Address & Contact

Our Address

Rochester Institute of Technology Office of Admissions - Bausch & Lomb Center 60 Lomb Memorial Drive Rochester, NY 14623

GPS

43.08614169363034, -77.67455522621927

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Rochester Institute of Technology Physician Assistant Program

Rochester, New York · Accelerated direct-entry BS/MS Physician Assistant

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Regular Decision deadline is January 15, 2027; Early Decision and Early Action have earlier deadlines.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $223,829 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $223,829 projected full-program tuition · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change
Class size 36 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 60 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not applicable · SAT/ACT optionalGRE does not apply to first-year undergraduate entry; SAT and ACT scores are optional.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumMore than 40 healthcare hours are preferred; healthcare volunteering and shadowing are recommended.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA for progression into the professional phase is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum No separate minimumThe program does not publish a separate science-GPA cutoff.
Recommendations Minimum 1At least one recommendation is required; a school counselor is preferred, teachers are welcome, and 3–5 is the suggested maximum.
International applicants AcceptedInternational first-year applicants may apply under RIT's undergraduate admission requirements. Accepted.
English proficiency / TOEFL TOEFL 79 / new 4.5 or equivalentPublished full-admission thresholds include Duolingo 120, TOEFL 79 old scale or 4.5 new scale, LanguageCert 70, IELTS 6.5, PTE 58, or MET 58; conditional admission may be available below them.
PANCE pass rate 82%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 86% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #119 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A five-year accelerated direct-entry BS/MS PA program for first-year undergraduates, with a maximum class of 36 and a seven-semester professional phase.

Direct-entry BS/MSOn campus5 years36 students
Mission & approach

RIT's PA Program provides a foundation of science and liberal arts and prepares students to provide compassionate, patient-centered healthcare, developing the ethical values, medical knowledge, professionalism, and interpersonal communication skills essential for inter-professional, team-based clinical practice.

Clinical Health Sciences Center at Rochester Institute of Technology
RIT's Clinical Health Sciences Center, a shared facility used by the PA program.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Rochester Institute of Technology a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Highly competitive; personal interview (by invitation) viewed as one of the most important factors. Min 3.0 cGPA. Patient care experience and PA shadowing strongly encouraged but not required. Brief writing sample at interview. First-year and transfer applicants ranked against peers. Internal transfers given no advantage.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

RIT requires a personal interview prior to admission that is extended by invitation only, and interview performance is considered one of the most important parts of the application, though the school does not publish the specific format or delivery mode.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot applicable · SAT/ACT optionalGRE does not apply to first-year undergraduate entry; SAT and ACT scores are optional.
Patient careNo required minimumMore than 40 healthcare hours are preferred; healthcare volunteering and shadowing are recommended.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA for progression into the professional phase is 3.00.
Science GPANo separate minimumThe program does not publish a separate science-GPA cutoff.
RecommendationsMinimum 1At least one recommendation is required; a school counselor is preferred, teachers are welcome, and 3–5 is the suggested maximum.
International applicantsAcceptedInternational first-year applicants may apply under RIT's undergraduate admission requirements.
English proficiencyTOEFL 79 / new 4.5 or equivalentPublished full-admission thresholds include Duolingo 120, TOEFL 79 old scale or 4.5 new scale, LanguageCert 70, IELTS 6.5, PTE 58, or MET 58; conditional admission may be available below them.

Prerequisite coursework

Published subjects; credits depend on pathway

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
College Algebra or higherNot publishedPublished subjects; credits depend on pathwayNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
BiologyNot publishedPublished subjects; credits depend on pathwayNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
ChemistryNot publishedPublished subjects; credits depend on pathwayNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Pathway
Integrated BS/MS; these transfer subjects are not a standalone graduate-entry checklist.
Professional-phase transfer
A&P must have been taken within five years when transferring into year 3.

Published transfer-entry preparation for this integrated BS/MS pathway. Precalculus/calculus and Anatomy/Physiology are preferred, not added as required courses here. Transfer into the professional phase also requires completion of all program-specific pre-professional coursework; applicants must request an individual transfer evaluation.

Rochester Institute of Technology official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Regular Decision deadline is January 15, 2027; Early Decision and Early Action have earlier deadlines.

2026–2027
Program startsAugust 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

AY 2026–2027 professional phase; seven semesters
Resident tuitionApproximately $223,829 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $223,829 projected full-program tuition

$31,754 semester × 4 projected semesters + $32,271 semester × 3 projected semesters · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change

Required program fees$3,850
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$227,679

Basis: $31,754 semester × 4 projected semesters + $32,271 semester × 3 projected semesters · current-rate projection · medium confidence

Current-rate professional-phase tuition projection $223,829, required institutional fees $3,850, combined $227,679. Official PDF explicitly confirms four undergraduate and three graduate semesters. Excludes years one/two and living/other costs; future rates may change.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Years 1–2

Preprofessional study

Basic sciences, mathematics and general education prepare students for the professional sequence.

02Years 3–5

Professional PA education

Medical instruction leads to a final clinical year: eight required rotations and two electives, each five weeks.

Five-year BS/MS route. RIT assigns clinical sites and preceptors; Rochester-area placements are not guaranteed, and students cover travel and housing.

Rochester Institute of Technology official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 82%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 86%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedOctober 1994
Next reviewOctober 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.