Address & Contact

Our Address

Carroll University 100 North East Avenue Waukesha, Wisconsin 53186

GPS

43.00491801439742, -88.22578459748037

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Carroll University Physician Assistant Program

Waukesha, Wisconsin · Masters

Application deadline Oct 1, 2026Passed · Verified by deadline
Tuition Resident $110,060Nonresident Not published
Tuition + fees $118,740
2027–2029 estimate; second-year rate not yet approved
Class size 32 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programNot required starting 2026-27 application cycle
Patient-care minimum 500 hours500 direct patient-care hours
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0 CASPA cumulative GPA
Science GPA minimum 3.003.0 CASPA science GPA
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 96%
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

To educate physician assistants to provide comprehensive quality health care to all, to be respectful of patient values, to be committed to ethical principles and to be grounded in evidence-based practice and clinical reasoning. Graduates will contribute to the profession and their communities and be prepared to practice medicine in a variety of primary care settings under the supervision of physicians. Graduates will also be prepared to provide service to medically underserved communities and diverse patient populations.

Carroll University Center for Graduate Studies, home of the Physician Assistant program
Carroll University Center for Graduate Studies in Waukesha, the current facility identified by the Physician Assistant program. Photo: Carroll University.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic: academic performance/potential, knowledge of the PA profession, work/community-service & other experiences, LORs, personal statement & essays; required personal interview. Additional consideration for Carroll undergrads and applicants committed to diversity, care for the underserved, leadership/service, and overcoming educational barriers. (carrollu.edu admission)

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
FROM THE ADMISSIONS TEAM

2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair

The program described a collaborative, personal culture where faculty, staff and students are all invested in student success. Its admissions team said there is no single preferred type of patient-care experience — medical assistants, CNAs, EMTs, phlebotomists and patient-care techs were all cited. Their reapplicant advice was refreshingly individual: for one applicant the gap is grades, for another it's more patient-care experience, and for another it's simply another year of maturity. Competitive applicants can clearly explain why they want to be a PA and speak concretely about their patient encounters; the most common non-academic weakness they see is an applicant who cannot.

Shared at the fair on Jul 11, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.

About these fair notes

PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only

How this program interviews

VirtualIndividual

Personal interviews are offered to the most qualified applicants and assess non-cognitive factors such as interpersonal skills, maturity, and motivation; applicants may not be accepted without one. Virtual interviews run September through December.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredNot required starting 2026-27 application cycle
Patient care500 direct patient-care hours
Overall GPAMinimum 3.0 CASPA cumulative GPA.
Science GPAMinimum 3.0 CASPA science GPA.
Recommendations3 letters; preferably from an instructor, a clinical supervisor, and a health-care professional
International applicantsAcceptedInternational applicants are accepted with an evaluated foreign degree, proof of English proficiency, proof of citizenship, a permanent U.S. visa or a visa appropriate for education, and financial sponsorship. Additional U.S. and Canadian coursework conditions apply.
English proficiencyConditionalEnglish proof is required for some applicants. Accepted scores include TOEFL 550 paper-based, 70 iBT or 8 Essentials; IELTS 6 in every band; Duolingo English Test 105; LANGUAGECERT 65; ISE 87; iTEP 4.0; PTE 50; and approved pathway options. Applicants with a bachelor's degree from the U.S. or listed countries are exempt. Carroll's published details are not fully consistent, so confirm what applies to the PA program.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credit minimums not published

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy + Physiology OR Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Anatomy1 course(s)

Within 5 years required; within 3 years preferred. Lab highly suggested.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC
Physiology1 course(s)

Within 5 years required; within 3 years preferred. Lab highly suggested.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab highly suggested.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC
Biological Science electives2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters; lab highly suggested. Examples include general biology I and II, genetics, cell biology, immunology, endocrinology, or other upper-division medical biological science.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC
Chemistry4 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Four semesters; suggested options include general, inorganic, biochemistry, and organic chemistry. Lab highly suggested.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC
Psychology2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters; examples include general, developmental, lifespan, or abnormal psychology.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; any discipline.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC
Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence2 course(s)

Alternative to separate Anatomy and Physiology courses. Required course credits/labs are not specified; confirm equivalency and labs with the program.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Course age
Biological science and chemistry within 5 years is preferred, not required.
AP credit
AP credit is accepted only for general psychology, general biology I, general chemistry I and statistics, and it must appear in both CASPA and your university transcript.
Suggested preparation
Pathophysiology, Medical Terminology, Epidemiology, Pharmacology, and Foreign Language recommended.

Semester counts are published, but specific credit hours are not. The combined A&P I/II route and lab equivalency require program confirmation. C- is not accepted.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisites must be completed before matriculation. It is advised to have no more than two courses still pending when you apply.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineOct 1, 2026 · Passed

Confirm with the program what CASPA processing status is required.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2027–2029 estimate; second-year rate not yet approved
Resident tuition$110,060 published cohort/track amount
Nonresident tuitionConfirm with program

Carroll's 2027–2029 estimate is $110,060 in tuition plus $8,680 in program fees, for $118,740 total. Second-year tuition has not been approved yet and may change. The program publishes one estimate with no resident/nonresident split. Living and personal expenses are extra.

Required program fees$8,680
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$118,740

Carroll's 2027–2029 estimate is $110,060 in tuition plus $8,680 in program fees, for $118,740 total. Second-year tuition has not been approved yet and may change. The program publishes one estimate with no resident/nonresident split. Living and personal expenses are extra.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First year

Coursework and clinical practicums

Medical sciences, patient assessment and community practicums, with interprofessional education and emphasis on primary care and cultural competence.

02Second year · 12 months

Clinical rotations

Core medical and surgical rotations plus a four-week subspecialty elective in urban, rural and underserved settings.

Two-year full-time program. Students arrange their own transportation and housing during clinical education; an international elective may be available.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

2025–2026 cycle

Published class statistics
Average Cumulative GPA3.69
Average Science GPA3.60
Average Patient Care Experience Hours3,574

Enrolled students at Carroll University

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
2022–2023 cycle3.75Average Cumulative GPA3.67Average Science GPA1,805Average Patient Care Experience Hours
2025–2026 cycle3.69Average Cumulative GPA3.60Average Science GPA3,574Average Patient Care Experience Hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 4, 2010
Next reviewJuly 2033
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.