Address & Contact

Our Address

Gardner-Webb University 315 W. College Ave Shelby, North Carolina 28152

GPS

35.250834, -81.675805

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Gardner-Webb University Physician Assistant Program

Boiling Springs, North Carolina · Masters

Application deadline Next deadline not yet publishedThe program's admissions page still describes the January 2026 cohort and a September 1 deadline. The next cycle's date isn't listed, so check with the program.
Tuition $124,565 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $124,565
Spring 2027 cohort, projected seven-semester direct charges
Class size 36 students
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programNot published as a current requirement; confirm.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 direct patient-care hours, completed by the first September before program start.
Overall GPA minimum Minimum 3.2 cumulative GPA.
Science GPA minimum No separate science GPA minimum is published.
PANCE pass rate 81%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 92%
U.S. News PA rank #183 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

The mission of the PA program is to develop knowledgeable and caring physician assistants who practice competent patient-centered primary care with a focus on underserved populations. Our values reflect a commitment to respect, ethical behavior, and integrity in personal and professional service that are established upon the foundation of Christian values and faith, in agreement with the Gardner-Webb University mission.

Gardner-Webb University College of Health Sciences, home of Physician Assistant Studies
Gardner-Webb University College of Health Sciences, the teaching home of its Physician Assistant Studies program.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Overall academic strength (transcripts, course selection, semester load, min 3.2 cumulative GPA), prerequisite courses, three letters of recommendation, health care experience (1,000+ direct patient contact hours), and match to program mission and goals.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Gardner-Webb begins interviewing applicants in June under rolling admissions, and the strongest applications tend to receive invitations first. The FAQ confirms an interview is required but does not describe its format or delivery.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programNot published as a current requirement; confirm.
Patient care1,000 direct hours by first September1,000 direct patient-care hours, completed by the first September before program start.
Overall GPAMinimum 3.2 cumulative GPA.
Science GPANo separate science GPA minimum is published.No separate science GPA minimum is published — check with the program.
Recommendations3 letters, including at least one from a PA, NP, MD, or DO.
International applicantsNot accepted for student-visa applicantsThe PA program accepts U.S. citizens and permanent residents. Applicants relying on a student visa are not eligible.
English proficiencyConditionalFor non-native English speakers: two semesters of English composition with a B- or better, or a legacy TOEFL total of 93 with a speaking score of 26 (on the new TOEFL scale, a total of 5 with speaking of 5).

Prerequisite coursework

Semester courses; minimum credits not published

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry with lab OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Alternative to separate Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab. Two semesters or equivalent; no credit minimum stated. Tracks cannot be mixed; online labs not accepted.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedRequiredB-
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Alternative route paired with Human Physiology with lab. Course must be human; animal, mammalian, or comparative anatomy are not accepted. Tracks cannot be mixed.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedRequiredB-
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Alternative route paired with Human Anatomy with lab. Tracks cannot be mixed.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedRequiredB-
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester or equivalent; Biology/Chemistry-major course; online labs not accepted.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedRequiredB-
Additional Biology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester or equivalent; designed for Biology/Chemistry majors. Options include genetics, cell biology, molecular biology, embryology, histology, immunology, or General Biology II. General Biology I does not qualify. Lab not specified.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedNot specifiedB-
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)

One semester or equivalent; designed for Biology/Chemistry majors. Alternative to Biochemistry.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedRequiredB-
Biochemistry1 course(s)

One semester or equivalent; alternative to Organic Chemistry. Whether Biochemistry requires a lab is not specified.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedNot specifiedB-
Additional Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One additional Chemistry course with lab designed for Biology/Chemistry majors. Accepted options include Analytical, Inorganic, or General Chemistry II; General Chemistry I does not qualify. Online labs are not accepted. Course equivalency must be checked with the program.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedRequiredB-
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; Business Statistics not accepted. Minimum credits and lab rule not stated.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedNot specifiedB-
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course: General, Abnormal, or Developmental Psychology. Minimum credits and lab rule not stated.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedNot specifiedB-
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course or certificate program accepted; other experience/certifications do not substitute. Minimum credits and lab rule not stated.

Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not publishedNot specifiedB-

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
B- in each course; C+ or lower not accepted.
Minimum prerequisite GPA
3.0 overall prerequisite GPA.
Course age
Refreshing courses older than seven years is recommended; no hard recency cutoff is stated.
Course completion
Complete all requirements by September 1 before program start.
Labs
Online labs are not accepted.

All prerequisite courses from U.S. regionally accredited institutions. Online labs are not accepted. Refreshing courses older than seven years is recommended, not required; A&P within two years is encouraged. All course and degree requirements must be complete by September 1 before program start. AP credit accepted with official score 4 or 5; CLEP not accepted.

When courses must be complete: All required courses and bachelor's degree completed by the first day of September before program start.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNext deadline not yet published

The program's admissions page still describes the January 2026 cohort and a September 1 deadline. The next cycle's date isn't listed, so check with the program.

Past published deadlineSep 1, 2026 · Passed

The published 2026 deadline has passed.

Published date
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Spring 2027 cohort, projected seven-semester direct charges
Resident tuition$124,565 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$124,565 projected full-program tuition

$112,910 program + $11,025 program + $630 program · Current published rates; future terms may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$124,565

Projected direct charges for the Spring 2027 cohort over seven semesters are $124,565: $112,910 tuition, $11,025 program fees, and $630 technology fees. Future semester rates may change; insurance, living, and indirect expenses are not included.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0116 months

Didactic phase

In-person classroom, small-group and laboratory instruction combines traditional teaching with problem-based and team-based learning and clinical skills.

0212 months

Clinical phase

Supervised clinical practice experiences prepare students for patient-centered care.

The Boiling Springs program begins in January and lasts 28 months. Its mission emphasizes primary care and service to underserved populations.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 81%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedSeptember 6, 2013
Next reviewApril 2028
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.