Address & Contact

Our Address

5323 Harry Hines Boulevard Dallas, Texas 75390

GPS

32.81265613476691, -96.83844224889144

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Southwestern School of Health Professions Physician Assistant Program

Dallas, Texas · Physician Assistant program

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: $40,992 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $86,352 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 60 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 30 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Required · master's waiverGRE is required unless the applicant has both a U.S.-accredited bachelor's and master's degree or higher.
Patient-care minimum No required minimum · >200 competitiveHands-on patient care is strongly recommended and more than 200 hours is described as competitive; no numeric requirement is published.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum undergraduate overall GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum undergraduate science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations Confirm count and evaluator mixStrong recommendations are considered, but the current official pages do not publish a required letter count or mandatory evaluator roles. Confirm current CASPA requirements with the program. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
International applicants Accepted with conditionsInternational applicants may apply but the required bachelor's degree and prerequisites must be from a regionally accredited U.S. or Canadian institution; foreign coursework does not satisfy prerequisites. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL Required for international applicantsInternational applicants whose native language is not English must submit TOEFL, TOEFL Essentials, IELTS or Duolingo; no hard minimum is published, while TOEFL iBT 100 is described as competitive.
PANCE pass rate 98%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 96% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #8 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 30-month Dallas PA program in an academic medical center, with broad clinical training and a focus on evidence-based, patient-centered care.

On campus30 months60 students
Mission & approach

See the official program source for the current mission and educational approach.

UT Southwestern School of Health Professions Building at 6011 Harry Hines Boulevard, home of the Physician Assistant Studies program
UT Southwestern School of Health Professions Building at 6011 Harry Hines Boulevard, home of the Physician Assistant Studies program
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Southwestern School of Health Professions a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Min 3.0 overall & science GPA; GRE (unless US master's+); hands-on patient care strongly recommended (no minimum); PA shadowing encouraged; community service in healthcare/underserved settings highly valued; >2000 apps/yr; two-interview maximum.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusMMI

A 10-station multiple mini interview on campus, August through January, with the full day including a meet and greet with faculty, staff, students and alumni, a campus tour and a financial aid presentation. One policy to know before you apply: the program enforces a two-interview maximum — if you interview twice without being accepted, it will not review a third application.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequired · master's waiverGRE is required unless the applicant has both a U.S.-accredited bachelor's and master's degree or higher.
Patient careNo required minimum · >200 competitiveHands-on patient care is strongly recommended and more than 200 hours is described as competitive; no numeric requirement is published.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum undergraduate overall GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum undergraduate science GPA is 3.00.
RecommendationsConfirm count and evaluator mixStrong recommendations are considered, but the current official pages do not publish a required letter count or mandatory evaluator roles. Confirm current CASPA requirements with the program.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational applicants may apply but the required bachelor's degree and prerequisites must be from a regionally accredited U.S. or Canadian institution; foreign coursework does not satisfy prerequisites.
English proficiencyRequired for international applicantsInternational applicants whose native language is not English must submit TOEFL, TOEFL Essentials, IELTS or Duolingo; no hard minimum is published, while TOEFL iBT 100 is described as competitive.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Chemistry with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Genetics3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Statistics3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

PA program requirements, replacing the incorrect medical-school source in the research lead. Science courses with an asterisk must be for science majors and have a lab. All prerequisites within ten years of anticipated matriculation. Letter grades required; the reviewed page does not publish a separate minimum course grade.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite courses complete when application is submitted.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$40,992 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$86,352 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$5,893
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$46,885

Published full-program tuition and required fees. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 academic semesters

Academic instruction

Medical and behavioral sciences are taught through lectures and bedside demonstrations.

024 clinical semesters / 15 months

Clinical training

Supervised clinical rotations span multiple disciplines and settings, supported by UT Southwestern and Parkland resources.

The full-time Dallas program starts in May and finishes in December after 30 months. The overview explicitly states 15 months of clinical rotations; the academic phase is labeled by published semesters rather than subtraction.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedNovember 1973
Next reviewJanuary 2033

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.