summer

Clinical phase

The 39-credit phase includes supervised practice, summative assessments and a capstone. Seven core disciplines include six-week adult-medicine/surgery blocks and three-week pediatrics, behavioral health and women’s health blocks, plus two or three electives.

The Milwaukee MPAS spans 28 months. Clinical SCPE terms list 18, 18 and 12 weeks; these are training blocks, not a conversion into an asserted calendar-month phase duration.

Marquette University official curriculum Current program page; publication year not stated · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 99%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 99%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedApril 1997
Next reviewJuly 2033

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.