Address & Contact

Our Address

Lake Erie College 391 W. Washington Street Painesville, OH 44077

GPS

41.7170485, -81.2511949

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Lake Erie College Physician Assistant Program

Painesville, Ohio · Masters

Application deadline Nov 1, 2026Must be received by this date
Tuition Resident Not publishedNonresident Not published
Fees not published
Per-credit rate only (cohort starting May 2027); full-program cost not published
Class size 26 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not publishedGRE is not listed as a requirement; CASPer is required.
Patient-care minimum 250 hours + at least 24 shadowing250 health-care or patient-care hours before you start, plus at least 24 hours of direct PA shadowing. 250 health-care or patient-care hours before matriculation, plus at least 24 direct PA shadowing hours.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.0.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedNo separate science GPA minimum published.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 97%
U.S. News PA rank #159 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

To develop motivated, diverse individuals into Physician Assistants who practice patient-centered, evidence-based medicine, while creating an environment of academic excellence, leadership, and collaboration that is dedicated to serving the healthcare needs of the community.

Lake Erie College Garfield Center, home of the physician assistant program
Garfield Center — verified Lake Erie College physician assistant program facility. Source: Lake Erie College.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review. Bachelor's from regionally accredited US institution; min 3.0 cumulative GPA; prereqs within 7 years with B- or better (C- for Organic Chemistry); 250 healthcare hours incl. >=24 hours PA shadowing; 3 references; Casper assessment; personal statement (500-1,000 words). Selected applicants invited to onsite interview (traditional + MMI) assessing communication, health-policy…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

How this program interviews

On-campus

Lake Erie's admissions page states a limited number of applicants are invited for a personal interview but does not describe whether it is individual, panel, or MMI in structure.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programCASPer is required. The GRE isn't listed as a requirement, but that doesn't confirm it is waived, so check with the program.
Patient care250 hours + at least 24 shadowing250 health-care or patient-care hours before you start, plus at least 24 hours of direct PA shadowing. 250 health-care or patient-care hours before matriculation, plus at least 24 direct PA shadowing hours.
Overall GPA3 minimumMinimum cumulative GPA is 3.0.
Science GPAConfirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum published.
Recommendations3 referencesThree references are required: a licensed PA-C, MD, or DO; a doctoral-level college or university professor you took a course with; and one more of your choice who can speak to your academics, work ethic, or professionalism.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational and F-1 students are eligible. Accepted F-1 students must prepay tuition.
English proficiencyConditionalConditional under general international admission: TOEFL 550 paper / 79 iBT or IELTS 6.0. Confirm whether these apply to the PA program.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credit minimums not published

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General Chemistry I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Both courses require labs. Credit hours are not published.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedRequiredB-
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Lab required; exception to general B- minimum.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedRequiredC-
Biology I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Both courses require labs. Credit hours are not published.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedRequiredB-
Human Anatomy & Physiology I1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Course must be within 7 years of application.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedRequiredB-
Human Anatomy & Physiology II1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Course must be within 7 years of application.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedRequiredB-
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Course must be within 7 years of application.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedRequiredB-
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Course must be within 7 years of application.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedB-
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Course must be within 7 years of application.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedB-
English1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

No course age limit.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedB-
College Algebra1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

No course age limit.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedB-

Policies that can change your plan

Recommended courses
Genetics and Medical Terminology are recommended, not required.
Early Acceptance pathway
Applicants through the Early Assurance (EAO) route need a B or higher in each course, except Organic Chemistry, which needs a C or higher. General applicants need at least a B-, except Organic Chemistry, which needs a C-.

Credit hours for prerequisites are not published. Substitutions may be considered individually; ask the program before substituting.

When courses must be complete: All courses must be completed before May 15 of the year you start the program.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNov 1, 2026

Confirm with the program what CASPA processing status is required.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Per-credit rate only (cohort starting May 2027); full-program cost not published
Resident tuitionConfirm with program
Nonresident tuitionConfirm with program

The program publishes $958 per credit hour but not a full-program total; ask the program.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
Not published

Lake Erie publishes a PA tuition rate of $958 per credit hour for the cohort starting May 2027. The program does not publish a full-program cost or a total credit count for tuition, so we don't show a total. Ask the program for the full cost.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic education

On-campus coursework progresses from medical science to clinical assessment, pharmacology, diagnostics, procedures and problem-based learning.

02

Clinical education

Four-week rotations span core disciplines and electives. Three clinical seminars, end-of-rotation assessments and OSCEs accompany practice.

Published partners include University Hospitals, Cleveland Clinic, Akron Children’s and Louis Stokes VA; the program reports most rotations occur in Northeast Ohio.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedSeptember 6, 2013
Next reviewOctober 2028
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.