UT Health San Antonio – Laredo Campus Physician Assistant Program
Laredo, Texas · Master of Physician Assistant Studies
Tuition + fees $57,004 / $115,081 nonresident
Current published PA schedule (years 1–3; one schedule for the program, Laredo not listed separately); full program
A closer look
PA program at the UT Education and Research Center at Laredo that lets Laredo-area residents train as PAs without relocating, with interprofessional education.
Mission & approach
Educate compassionate, clinically prepared PAs to provide patient-centered care, particularly in South Texas and underserved communities.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Holistic review considers academic performance, service, healthcare experience, shadowing, military service and ties to underserved communities, followed by an in-person MMI. CASPA applicants choose San Antonio, Laredo or no preference. Qualified Laredo and Webb County applicants choosing Laredo receive priority; final campus placement remains the program’s decision.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
How this program interviews
Selected applicants travel to the UT Health San Antonio campus for an in-person multiple mini interview day as part of the admissions process.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester creditsReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s) One complete route: A&P I and A&P II, four semester credits each with lab. Alternatively use the separate Human Anatomy and Human Physiology route. | 8Semester credits | Required | C |
| Human Anatomy with lab Separate-course alternative to the two-course A&P sequence; pair with Human Physiology with lab. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
| Human Physiology with lab Separate-course alternative; pair with Human Anatomy with lab. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesFour semester credits per course, with laboratory. Science-major courses. | 8Semester credits | Required | C |
Organic Chemistry I with labCourse notes & alternativesScience-major course with laboratory; no substitution is published. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
Microbiology with labCourse notes & alternativesScience-major course with laboratory. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
GeneticsCourse notes & alternativesOnline coursework is allowed for Genetics. A separate lab requirement is not stated. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
PsychologyCourse notes & alternativesIntroductory, General, Abnormal, or Developmental Psychology. Not every program document lists this course, so confirm with the program. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
StatisticsCourse notes & alternativesAny discipline-specific Statistics course; online coursework is allowed. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Course age limits and deadlines.
- Complete all prerequisites within ten years of matriculation and before the published CASPA application deadline.
- Course delivery
- Science-major prerequisites and required labs must be in person. Genetics, Psychology, and Statistics may be online. The published spring 2020 through summer 2021 exception may apply.
- Grade and credit requirements.
- Each prerequisite requires C or higher; C-minus is not accepted. AP, CLEP, and other exam credit do not satisfy prerequisites.
- Anatomy and physiology course options.
- Complete either A&P I plus A&P II with labs or separate Human Anatomy plus Human Physiology with labs; do not count both routes.
- Psychology is listed in some program documents but not others
- The admissions page lists Psychology, but the 2026–27 catalog table leaves it out. Confirm with admissions whether it applies to the current cycle.
The admissions page includes three credits of Psychology, but the 2026–27 catalog prerequisite table omits it. Plan to include it and confirm the current checklist with admissions.
When courses must be complete: Before the published CASPA application deadline
Dates & application steps
The September 1, 2026 deadline has passed. The next cycle date is not yet published.
This date has passed and is not the next application deadline.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Current published PA schedule (years 1–3; one schedule for the program, Laredo not listed separately); full programTuition only, from the school’s published rates for this cohort. Rates can change.
Current published PA schedule (years 1–3; one schedule for the program, Laredo not listed separately): full-program tuition is $42,344 for residents and $100,421 for nonresidents (year 1 + year 2 + year 3 tuition rows of the university's PA schedule: $18,824 + $15,299 + $8,221 resident; $44,678 + $36,042 + $19,701 nonresident). Rates can change for later cohorts, so confirm with the program. Required fees for the same cohort total $14,660: the required fee rows of the year 1-3 direct-cost tables (technology, library, student assistance, student service, medical service, fitness center, liability insurance, educational support, anatomy, student assessment, LINC, clinical, clinical skills equipment, clinical site and exam fees): $5,429 year 1 + $5,130 year 2 + $4,101 year 3, the same for residents and nonresidents. Tuition plus required fees = $57,004 resident / $115,081 nonresident. Not included: health insurance ($9,037 over the program), direct loan fees, computer, books, housing and food, and transportation.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Integrated medical science, skills laboratories, cases and simulation are delivered across both campuses with selected hybrid components.
Clinical education
Ten core experiences and five elective rotations develop supervised clinical practice.
Scholarly project
Required research/capstone work completes the published phase structure.
The Laredo and San Antonio locations share the 30-month, 126-credit curriculum. Clinical placements may occur throughout Texas and other approved locations.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 80%
Laredo Class of 2025: 8 of 10 first-time candidates passed (80%), compared with 91% nationally. Ultimate pass rate was 90% as of the July 29, 2026 report. Only three Laredo graduating cohorts are reported: 2023–2025 pooled first-time results are 24/27, or 88.9% calculated. This is not a five-year average. The Laredo marketing page’s broad 100% statement does not describe these current first-time campus results.
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not published
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- UT Health San Antonio – Laredo Campus curriculum and clinical training
- PA School Finder deadline record
- PA School Finder contact record
- UT San Antonio PA program prerequisite checklist
- UT Health San Antonio – Laredo Campus website
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
