Address & Contact

Our Address

Commonwealth University Physician Assistant Program 432 Railroad Street Lock Haven, Pennsylvania 17745

GPS

41.138635, -77.456902

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Physician Assistant Program

Lock Haven, Pennsylvania · Masters

Application deadline Nov 1, 2026Passed · Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition Resident $52,636Nonresident $79,002
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 72 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with program
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo specific patient-care hours required
PANCE pass rate 92%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 92%
U.S. News PA rank #119 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

M.H.S. program centered on primary care for medically underserved communities, with every student completing at least one clinical rotation in a rural or underserved area.

Mission & approach

The mission of the MHS program is to educate and train highly-skilled Physician Assistants who: are capable of providing quality health care, have expertise in the health care needs of the medically underserved, are prepared to critically evaluate, and become leaders in bringing, about improvement in the medical and social systems that affect the health of underserved populations, seek and retain employment as primary care Physician Assistants in medically underserved areas of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Willis Health Professions Building, home of the Commonwealth University Lock Haven Physician Assistant program
Willis Health Professions Building, home of Commonwealth University’s Lock Haven PA program. Public Google Maps gallery image; cropped and optimized for PA School Finder.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review (faculty-read). Mission: primary care in medically underserved PA; goal >=50% PA residents/class (actual 65-83%). Min 3.0 cum & sci GPA, prereqs B+. Values: PA residency, HPSA/MUA exposure, service, HCE (rec >=400 DPC + 40 PA hrs, not required), mission-aligned research. 3 LORs (PA preferred).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programThe program has not published a GRE or other admission-test policy. Confirm with the program.
Patient careNo specific patient-care hours required
Overall GPA3.0 minimum
Science GPA3.0 minimum
RecommendationsMinimum 3 letters; PA-C preferred
International applicantsNot publishedConditional: foreign education is reviewed after a WES course-by-course evaluation. Citizenship and visa sponsorship are not published.
English proficiencyConditionalConditional: if all prior degrees were from institutions where English is not the primary language of instruction, you need TOEFL 90 overall with 20 in each section, or IELTS 7.0 overall with 6.0 in each section.

Prerequisite coursework

Credit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and Physiology pathway: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General Chemistry courses (2)2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses; science labs are preferred, but labs are not explicitly stated as required.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; minimum 3 credits. Science labs are preferred, but lab is not explicitly required.

3Credit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Biology or Zoology courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses; examples include cell biology, general/principles of biology, molecular biology, ecology, zoology, and biodiversity. Labs are preferred, not stated as mandatory.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Human Anatomy1 course(s)

One course; within 5 years of matriculation. May instead use a complete two-semester A&P I+II sequence.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Human Physiology1 course(s)

One course; within 5 years of matriculation. May instead use a complete two-semester A&P I+II sequence.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence2 course(s)

Two-semester alternative to separate Human Anatomy and Human Physiology; science labs preferred.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Human Genetics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; science labs preferred, not stated as required.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; within 5 years of matriculation. Science labs preferred, not stated as mandatory.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).PreferredB
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

One course; credit minimum not published.

Not publishedCredit minimums are not published, except Organic Chemistry (3 credits minimum).Not specifiedB

Policies that can change your plan

Grade
B or better; B- does not meet threshold.
Course recency
Anatomy, Physiology, and Microbiology within 5 years of matriculation; no time limit for other prerequisites.
Labs
Science-course labs are preferred, not expressly mandatory.
Cycle
Application deadline November 1; submit sufficiently early for CASPA verification.

Overall and science GPA minimums are 3.0. Up to three prerequisites may be outstanding for interview consideration; all must be completed before matriculation. Application deadline November 1. Patient-care hours are not required; program recommends 400 direct patient-contact hours and 40 hours observing/working with a PA. TOEFL 90 overall (20 each section) or IELTS 7.0 overall (6.0 each) is required if all prior degrees were completed where English is not the primary language.

When courses must be complete: All requirements completed before matriculation; application deadline November 1.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNov 1, 2026 · Passed

Your application must be verified by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$52,636 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$79,002 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Total tuition to completion: $52,636 (tuition only) for the 24-month program with a May start, at 2026–2027 rates. In-state tuition is $557 per credit × 94.5 credits = $52,636.50; out-of-state is $836 × 94.5 = $79,002.00. Per-credit figures come from the university’s Graduate Tuition and Fees page.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Year 1

Didactic study

Classroom and laboratory instruction follows a modular, systems-based curriculum focused on primary care.

02Year 2

Clinical education

Five-week rotation blocks include core specialties, combined pediatric and women’s health experiences, and two electives.

The 24-month program comprises 51.5 didactic and 43 clinical credits (94.5 total). Current application locations are Lock Haven and Harrisburg; the final Clearfield cohort entered in May 2025 and that location closes in May 2027.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPA3.73
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 92%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Accreditation history

Probation
First accreditedOctober 1997
Next reviewApril 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.