Address & Contact

Our Address

Medical University of South Carolina Education and Student Life 171 Ashley Avenue Charleston , SC 29425

GPS

32.783918391151, -79.946776242898

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Medical University of South Carolina Physician Assistant Program

Charleston, South Carolina · Masters

Application deadline Sep 1, 2027Published final deadline
Tuition Resident: Approximately $63,553 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $116,156 projected full-program tuition · Current published rates; future terms may change
Class size 97 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not RequiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required and should not be submitted. The current 2027-entry page explicitly says no standardized test is required and scores should not be sent.
Patient-care minimum No minimum; patient care is recommended, with 1,000 or more hours described as competitive.The page distinguishes no requirement from the 1,000-hour competitive benchmark.
Overall GPA minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA.The page publishes a 3.0 cumulative GPA minimum.
Science GPA minimum Confirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; science GPA is used for preference points, while prerequisite GPA minimum is 3.0. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Recommendations 3 references; ideally a health-care provider, science professor, or patient-care supervisor; no friends, family, relatives, or personal health-care providers.The page publishes the count, ideal evaluator roles, and exclusions.
International applicants Accepted with conditions
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programNo separate PA TOEFL rule is published; English not being the applicant's primary language is a review preference rather than a test trigger on the page. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 95%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 87% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #35 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

To enhance access to high-quality health care throughout South Carolina by educating physician assistants, using a holistic, mission-aligned admissions process that prioritizes applicants from underserved and South Carolina communities.

Medical University of South Carolina College of Health Professions Building A
MUSC College of Health Professions Building A in Charleston.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Medical University of South Carolina a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review with weighted 1-point categories: first-generation college; family on public assistance; from a HPSA/Medically Underserved Area; veteran; earned master's; English not primary language; 1,000+ patient care hours; undergrad GPA tiers; science GPA tiers; SC resident; parents in SC; attended SC high school. Plus personal statement, three references, technical standards.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Interviews are held in person on campus, September through November, and the program does not offer alternate interview dates. CASPA and the supplemental application are both due September 1, with decisions issued from early November into December.

Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required and should not be submitted. The current 2027-entry page explicitly says no standardized test is required and scores should not be sent.
Patient careNo minimum; patient care is recommended, with 1,000 or more hours described as competitive.The page distinguishes no requirement from the 1,000-hour competitive benchmark.
Overall GPA3.0 cumulative GPA.The page publishes a 3.0 cumulative GPA minimum.
Science GPAConfirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; science GPA is used for preference points, while prerequisite GPA minimum is 3.0. The page publishes a 3.0 prerequisite GPA and science-GPA preference bands without a separate science cutoff. Policy clarification: A scored preference is not a minimum.
Recommendations3 references; ideally a health-care provider, science professor, or patient-care supervisor; no friends, family, relatives, or personal health-care providers.The page publishes the count, ideal evaluator roles, and exclusions.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsU.S. citizens, permanent residents, and holders of another valid nonimmigrant status allowing study may apply; MUSC cannot issue an I-20 for this program. The page publishes eligible status categories and the I-20 limitation.
English proficiencyConfirm with programNo separate PA TOEFL rule is published; English not being the applicant's primary language is a review preference rather than a test trigger on the page. The current PA admissions page does not publish an English-test threshold. Policy clarification: Confirm English-testing requirements for eligible nonimmigrant applicants.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits; published total 34

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence with labs
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One separate course; included in published 34-credit total.

4Semester credits; published total 34RequiredCSign in to plan
General Chemistry with lab
Course notes & alternatives

One or more courses totaling 8 semester credits; program requires this as a separate prerequisite course category.

8Semester credits; published total 34RequiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Separate anatomy prerequisite; combined A&P route must include both A&P I and II and labs to fulfill the separate anatomy and physiology categories.

4Semester credits; published total 34RequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Separate physiology prerequisite; combined A&P route must include both A&P I and II and labs to fulfill the separate anatomy and physiology categories.

4Semester credits; published total 34RequiredCSign in to plan
Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence with labs2 course(s)

Alternative route for both Human Anatomy and Human Physiology: complete both parts of A&P I and II, including labs. Do not treat a single A&P course as satisfying both requirements.

8Semester credits; published total 34RequiredCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be a graded college course; certificate/CEU coursework is not accepted.

1Semester credits; published total 34Not requiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One separate course.

4Semester credits; published total 34RequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)

Choose Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry. The program does not specify a lab requirement; combined organic/biochemistry courses are not accepted.

3Semester credits; published total 34Not specifiedCSign in to plan
Biochemistry1 course(s)

Choose Biochemistry OR Organic Chemistry. The program does not specify a lab requirement; combined organic/biochemistry courses are not accepted.

3Semester credits; published total 34Not specifiedCSign in to plan
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Introduction to Psychology or a higher-level psychology course.

3Semester credits; published total 34Not requiredCSign in to plan
Statistics or Biostatistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Choose Statistics OR Biostatistics.

3Semester credits; published total 34Not requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Combined A&P
The complete two-course A&P I and II sequence is needed to fulfill the separate anatomy and physiology areas; labs required.
Chemistry
MUSC does not accept combined organic chemistry and biochemistry; select one distinct 3-credit course.
Cycle
Page currently identifies Summer 2028 cycle (deadline September 1, 2027); older 2026-cycle dates are obsolete.

All courses must be completed within 10 years before application submission; grade C or higher. At least 30 of 34 credits by application deadline, remaining 4 by matriculation. Current official page identifies Summer 2028 entry and Sept. 1, 2027 deadline. MUSC does not require GRE/PA-CAT/MCAT or patient-care hours; patient-care is recommended. Three references required.

When courses must be complete: 30 of 34 credits by September 1, 2027 application deadline; remaining 4 credits by matriculation.

MUSC Residential MSPAS Program Admissions and Prerequisites Summer 2028 cohort; deadline September 1, 2027 · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineSep 1, 2027

Published final deadline for Summer 2028 entry; CASPA opens April 30, 2027.

2027–2028
Program startsMay 2028

Published Summer 2028 entering cohort.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimated tuition and fees, excluding insurance
Resident tuitionApproximately $63,553 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $116,156 projected full-program tuition

$110,581 program + $5,575 program · Current published rates; future terms may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$63,553

Basis: $57,978 program + $5,575 program · current-rate projection · high confidence

MUSC’s published full-program estimate is $63,553 in-state and $116,156 out-of-state for tuition plus fees. The school separately budgets $9,045 for health insurance, producing listed total direct costs of $72,598/$125,201; insurance is excluded from the tuition comparison amount and shown here explicitly.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months / four semesters

Residential didactic instruction

On-campus medical-science, clinical-skills, problem-solving and evidence-based coursework includes clinical experiences each semester.

02Three semesters

Clinical education

Nine rotations include seven core areas, a program-assigned Adjunct Clinical Experience and an interest-based elective. A summative evaluation is required near graduation.

This is the Charleston residential route: seven sequential semesters and 116 credits. Clinical sites span varied settings and geography, including South Carolina, North Carolina and Florida. Students do not have to solicit sites or preceptors. Separate clinical calendar-month duration is not stated.

Medical University of South Carolina official curriculum Current program page; publication year not stated · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 95%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 87%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedOctober 1995
Next reviewJanuary 2033

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.