Address & Contact

Our Address

2221 Madison Ave, Toledo, OH 43604, USA

GPS

41.6587, -83.55113

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Mercy College of Ohio Physician Assistant Program

Toledo, Ohio · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026Received
Tuition Resident: $101,990 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $101,990 published full-program tuition · Official Summer 2027 entering-cohort estimate: $101,990 tuition + $10,360 program fees = $112,350 direct tuition/fees over seven semesters. Other attendance expenses separate.
Class size 30 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE is required; scores must be within five years.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo numeric patient-care minimum is published; more hours receive preference among otherwise equal applicants.
Overall GPA minimum Not publishedThe program describes 3.0 overall and prerequisite GPA as competitive thresholds; a hard overall cutoff was not established. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedNo separate all-science GPA minimum is published; 3.0 prerequisite GPA is described as a competitive threshold.
Recommendations 3 letters · first 2 scoredCASPA accepts three letters, but the program scores the first two submitted; appropriate sources include clinicians, supervisors, and academic evaluators.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programNo separate English-proficiency test rule is published on the reviewed PA requirements page. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: Not available yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A Toledo PA program offering an integrated seven-semester curriculum with early clinical skills development and supervised practice.

On campus28 months30 students
Mission & approach

To provide a graduate-level learning experience producing PA graduates who deliver competent, patient-centered medical care for diverse populations in a variety of clinical settings while embracing service, scholarship, and leadership.

Mercy College of Ohio Madison building in Toledo, home of the Physician Assistant Program
Mercy College of Ohio Madison building, home of the Physician Assistant Program. Photo by Man Overboard, courtesy of Mercy College of Ohio.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Mercy College of Ohio a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Fit within mission/values; career discernment; science acumen; interpersonal skills; writing ability; direct patient-care experience; diverse experiences. Scored on overall GPA, prerequisite GPA, academic rigor, GRE, healthcare discernment, LORs, communication, and misconduct history.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Candidates who pass screening complete an Acuity Insights Assessment and then an on-site interview typically held July through January; beforehand they attend a virtual information session and submit signed Technical Standards and Pre-Disclosure forms.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE is required; scores must be within five years.
Patient careNo required minimumNo numeric patient-care minimum is published; more hours receive preference among otherwise equal applicants.
Overall GPA3.00 competitive thresholdA 3.0 cumulative GPA is described as competitive, not as a hard admissions cutoff.
Science GPANot publishedNo separate all-science GPA minimum is published; 3.0 prerequisite GPA is described as a competitive threshold.
Recommendations3 letters · first 2 scoredCASPA accepts three letters, but the program scores the first two submitted; appropriate sources include clinicians, supervisors, and academic evaluators.
International applicantsNot acceptedOnly U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents are eligible.
English proficiencyConfirm with programNo separate current PA-specific TOEFL rule established; citizenship/permanent-residency requirement remains.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • A&P route: Human Anatomy and Physiology I + Human Anatomy and Physiology II OR Separate Human Anatomy + Separate Human Physiology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Medical Terminology course1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least 1 semester credit; valid certificate is an alternative.

1Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Psychology1 course(s)3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Genetics1 course(s)3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must meet Biochemistry prerequisite criteria; sequence matters.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Microbiology1 course(s)3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy and Physiology I1 course(s)

Separate human anatomy/physiology courses accepted, 3 credits each.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy and Physiology II1 course(s)3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Separate Human Anatomy1 course(s)

Alternative to combined A&P I/II.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Separate Human Physiology1 course(s)

Alternative to combined A&P I/II.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Biochemistry after Organic Chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Organic Chemistry must precede Biochemistry.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology valid certificate or equivalent1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Valid certificate/equivalent accepted instead of one-credit course; no letter-grade condition stated.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.

Policies that can change your plan

AP prerequisite credit not accepted. Online accredited courses accepted. COVID-era pass/fail may be considered, excluded from GPA calculations. Medical Terminology certificate is an explicit alternative to a credit-bearing course. No hard prerequisite expiration was published. Retaking medical science coursework older than seven years is recommended, not required.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDec 1, 2026

Hard cutoff (all materials received by CASPA by December 1)

2026–2027
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Current published PA cohort/full-program tuition and fees
Resident tuition$101,990 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$101,990 published full-program tuition

Official Summer 2027 entering-cohort estimate: $101,990 tuition + $10,360 program fees = $112,350 direct tuition/fees over seven semesters. Other attendance expenses separate.

Required program fees$10,360
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$112,350

Official Summer 2027 entering-cohort estimate: $101,990 tuition + $10,360 program fees = $112,350 direct tuition/fees over seven semesters. Other attendance expenses separate.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic instruction

Medical sciences, pharmacology, patient assessment, clinical diagnostics and clinical decision making.

023 semesters

Supervised clinical practice

Eight approximately six-week blocks include required family medicine, internal medicine, emergency medicine and surgery experiences; three-week women’s health, pediatrics and behavioral health experiences may be integrated into the blocks. Electives depend on site availability.

Toledo’s seven-semester, 118-credit program arranges clinical sites. Students should expect two required rotations outside Toledo and plan for travel expenses.

Mercy College of Ohio official curriculum/program page Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified in note · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2025

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.34
Science GPANot recorded
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The class year is preserved exactly as published.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20253.34Not recordedNot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

No 5-year average yet - only THREE graduating cohorts (2023-2025); 90% first-time across them (61/68)

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 26, 2020
Next reviewOctober 2035

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.