University of Charleston Physician Assistant Program
Charleston, West Virginia · Masters
Tuition + fees $97,960
Published full-program tuition
Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
A closer look
A 28-month West Virginia PA program with a 33-student cohort, January matriculation, and no required patient-care hour minimum.
Mission & approach
The mission of the University of Charleston Physician Assistant Program is to prepare competent physician assistants who value and provide comprehensive, patient-centered, culturally sensitive primary care, and are committed to lifelong-learning, professional growth, community health, and caring for underserved populations.

Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Holistic, 3 pathways (Traditional/Fast Track/Transfer). HCE not required but strengthens. Values: academic rigor, HCE/PA shadowing, service/leadership, propensity to serve underserved, WV connection & intent to stay, maturity/grit. Added consideration: WV & bordering-state residents, UC students/alumni; MD/DO/PA reference.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
How this program interviews
Invited candidates complete a virtual three-part interview day combining Multiple Mini Interviews (one-on-one rotations with each panel member), a group interview requiring teamwork on a scenario, and a Health Science Reasoning Test. Business-appropriate attire is expected, and applicants are typically notified of results within 1-2 weeks.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester creditsReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
Human anatomyCourse notes & alternativesA&P I with lab may substitute. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
Human physiologyCourse notes & alternativesA&P II with lab may substitute. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
General biologyCourse notes & alternativesNatural-science-major course. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
| Microbiology | 3Semester credits | Preferred | C |
Chemistry2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo courses with labs; upper-level chemistry or biochemistry may count. | 8Semester credits | Required | C |
Organic chemistry ICourse notes & alternativesOrganic chemistry II cannot substitute. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
| Statistics | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
General / developmental / abnormal psychologyCourse notes & alternativesOne accepted psychology course; confirm the selected course. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
Medical terminologyRecommended · not requiredCourse notes & alternativesStrongly recommended; a terminology proficiency exam follows acceptance. | 1–3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
BiochemistryRecommended · not requiredCourse notes & alternativesRecommended with lab, not an additional required course. | Not publishedSemester credits | Preferred | C |
CalculusRecommended · not requiredCourse notes & alternativesRecommended, not required. | Not publishedSemester credits | Not specified | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Pathway
- This checklist covers traditional and transfer applicants. The University of Charleston undergraduate Fast Track has different courses and grades; review that route separately.
- Minimum grade
- C or higher; C-minus is not accepted.
- Course age
- Anatomy and physiology must be within 10 years.
- Delivery and credit
- Online courses and labs and community college courses are accepted. AP/CLEP credit is accepted but does not count toward the prerequisite GPA. StraighterLine, Portage, and Sophia coursework is not accepted.
Traditional/transfer route only. This checklist does not apply to Fast Track.
When courses must be complete: For the traditional and transfer pathways: complete prerequisites before matriculation; a feasible plan for pending courses is allowed.
Dates & application steps
CASPA must be verified by September 1 for January 2027 matriculation.
This is the expected start of the entering class.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Published full-program tuitionPublished nonresident full-program tuition
Full-program tuition is $89,950. Required fees add $8,010, for a billed program total of $97,960. Living and personal expenses are separate.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Charleston-campus coursework uses integrated medicine, cases, team learning and simulation in a pass/fail curriculum.
Clinical education
Seven five-week core rotations and an elective include at least two rural clinical assignments.
The Charleston program spans seven contiguous semesters, 28 months and 110 credits, beginning in January.
The admitted class
Entered 2026; graduating Class of 2028
Published class statisticsStudents entered in 2026 and are expected to graduate in 2028.
Compare published cohorts
| Class | Published GPA | Published science-related GPA | Published experience hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entered 2026; graduating Class of 2028 | 3.63 | 3.52 | Not recorded |
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- University of Charleston curriculum and clinical training
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- University of Charleston prerequisite requirements
- Program program page
- University of Charleston published class statistics
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
