Address & Contact

Our Address

University of Kentucky Charles T. Wethington, Suite 205 900 S. Limestone Lexington, Kentucky 40536

GPS

38.062465453549, -84.504703656382

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Kentucky (Lexington) Physician Assistant Program

Lexington, Kentucky · Masters

Program website
Application deadline Jul 15, 2026Passed · The July 15, 2026 CASPA Orange/complete deadline for January 2027 entry has passed; the next exact cycle deadline is not yet reliably published.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $62,049.50 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $116,706 projected full-program tuition · Projected from current university rates and the current 95-credit curriculum; future terms may change
Class size 40 studentsLexington entering cohort; PAEA’s 56 is the combined Lexington and Morehead count.
Program length 29 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE, PA-CAT, MCAT, and CASPer are not required.
Patient-care minimum Required · no numeric minimumHands-on patient contact is required, but the program publishes no numeric minimum. PAEA’s machine-readable value of 1 is not a one-hour cutoff.
Overall GPA minimum 2.75 institutional undergraduate GPAMinimum institutional undergraduate GPA is 2.75. A qualifying enrolled graduate-degree GPA may be considered case by case after at least 20 graduate credits.
Science GPA minimum No separate minimumNo standalone science-GPA minimum is published. Prerequisites require grades of C or better.
Recommendations 3 role-specific lettersThree letters are required: one physician or PA, one postsecondary academic advisor or professor, and one postsecondary medical or academic professional.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply with WES evaluation and must complete every prerequisite and the full admissions process.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programRequired · published TOEFL 104 / sections 26. The program currently publishes TOEFL iBT 104 total with at least 26 in each section for applicants covered by its English-language rule. This legacy-scale wording should be reconfirmed during the revised-score transition.
PANCE pass rate 85%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 85% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #35 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 29-month Lexington PA campus with 40 students, required direct hands-on healthcare experience without a numeric minimum, and a 2.75 institutional undergraduate GPA minimum.

On campus29 months40 students
Mission & approach

To improve the health and well-being of the people in the Commonwealth of Kentucky by graduating competent and compassionate physician assistants who will become transformative leaders in their practices and communities.

Charles T. Wethington Jr. Building, home of the University of Kentucky Lexington Physician Assistant program
Charles T. Wethington Jr. Building, home of the University of Kentucky Lexington Physician Assistant program
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Kentucky (Lexington) a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic (academic success + personal attributes/experiences). Values academic excellence, leadership, lifelong learning, ethics/professionalism. Min bachelor's, 2.75 UGPA floor; reviews prereq & CASPA science GPA; patient-contact required (no min hrs); BLS by matriculation. No standardized exam. 40 Lexington / 16 Morehead; apply to one campus.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

VirtualIndividual

Interviews are held over Zoom by faculty, guest PAs, physicians, community leaders and administrators, with dates in August and notifications sent through CASPA at least a week beforehand. Decisions follow about a week after the final interviews. Accepted applicants are then invited to an in-person Blue Carpet event to tour campus and meet faculty before putting down a deposit.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE, PA-CAT, MCAT, and CASPer are not required.
Patient careRequired · no numeric minimumHands-on patient contact is required, but the program publishes no numeric minimum. PAEA’s machine-readable value of 1 is not a one-hour cutoff.
Overall GPA2.75 institutional undergraduate GPAMinimum institutional undergraduate GPA is 2.75. A qualifying enrolled graduate-degree GPA may be considered case by case after at least 20 graduate credits.
Science GPANo separate minimumNo standalone science-GPA minimum is published. Prerequisites require grades of C or better.
Recommendations3 role-specific lettersThree letters are required: one physician or PA, one postsecondary academic advisor or professor, and one postsecondary medical or academic professional.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply with WES evaluation and must complete every prerequisite and the full admissions process.
English proficiencyRequired · published TOEFL 104 / sections 26The program currently publishes TOEFL iBT 104 total with at least 26 in each section for applicants covered by its English-language rule. This legacy-scale wording should be reconfirmed during the revised-score transition.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II
  • Social science route: Sociology OR Anthropology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Each semester course must be at least 3 credits; UK transfer-equivalency/course code must be satisfied.

6Semester creditsRequiredC
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits.

3Semester creditsRequiredC
Human Anatomy1 course(s)

At least 3 semester credits. Pair only with standalone Human Physiology; it cannot be paired with A&P II. Lab is not specified in the program table.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Human Physiology1 course(s)

At least 3 semester credits. Pair only with standalone Human Anatomy; it cannot be paired with A&P I. Lab is not specified in the program table.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Anatomy & Physiology I and II2 course(s)

Alternative to standalone Anatomy plus Physiology. Each A&P course is 4 semester credits. Program does not specify lab requirement in the table.

8Semester creditsNot specifiedC
General Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits.

3Semester creditsRequiredC
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits.

3Semester creditsRequiredC
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits; no lab requirement stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits; separate from the required developmental psychology course.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Developmental Psychology, child through adult lifespan1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 semester credits. Abnormal psychology or another psychology course is not accepted; must cover full lifespan.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Sociology1 course(s)

One of the Sociology or Anthropology options; planner mapping requires manual review.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCThis requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Anthropology1 course(s)

Alternative to Sociology; planner mapping requires manual review.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCThis requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 1 semester credit.

1Semester creditsNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
C or higher; letter grades required except Spring 2020 COVID exception.
Prerequisite credits
Meet or exceed each listed semester-credit minimum.
Course age
No expiration; courses older than five years are accepted.
Course equivalency
Regional accreditation and UK course equivalency required; unlisted syllabi must be reviewed.
Completion timing
For the closed 2026-27 cycle: at most two outstanding at application, completed in summer by August 2026; fall completion not accepted. Next-cycle page has an apparent deadline typo and needs verification.

UK maintains the same prerequisite policy for Lexington and Morehead; applicants may apply to only one campus. Courses require UK equivalency; use the transfer database or submit a syllabus for review. No prerequisite expiration. AP/CLEP may qualify when equivalent; no substitutions or waivers.

When courses must be complete: Confirm the current-cycle prerequisite completion deadline with UKPA. The program page contains inconsistent application-cycle dates; its prior-cycle policy allowed up to two outstanding courses at application, subject to completion by that cycle’s summer cutoff.

UKPA official Admissions Criteria Current page; detailed 2026-27 criteria · Checked 2026-09-23
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJul 15, 2026 · Passed

The July 15, 2026 CASPA Orange/complete deadline for January 2027 entry has passed; the next exact cycle deadline is not yet reliably published.

2026–2027
Program startsJanuary 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Projected full-program tuition and required fees at 2026–27 rates
Resident tuitionApproximately $62,049.50 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $116,706 projected full-program tuition

$78,906 program + $15,253 program + $15,677 program + $4,360 program + $2,510 program · Projected from current university rates and the current 95-credit curriculum; future terms may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$62,049.50

Basis: $33,150 program + $6,352.5 program + $15,677 program + $4,360 program + $2,510 program · current-rate projection · high confidence

Projected full-program tuition and required fees are $62,049.50 resident and $116,706 nonresident. The calculation uses the current 95-credit curriculum, the Summer-II 3-credit clinical continuation documented in the prior program cost sheet, and 2026–27 Health Professional rates. It includes the published distance charge, two background/drug screens, medical equipment, and clinical technology. Books, parking, clinical travel/living, professional expenses whose universal status is unclear, PANCE/licensure estimates, and the tuition-creditable seat deposit are excluded. Future rates may change.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Approximately first year and a half

Didactic education

A lockstep course sequence uses synchronous lectures across Lexington and Morehead with local in-person laboratories.

02Final year

Clinical education

Faculty-coordinated supervised practice follows the didactic sequence.

The UK program spans 29 months with a spring start. Students complete the curriculum at their accepted campus; clinical sites undergo formal program review.

University of Kentucky (Lexington) official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; confirm entering-cohort schedule · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Combined Lexington/Morehead cohort beginning January 2026

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.80
Science GPA3.74
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The date identifies when the cohort began, not its graduation year. These are one officially combined Lexington/Morehead cohort, not campus-specific averages.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Combined Lexington/Morehead cohort beginning January 20263.803.74Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

University of Kentucky (Lexington) published class statistics Combined Lexington/Morehead cohort beginning January 2026 · Checked 2026-09-02
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 85%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 85%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedNeeds verification
Next reviewNeeds verification

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.