Address & Contact

Our Address

Physician Assistant StudiesSchool of Health Professions7703 Floyd Curl DriveMSC 6249 San Antonio TX

GPS

29.507279451162656, -98.57899565060097

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Texas – HS Center at San Antonio Physician Assistant Program

San Antonio, Texas · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Program cost Resident tuition + mandatory fees: $57,004 published full-program tuition + mandatory feesNonresident tuition + mandatory fees: $115,081 published full-program tuition + mandatory fees · Published combined full-program tuition and mandatory fees
Class size 45 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 30 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE scores are required for the current admissions cycle.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo numeric patient-care minimum is published; hands-on healthcare experience is strongly recommended.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations 2 lettersTwo recommendations are required; the current public page does not mandate evaluator roles.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to credential, prerequisite, English-proficiency, and university requirements.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalEnglish-proficiency testing is required for applicable applicants; confirm the current exam and score threshold with the program. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 91%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 96% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #35 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 30-month public PA program in San Antonio with a 45-student cohort and a strong preference for hands-on healthcare preparation.

On campus30 months45 students
Mission & approach

The Mission of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies at the University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio is to prepare outstanding physician assistants to recognize and treat acute and chronic illness and promote health. The Department of Physician Assistant Studies makes lives better by improving the health care, health outcomes and the wellbeing of patients and their families through education, practice, service, and research.

Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine building at UT Health San Antonio, home of Physician Assistant Studies
Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine building at UT Health San Antonio, home of the Physician Assistant Studies department.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Texas – HS Center at San Antonio a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic: overall GPA, science GPA, community service hrs, healthcare/PCE hrs, PA shadowing hrs, military service, disadvantaged background, medically-underserved-region affiliation; then MMI. Min 3.0 cumulative & science GPA to be review-eligible. Uses CASPA.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

How this program interviews

On-campusMMI

Selected applicants travel to the UT Health San Antonio campus for an in-person multiple mini interview day as part of the admissions process.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE scores are required for the current admissions cycle.
Patient careNo required minimumNo numeric patient-care minimum is published; hands-on healthcare experience is strongly recommended.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations2 lettersTwo recommendations are required; the current public page does not mandate evaluator roles.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to credential, prerequisite, English-proficiency, and university requirements.
English proficiencyConditionalEnglish-proficiency testing is required for applicable applicants; confirm the current exam and score threshold with the program.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Human A&P I/II or separate Human Anatomy and Physiology: Human A&P I and II with labs OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human A&P I and II with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry I with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Genetics
Course notes & alternatives

The course table permits online Genetics, while the general policy requires in-person science courses with labs; confirm this specific exception and any lab requirement.

3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

Any discipline-specific or online course accepted in the course table.

3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Published policy conflict
Confirm Genetics lab and online acceptance: course table allows online Genetics, but the general science policy requires in-person laboratory coursework.

All prerequisites within ten years of matriculation. In-person science-major courses with labs are generally required; no AP, CLEP or other examination credit. The specific table expressly permits online Genetics and Statistics, which conflicts with the blanket prohibition for science prerequisites; retain the table-specific exception for manual review.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite coursework complete before the published CASPA application deadline.

University of Texas – HS Center at San Antonio official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Program startsMay 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program tuition and required fees
Resident tuition + mandatory fees$57,004 published full-program tuition + mandatory fees
Nonresident tuition + mandatory fees$115,081 published full-program tuition + mandatory fees

Published combined full-program tuition and mandatory fees

Required program fees$0
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$57,004

Published full-program tuition and required fees total $57,004 for Texas residents and $115,081 for nonresidents; living and optional expenses are excluded.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0114 months

Didactic coursework

Integrated classroom, laboratory and clinical preparation.

0215 months

Clinical experiences

Ten required core experiences and five electives; comprehensive evaluation occurs within the final four months.

031 month

Scholarly project

Required capstone or scholarly work completes the sequence.

2026–2027 catalog specifies 30 months and 126 credits. San Antonio and Laredo receive the same curriculum and degree requirements.

University of Texas – HS Center at San Antonio official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2028

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.80
Science GPA3.74
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The class year is preserved exactly as published. Program-wide profile combines San Antonio and Laredo; not a San Antonio-only average.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20283.803.74Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Class of 2028
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 91%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedOctober 2000
Next reviewApril 2028

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.