Address & Contact

Our Address

Medical University of South Carolina Education and Student Life 171 Ashley Avenue Charleston , SC 29425

GPS

32.783918391151, -79.946776242898

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Medical University of South Carolina Physician Assistant Program

Charleston, South Carolina · Masters

Application deadline Sep 1, 2027Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition Resident $57,978 (estimate)Nonresident $110,581 (estimate)
Tuition + fees $63,553 / $116,156 nonresident
Published full-program estimated tuition and fees, excluding insurance
Class size 97 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not RequiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required for 2027 entry, and you should not submit them.
Patient-care minimum No minimum; patient care is recommended, with 1,000 or more hours described as competitive.
Overall GPA minimum Minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.
Science GPA minimum Confirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; science GPA is used for preference points, while prerequisite GPA minimum is 3.0.
PANCE pass rate 94%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 87%
U.S. News PA rank #35 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

To enhance access to high-quality health care throughout South Carolina by educating physician assistants, using a holistic, mission-aligned admissions process that prioritizes applicants from underserved and South Carolina communities.

Medical University of South Carolina College of Health Professions Building A
MUSC College of Health Professions Building A in Charleston.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review with weighted 1-point categories: first-generation college; family on public assistance; from a HPSA/Medically Underserved Area; veteran; earned master's; English not primary language; 1,000+ patient care hours; undergrad GPA tiers; science GPA tiers; SC resident; parents in SC; attended SC high school. Plus personal statement, three references, technical standards.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Interviews are held in person on campus, September through November, and the program does not offer alternate interview dates. CASPA and the supplemental application are both due September 1, with decisions issued from early November into December.

Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required for 2027 entry, and you should not submit them.
Patient careNo minimum; patient care is recommended, with 1,000 or more hours described as competitive.
Overall GPAMinimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.
Science GPAConfirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum. Science GPA earns preference points, while the prerequisite GPA minimum is 3.0.
Recommendations3 references; ideally a health-care provider, science professor, or patient-care supervisor; no friends, family, relatives, or personal health-care providers.Three references, ideally from a health-care provider, science professor, or patient-care supervisor. Friends, family, relatives, and personal health-care providers are not accepted.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsU.S. citizens, permanent residents, and holders of another valid nonimmigrant status that allows study may apply. The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) cannot issue an I-20 (student visa document) for this program.
English proficiencyConfirm with programNo PA-specific TOEFL rule is published. English not being your primary language is a review preference, not a test requirement. Check with the program for English-testing requirements for eligible nonimmigrant applicants.

Prerequisite coursework

Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence with labs
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One separate course; it counts toward the 34-credit total.

4Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.RequiredC
General Chemistry with lab
Course notes & alternatives

One or more courses totaling 8 semester credits; program requires this as a separate prerequisite course category.

8Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.RequiredC
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Separate anatomy prerequisite; combined A&P route must include both A&P I and II and labs to fulfill the separate anatomy and physiology categories.

4Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.RequiredC
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Separate physiology prerequisite; combined A&P route must include both A&P I and II and labs to fulfill the separate anatomy and physiology categories.

4Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.RequiredC
Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence with labs2 course(s)

Alternative route for both Human Anatomy and Human Physiology: complete both parts of A&P I and II, including labs. Do not treat a single A&P course as satisfying both requirements.

8Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.RequiredC
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be a graded college course; certificate/CEU coursework is not accepted.

1Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.Not requiredC
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One separate course.

4Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.RequiredC
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)

Choose Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry. The program does not specify a lab requirement; combined organic/biochemistry courses are not accepted.

3Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.Not specifiedC
Biochemistry1 course(s)

Choose Biochemistry OR Organic Chemistry. The program does not specify a lab requirement; combined organic/biochemistry courses are not accepted.

3Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.Not specifiedC
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Introduction to Psychology or a higher-level psychology course.

3Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.Not requiredC
Statistics or Biostatistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Choose Statistics OR Biostatistics.

3Credits are semester credits; the published total is 34.Not requiredC

Policies that can change your plan

Combined A&P
The complete two-course A&P I and II sequence is needed to fulfill the separate anatomy and physiology areas; labs required.
Chemistry
MUSC does not accept combined organic chemistry and biochemistry; select one distinct 3-credit course.
Cycle
The current cycle is Summer 2028, with a deadline of September 1, 2027.

All courses must be completed within 10 years before you submit your application, with a grade of C or higher. At least 30 of the 34 credits must be done by the application deadline and the remaining 4 by matriculation. MUSC does not require the GRE, PA-CAT, MCAT, or patient-care hours, though patient care is recommended. Three references are required.

When courses must be complete: 30 of 34 credits by September 1, 2027 application deadline; remaining 4 credits by matriculation.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineSep 1, 2027

Published final deadline for Summer 2028 entry; CASPA opens April 30, 2027.

2027–2028
Program startsMay 2028

Summer 2028 entering cohort.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimated tuition and fees, excluding insurance
Resident tuition$57,978 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$110,581 projected full-program tuition

$110,581 program + $5,575 program · Current published rates; future terms may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$63,553

Tuition is $57,978 in-state and $110,581 out-of-state for the full program. Required fees add $5,575, for $63,553 in-state and $116,156 out-of-state. Health insurance and living costs are extra.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months / four semesters

Residential didactic instruction

On-campus medical-science, clinical-skills, problem-solving and evidence-based coursework includes clinical experiences each semester.

02Three semesters

Clinical education

Nine rotations include seven core areas, a program-assigned Adjunct Clinical Experience and an interest-based elective. A summative evaluation is required near graduation.

This is the Charleston residential route: seven sequential semesters and 116 credits. Clinical sites cover varied settings and locations, including South Carolina, North Carolina and Florida. Students do not have to find their own sites or preceptors. The length of clinical training in calendar months is not stated.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Class of 2025: 94% of first-time takers passed (89 of 95). Earlier classes: 2024 85% (74 of 87), 2023 88% (84 of 96), 2022 84% (77 of 92), 2021 84% (72 of 86). Five-year first-time rate for 2021-2025 is 87% (396 of 456 first-time takers passed).

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 87%

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedOctober 1995
Next reviewJanuary 2033
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.