Address & Contact

Our Address

1201 West University Drive Edinburgh, TX 78539

GPS

26.303575002889794, -98.17636586127543

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Physician Assistant Program

Edinburg, Texas · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: $30,575 published full-program tuition + feesNonresident: $60,542 published full-program tuition + fees · Resident combined tuition and fees; tuition-only unavailable
Class size 75 studentsPAEA entering-class estimate; official program ceiling may be higher
Program length 28 monthsFull program
Patient-care minimum No required minimumHealthcare, direct-care, and PA-shadowing experience are recommended; no required hour minimum is published.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum overall GPA is 3.00; prerequisite and last-60-credit GPA minimums are also 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations 3 referencesThree recommendations are required; the current PAEA record publishes no evaluator-role restriction.
International applicants AcceptedApplicants may use a recognized foreign bachelor equivalent with an approved course-by-course evaluation; additional international graduate requirements apply.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalPublished graduate pathways include TOEFL iBT 79, paper 550, computer 213, TOEFL Essentials 8.5, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105, or PTE 45; country exemptions apply.
PANCE pass rate 97%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 87% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

To Texas Rio Grande Valley is to provide an innovative advanced medical education to physician assistant students who will transform health care delivery to the multicultural population of South Texas. The DPA promotes the importance of lifelong learning and self-evaluation in its students.

28-month programCasper requiredHealthcare experience recommended
UTRGV Health Affairs Building East in Edinburg, home of the Physician Assistant program
Health Affairs Building East in Edinburg, home of the UTRGV Physician Assistant program. Source: UTRGV.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Texas Rio Grande Valley a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
UTRGV Physician Assistant program Current program overview · Checked 2026-09-16
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic. Preferences: highest degree, course rigor & GPAs (overall, BCP, science, last-60, prereq), healthcare/patient-care experience, research, leadership, community service, diversity incl. economic/educational disadvantage and history of South Texas residency, military/veteran, Casper, PACT early-assurance.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRE / other testsGRE not required · Casper requiredThe current admissions page requires Casper and does not list GRE as required.
Patient careNo required minimumHealthcare, direct-care, and PA-shadowing experience are recommended; no required hour minimum is published.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum overall GPA is 3.00; prerequisite and last-60-credit GPA minimums are also 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 referencesThree recommendations are required; the current PAEA record publishes no evaluator-role restriction.
International applicantsConditionalApplicants may use a recognized foreign bachelor equivalent with an approved course-by-course evaluation; additional international graduate requirements apply.
English proficiencyConditionalPublished graduate pathways include TOEFL iBT 79, paper 550, computer 213, TOEFL Essentials 8.5, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105, or PTE 45; country exemptions apply.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Organic chemistry or biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
  • Psychology option: Introductory Psychology OR Abnormal Psychology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses, 3 semester credits each. Science-major level; science prerequisites cannot be Pass/Credit. Individual lab requirement and minimum letter grade are not stated.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Genetics
Course notes & alternatives

One 3-semester-credit course; science-major-level rule applies. Lab requirement and minimum letter grade not stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

One 3-semester-credit course; science-major-level rule applies. Lab requirement and minimum letter grade not stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Anatomy & Physiology I
Course notes & alternatives

Human course preferred; science-major-level rule applies. Lab requirement/minimum letter grade not stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Anatomy & Physiology II
Course notes & alternatives

Human course preferred; science-major-level rule applies. Lab requirement/minimum letter grade not stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
General Chemistry I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses, 3 semester credits each. Science-major level; science prerequisites cannot be Pass/Credit. Individual lab requirement and minimum letter grade are not stated.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry

Alternative to Biochemistry; one 3-semester-credit course. Science-major-level rule applies.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Biochemistry

Alternative to Organic Chemistry; one 3-semester-credit course. Science-major-level rule applies.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

One 3-semester-credit course. Credit by examination accepted for Statistics only.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Introductory Psychology

Alternative to Abnormal Psychology; one 3-semester-credit course. Credit by examination accepted for Psychology only.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Abnormal Psychology

Alternative to Introductory Psychology; one 3-semester-credit course. Credit by examination accepted for Psychology only.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
Confirm with program
Course age
10 (15 of 33 credit hrs)
AP / CLEP (combined catalog field)
Limited
Course timing
At least 15 U.S. semester credits within past 10 years; all prerequisites completed by September 1.
Labs and grades
Official page does not specify lab requirements or a letter-grade minimum; Pass/Credit is not accepted for science prerequisites.
Admissions conflict
Official checklist PDF says GRE required, while maintained card says GRE not required/Casper required; checklist currency unresolved.

At least 15 U.S. semester credits completed within the past 10 years; all prerequisites due by September 1. No waivers. Science prerequisites must be science-major level and cannot be Pass/Credit. Current official page does not specify lab requirements or minimum letter grades. Checklist PDF conflicts on GRE with the maintained GRE-not-required/Casper-required card; verify that high-yield field separately.

UTRGV Department of Physician Assistant admissions Current page; September 1 deadline; prerequisite list · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Program startsAugust 2027

Published entering month; confirm the exact orientation date.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Current published three-year enrollment costs; no academic year displayed
Resident tuition$30,575 published full-program tuition + fees
Nonresident tuition$60,542 published full-program tuition + fees

Nonresident combined tuition and fees; tuition-only unavailable

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$30,575

Official amounts combine Tuition & Fees. Tuition-only unknown. Preserve PAEA higher-figure conflict and flag; do not rank $30,575 as tuition-only. Broader $127,572/$157,539 include living and other attendance expenses.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

UTRGV PA cost of attending Current published three-year program costs · Checked 2026-09-16
HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic sequence

Medical sciences, patient encounters, clinical reasoning, pharmacology and psychiatry; the June 2025 schematic also shows an initial Academy for Success.

023 semesters

Clinical sequence

Eight rotations span seven core specialties and an elective; research and capstone review culminate in a summative examination.

Published schematic dated June 2025; fall-through-fall didactic sequence precedes spring, summer and fall clinical terms.

University of Texas Rio Grande Valley official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPA3.70
Recorded science GPA3.66

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 87%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedOctober 1999
Next reviewOctober 2033

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.