Shenandoah University (Winchester) Physician Assistant Program
Winchester, Virginia · Masters
Tuition + fees $106,005
2026–2027 estimate at current rates across 89 credits and eight terms
Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
A closer look
A 30-month Winchester PA program with a 42-student class and no required healthcare or patient-care minimum.
Mission & approach
Mission: 'Transforming Healthcare Through Innovative Education.' Core values: excellence in education, leadership, curiosity, advocacy (empowering those in need), service to communities, respect. Program goals include PANCE pass rate above national average, employment within 12 months, and percentage practicing in primary care above national average.

Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Cumulative undergrad GPA, overall science GPA, SUPA prerequisite GPA, number of outstanding prerequisites + documented completion plan, references, supplemental essays; interview assesses alignment with Core Values and communication skills (poise, eye contact, articulation, comfort, dress, manners)
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester credits unless notedReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- General Biology or Biochemistry: General Biology OR Biochemistry
- Statistics or Biostatistics: Statistics OR Biostatistics
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Human A&P I and II with labs2 course(s) | 8Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| General or Introductory Chemistry | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | Not specified |
| General Biology | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | Not specified |
| Biochemistry | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | Not specified |
| Microbiology with lab | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
PsychologyCourse notes & alternativesGeneral, introductory, developmental or abnormal courses are accepted. | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not required | Not specified |
| Statistics | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not required | Not specified |
| Biostatistics | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not required | Not specified |
Policies that can change your plan
- Outstanding coursework
- At most two required courses may remain at application.
Seven required courses totaling 24 semester credits; A&P is a two-course sequence. At most two prerequisites may be outstanding at application. Medical terminology is assessed separately by the program and is not one of the seven required courses.
Dates & application steps
The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-07-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.
This is the expected start of the entering class.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
2026–2027 estimate at current rates across 89 credits and eight terms$1,045 credit × 89 required credits · Nonresident full-program tuition only. An estimate at 2026–2027 rates across 89 credits and eight terms; future rates may change.
For the 2026–2027 academic year, tuition is $93,005 ($1,045 per credit for 89 credits) and required program and university fees are $13,000, for a total of $106,005. The $500 deposit is applied to tuition. Living, travel, insurance, and equipment costs are separate.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic preparation
Medical sciences, patient assessment, clinical medicine and professional preparation.
Clinical practice
Clinical rotations, a transition-to-practice experience and capstone coursework.
30-month, eight-semester, 89-credit PA program; Winchester location. Clinical course order varies by student.
The admitted class
Class of 2028 · 2025–2026 admission cycle · program-wide
Published class statisticsProgram-wide figures: cumulative undergraduate GPA 3.83, overall science GPA 3.77, prerequisite GPA 3.82, and 60 seats. These are not broken out by campus, so they are not Winchester-only figures. Undergraduate GPA is different from all-course cumulative GPA.
Compare published cohorts
| Class | Published GPA | Published science-related GPA | Published experience hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Class of 2028 · 2025–2026 admission cycle · program-wide | 3.83Mean cumulative undergraduate GPA | 3.77Mean science GPA | 2,588Mean direct patient-care hours |
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 90%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 93%
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- Program program page
- Shenandoah University (Winchester) curriculum/program program page
- Program program page
- Program program page for final data cleanup
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
