Address & Contact

Our Address

Ashland University 1020 S. Trimble Road P.O. Box 3756 Mansfield, Ohio 44907

GPS

40.86840, -82.31599

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Ashland University Physician Assistant Program

Ashland, Ohio · Masters

Application deadline Apr 1, 2027Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition $100,660 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $106,136
Published 2027 cohort tuition and required fees
Class size 36 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programThe GRE is required for all applicants, and no other test is accepted in its place. Scores must be less than five years old and sent through CASPA. The CASPer is also required. Minimum scores are not published.
Patient-care minimum Not publishedAshland does not publish a minimum number of patient-care hours. Confirm experience requirements with the program.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00 undergraduate GPAMinimum cumulative undergraduate GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedAshland does not publish a separate science GPA minimum.
PANCE pass rate 86%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: Not available yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

Educate physician assistants based on a foundation of evidence-based medicine, to competently practice patient-centered care, exercise cultural humility and cultivate a team approach. Graduates will be prepared for the changing landscape of medicine to serve individuals locally, nationally and globally. Physician assistants will be taught on the basis of the Dwight Schar College Nursing and Health Science’s guiding values: integrity, caring, accountability, respect and excellence (ICARE), interprofessional collaboration and lifelong learning.

Dwight Schar College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Ashland University in Mansfield, home of the Physician Assistant program
Ashland University’s Dwight Schar College of Nursing and Health Sciences in Mansfield, home of its PA program. Photo: Matthew Carbone / Ashland University.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Prerequisites must be completed within 10 years of matriculation; applicants may apply with up to two "work in progress" prerequisites (grade C/2.0 or better required). (Source: ashland.edu PA / catalog)

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Individual + Group

Ashland's PA program page confirms selected applicants are notified by email with interview-day details and that the program reserves the right to adjust the interview format for various restrictions, but it does not state whether interviews occur on campus, virtually, or both.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequired
Patient careNo numeric minimum publishedAshland does not publish a minimum number of patient-care hours. Confirm experience requirements with the program.
Overall GPA3.00 undergraduate GPAMinimum cumulative undergraduate GPA is 3.00.
Science GPANo separate minimum publishedAshland does not publish a separate science GPA minimum.
RecommendationsConfirm in CASPA
International applicantsConfirm with programAshland requires a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution but does not publish international or visa eligibility for the PA program. Confirm with the program.
English proficiencyConditional · university ruleUniversity graduate thresholds include TOEFL iBT 79 (or paper-based 550), IELTS 6.5, PTE 55 or Duolingo 110. Confirm whether they apply to the PA program.

Prerequisite coursework

Not published

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Upper-level science
Course notes & alternatives

Ashland lists this category without a specific subject, level, number of courses, credits, lab requirement or grade. Confirm with the program before choosing a course.

Not publishedNot publishedNot specifiedNot specified
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

Ashland lists only the course category. Credits, lab, grade and age limit are not stated.

Not publishedNot publishedNot specifiedNot specified
Human Anatomy and Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

A lab component is explicitly required, but the course structure, credits, grade and age limit are not specified.

Not publishedNot publishedRequiredNot specified
Organic Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Ashland lists only the course category. Credits, lab, grade and age limit are not stated.

Not publishedNot publishedNot specifiedNot specified
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Ashland lists only the course category. Credits, lab, grade and age limit are not stated.

Not publishedNot publishedNot specifiedNot specified
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

Ashland lists only the course category. Credits, lab, grade and age limit are not stated.

Not publishedNot publishedNot specifiedNot specified
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

Ashland lists only the course category. Credits, lab, grade and age limit are not stated.

Not publishedNot publishedNot specifiedNot specified

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
Not published.
Course credits
Not published.
Course age
Not published.
Confirm with the program
Confirm detailed requirements directly with the program. Details listed only in the PAEA directory are not confirmed as official policy.

The national PAEA directory lists additional course details that Ashland's own catalog and program page do not confirm. Confirm with Ashland before treating them as requirements.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineApr 1, 2027

Rolling admissions through April 1; applying early is encouraged.

2026–2027
Program startsAugust 2027

Start date for the 2027 cohort.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published 2027 cohort tuition and required fees
Resident tuition$100,660 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$100,660 projected full-program tuition

$100,660 program + $5,356 program + $120 program · Estimate for the current cohort; annual adjustments may apply

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$106,136

Tuition is $100,660 for the August 2027 class. Required fees add $5,476 ($52 per credit hour for 103 credit hours plus a $120 graduation fee), for $106,136 total. Living costs are extra.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Classroom phase (length not stated)

Face-to-face coursework

Classroom instruction integrates high-fidelity simulation and interprofessional learning.

02Clinical year (length not stated)

Supervised clinical practice

Four-week core rotations cover internal/family medicine, emergency care, surgery, women’s health, pediatrics and behavioral health; two electives are offered.

The program is in person, 24 months and 103 credits. The exact length of each phase is not stated.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 86%

No 5-year average yet - only THREE graduating cohorts (2023-2025); 83% first-time across all three (63/76)

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 6, 2021
Next reviewOctober 2035
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.